We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice beds”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Econo Lodge Busch Gardens
Ranked #137 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

The beds were great here and the service wonderful. The front desk lady was very helpful. Our family lives nearby. Pool wasn't heated, but room was large. The lady that worked the front desk from the islands was super nice and helpful. Thanks again for a great stay!

Stayed: December 2013
1  Thank Clockgirl22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (143)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

82 - 88 of 143 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2014

We booked this property because of it's closeness to Busch Gardens. We arrived late, tired, hungry, with 2 small children. Had booked 2 rooms slight mix up checking in and getting the keys as rooms not next to each other. Finally went up to the rooms which were not joining but around the corner from each other, our door looked like it had been kicked in on several times, the carpet had large stains on it. We should have left right then but needed to rest and eat. I went to clean my hands and found that the hot tap was the cold water and the cold water was the hot the same in the other room. We still just wanted to get food and sleep. After finding an IHOP had food, back to the rooms and sleep. This lasted until approx. 1:00pm when the noise in the hall became very loud. This lasted on and off until around 3:00pm I was awake when I heard someone trying to open our room doom. I yelled very loud the person stopped and yelled back that the desk had told them they could have this room. I called the desk and was told that when we checked in the desk clerk had not made the change in rooms in the computor. After this I did not sleep at all.
The next morning I spoke to the Hotel manager who was not very help full and appeared not to care. I would never recommend this property to anyone even if across the street from Busch Gardens, find some other property to stay at.

Room Tip: Do not choose any pick another property
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ryer R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam P, General Manager at Econo Lodge Busch Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

Dear KayteMarie
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Sincerely,

Sam Patel
General Manager
Quality Inn Busch Gardens
813-386-1000

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

By the time we were checking out they have already taken our things out of the room and our new tablet was missing. They Tod us that there was nothing they could do to help us. I will never stay in this hotel again

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vdarquea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

We booked here using points based on location alone.

We only wanted a place to spend the night since we were spending the entire day at Busch Gardens, and you couldn't find a closer place than this! It was literally across the street from the parking lot, and by parking at the QI and walking we saved the $15 parking fee at the Gardens. The location felt safe and we saw no signs otherwise.

Rooms had clean sheets and towels, but that is about it. The bathroom floor looked the worst (see the photo) and we made sure not to touch anything without washing good after.

Breakfast was just a couple egg disks and some toast, bad coffee, and cereal. Looked like enough to feed a family of 3, and we had 8 people in our group. When they were asked to add more they doubled the quantity to still not enough.

If all you want is a place to sleep for about 50 bucks a night then this is for you. If you want more than that you should look elsewhere. We will stay at a cleaner place next time and pay the parking fee at Busch Gardens.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank G Roger P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013

The room had brown stains,fridge had mold, room was old and smelled bad. Just disgusting never again. Brought everything to front desk no manager was present so nothing could be done. I ended up leaving. Going to get a refund ASAP.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mvictor5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

My husband and I stayed here over the weekend. They have NO ELEVATOR had to go up 2 flights of stairs and the Carpets were stained with god knows what. The 2nd floor had zero AC in the hallway. So by the time you got to your room, your aggravated by the stairs lugging your belongings up the stairs, miserable if you have a room that's down the hall way your practically sweating to death. Then you get into your room and it's okay. The towels were stained with ugh... don't even want to know. Not one towel, not 2 but 4 towels had mystery stains on them. The sheets had stains. Housekeeping must use the same rag to wash the toilet, bathroom door and shower walls because you will see my pictures showing hair clearly wiped from a rag on it everywhere. The blow dryer had dust bunnies fighting each other it was so filthy. To make matters worse we checked in lets say Friday night and go out to lunch on Saturday when we get back house keeping had come in our room it hadn't even been 24 hours yet. Now as anyone does when they get to a hotel they unpack and leave personal belongings out and about with under garments not thinking anyone will come into your room. Also had all our prescription pain medicine laying on the bed. God knows if any is missing or touched. Now there was no do not disturb sign to put out or I would have but I think they weren't there to "clean" but to do other things. So anyways They folded up the same wet towel that was on the floor. I had a tag from a new pair of jeans on the counter they took and trashed that. Now I can't return the jeans b/c they were the wrong size so now I'm stuck with a $40.00 pair of jeans that don't fit. They took one of our fax boxes that we travel good thing we do because they don't have fans in the rooms. So now I have a exposed fan that will probably get damaged or lost now b/c it's not in it's box. We've had them for 2 years and never had this issue. Kim at the front desk however was nice and did have the maintenance guy look for it but no luck. When she brought it to the owners attention he basically shrugged his shoulders and walked away. Oh boy was I ever upset. I just grabbed my stuff and left. You can guarantee we will never go there again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ILOVEMYHUSBAND447
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We chose this hotel because it was the nearest to Busch Gardens. It was very comfortable and convenient. We were just staying one night as we were travelling from a 10 day stay in Cape Coral to a 10 day stay in Orlando. We had small children with us so it split the journey and also allowed us to use our Sea World 3 park tickets. We walked to The Park so saving the parking fee and inconvenience. The hotel was great, w arrived several hours before check in time but they allowed us to use our rooms right away which meant we got a lot of time in Busch Gardens. The hotel provided breakfast and then allowed us to store not only our luggage but also all the cold food items we were transferring from one villa to the next.. That meant we spent another 6 hours in Busch before the hour travel to our villa in Orlando. They could not have been more helpful at the hotel.

Room Tip: We asked for non smoking rooms, ground floor, adjacent to one another.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa Busch Gardens Area
0.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn Tampa Near Busch Gardens
1.8 mi away
Clarion Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens
1.9 mi away
West Wing Boutique Hotel
West Wing Boutique Hotel
#28 of 163 in Tampa
67 reviews
1.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites USF (Near Busch Gardens)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Busch Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Busch Gardens

Address: 4139 E Busch Blvd, Tampa, FL 33617 (Formerly Quality Inn Busch Gardens)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #137 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
Price Range: $61 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Econo Lodge Busch Gardens 2.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Econo Lodge, a Tampa hotel near Busch Gardens Africa in Tampa Florida. The Econo Lodge is ideally located within walking distance of the entrance to Busch Gardens Africa amusement park. This Tampa, FL hotel is minutes from the Florida Aquarium, the Museum Of Science and Industry (MOSI), Florida State Fairgrounds, Florida Hospital, the Raymond James Stadium, the University of South Florida and the Ybor City historic district. Several beautiful beaches are about 30 minutes from the hotel. Many shopping opportunities are also close by. Visitors will enjoy recreational activities like jet skiing, parasailing, golfing, sport fishing, scuba diving and boating. A variety of restaurants, cocktail lounges and entertainment venues are located in the surrounding area. In addition, the Tampa area offers some of the best seafood under the sun. Hotel amenities and features include:•Free continental breakfast•Free wireless high-speed Internet access•Free local calls•Free coffee. After an exciting day of sightseeing, guests of this Tampa, FL hotel will enjoy relaxing in the outdoor pool. All guest rooms have hair dryers, irons, ironing boards and cable television. Some rooms come equipped with microwaves, refrigerators, sofa sleepers and balconies. Laundry facilities are located on the property for added guest convenience.The perfect location, affordable accommodations and friendly customer service make the Quality Inn hotel the perfect place to stay for business and leisure travelers. We look forward to serving you when visiting the Tampa area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge Busch Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing