We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded my expectations based on others reviews...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Econo Lodge Busch Gardens
Ranked #134 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Exceeded my expectations based on others reviews...”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

My family and I stayed here for one night while going to Busch Gardens. It is right across the street from the park, and the walk was no more than 20 minutes with the majority being through the parking lot on the park grounds. The room was not luxurious by any means, but it was clean and very nice for the charged rate. Breakfast was free and was more than adequate. Staff were friendly and we were able to leave our car in the parking lot while we went to the park for the day. As a reminder, the park charges $14 to park, so it is definitely worth the walk.

As to the area being sketchy. Busch Gardens is in an older part of town that is somewhat run down. As I have noticed living in Florida, people seem to walk around at all hours in the cities because a. it is warm enough to all year round and b. not everyone has a car, which does have the appearance of a bad area. I felt completely safe here, especially during the daytime walking to the park. If you are prone to be paranoid in "rougher" areas, it may be a good idea to request being on the second floor as the first floor does have sliding glass doors directly to the parking area.

Overall, I would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to anyone needing a place to stay while going to Busch Gardens.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sulu88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    18
    23
    29
    61
See reviews for
63
35
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We stayed here for Busch gardens. The location was in walking distance to the park, so we didn't have to pay to park. The free breakfast was not great. Both mornings they were out of food by 8am. The selection was cereal, donuts, muffins. The rooms need a little work.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StephanieC141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

A good hotel in an excellent location. We walked from the hotel to Busch Gardens, 10 minutes (although it took us longer the first time as we got lost - should've asked for directions!!). Breakfast was plentiful although more seating would have been helpful as we had to stand until some people left. The rooms were clean and comfortable as you would expect from a Quality Inn. Not the hotel's fault, but restaurants closeby that didn't close at 10pm would be useful.

Room Tip: Time breakfast right and you may get a seat!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Statetravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
393 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

This hotel is convenient to Busch Gardens although when we asked the front desk staff how to get there, we were told there was a pedestrian entrance at the corner of the next intersection (in other words, no shuttle). It would be quite a walk. Not necessarily the best neighborhood. Check in went smoothly and we were given our rooms although we were early. We had rooms 117 and 119. The walk to the room was along a hallway that was rather worn and had terrible stains on the carpet. We got to our rooms which were large enough and adjoining. The room had a worn tired look to it from the carpet to the walls. There were dried stains on the floor by the toilet, which I covered with a towel. It had a sliding glass door that opened out to the parking lot with a small patio but no chairs. There was an A/C unit on the wall which was set on 77 and we were unable to change it. The only thing we could do was turn it on and off. The rooms had refrigerators in them and in my son's refrigerator, there were sandwiches from a previous occupant (which meant that it hadn't been cleaned between). The door to our room was very flimsy and didn't feel like it closed properly, thankfully there was a chain. Our room had connecting doors on both sides of it which seemed kind of odd. The walls were very thin so you heard the people walking down the hallway as well as the people in the surrounding rooms. The bed was comfortable enough and the TV worked well. We went to the breakfast room and were surprised to find only 5 tables which were all occupied. There had obviously been food available but when we were there at 8:30 we didn't find much more than some white bread, a mushy banana, some oranges and empty containers. We consequently just got coffee and ate our breakfast at Busch Gardens, after driving over to their paid parking lot.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelgirlslife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danmark
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Reviewed the previous reviews and thought we would try this hotel out. We are traveling in the states and sticking to a budget. Rooms were nice, offering a fresh look. Breakfast was fine. We stayed for 2 days and everything was fine. Staff was helpful and friendly. Good find for value.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michael s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cypress, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 11, 2012

I stayed here a night for a business meeting. The staff was extremely friendly and the breakfast was plentiful. Behind the motel is not a very safe area and it was quite shady, but I felt pretty safe in the hotel. After my meeting, I had time to explore Tampa and everything was walking distance and the atmosphere of Busch Gardens was refreshing. My room was great, but I did find a tiny bug in the bathroom. They forgot to give me the remote for the AC but when i called downstairs they delivered a remote to me. For the price and perfect location, I recommend everyone to stay at this Quality Inn.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Victor L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012

The hotel is under new administration and Kathryn is an awesome host at the front desk. Everything is way better than last time we were there. The breakfast was hot and neat, rooms are clean and the new face lift overall has made a HUGE difference from what it was a year ago. Go try it, you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Make sure to leave a note on the reservation if it's done online. This is in case you need acces...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fvbkd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa Busch Gardens Area
0.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn Tampa Near Busch Gardens
1.8 mi away
Clarion Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens
4.1 mi away
Sleep Inn Near Busch Gardens/usf
1.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Tampa Near Busch Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Busch Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Busch Gardens

Property: Econo Lodge Busch Gardens
Address: 4139 E Busch Blvd, Tampa, FL 33617 (Formerly Quality Inn Busch Gardens)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #134 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Econo Lodge Busch Gardens 2.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Econo Lodge, a Tampa hotel near Busch Gardens Africa in Tampa Florida. The Econo Lodge is ideally located within walking distance of the entrance to Busch Gardens Africa amusement park. This Tampa, FL hotel is minutes from the Florida Aquarium, the Museum Of Science and Industry (MOSI), Florida State Fairgrounds, Florida Hospital, the Raymond James Stadium, the University of South Florida and the Ybor City historic district. Several beautiful beaches are about 30 minutes from the hotel. Many shopping opportunities are also close by. Visitors will enjoy recreational activities like jet skiing, parasailing, golfing, sport fishing, scuba diving and boating. A variety of restaurants, cocktail lounges and entertainment venues are located in the surrounding area. In addition, the Tampa area offers some of the best seafood under the sun. Hotel amenities and features include:•Free continental breakfast•Free wireless high-speed Internet access•Free local calls•Free coffee. After an exciting day of sightseeing, guests of this Tampa, FL hotel will enjoy relaxing in the outdoor pool. All guest rooms have hair dryers, irons, ironing boards and cable television. Some rooms come equipped with microwaves, refrigerators, sofa sleepers and balconies. Laundry facilities are located on the property for added guest convenience.The perfect location, affordable accommodations and friendly customer service make the Quality Inn hotel the perfect place to stay for business and leisure travelers. We look forward to serving you when visiting the Tampa area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge Busch Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing