We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Waterpark fun” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Adventure Island

Adventure Island
Ranked #23 of 182 things to do in Tampa
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Located right across the street from Busch Gardens Tampa, Adventure Island's 30 acres of water-drenched fun in the sun feature the ultimate combination of high-speed thrills and tropical, tranquil surroundings for guests of all ages. Within a soothing Key West atmosphere awaits an unrivaled blend of slides, corkscrews, waterfalls, a wave pool, children's water playground and other family attractions. Adventure Island also features outdoor cafes, picnic and sunbathing areas, a gift shop and a championship sand volleyball complex for hours of fun in the sun.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Wheelchair access, Activities for older children, Food available for purchase, Lockers / storage
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Waterpark fun”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

A bit busy and long lines in many of the rides, but this place is fun in the sun. Food could be improved

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Martin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

683 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    293
    211
    119
    32
    28
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“It's the only water park in Tampa”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Well, since this is the only water park in Tampa they don't have to try very hard. If you go during the week, it's OK; the weekends get overcrowded.

This park is really hot or cold with me as to how good of a visit I have. It usually comes down to how crowded it is & then the intelligence of the crowd. I expect a certain amount of screaming & laughing & people having fun, but when people are oblivious to the discomfort of other people around them, that can ruin an afternoon. Unfortunately, there's no "common sense" test that people have to take before entering the park. There haven't been many real changes to this park over the last 20 years, but it can still be a fun day.

Arrive early to claim your home base chairs with towels. Bring a small cooler with sandwiches & drinks to save some money. For the love of all that's holy, please dress appropriately - nobody should be wearing jeans or tennis shoes into a pool. Pack your patience & don't forget that common sense!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Sean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fun and Swimming Fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Never can go wrong with water and hot Tampa weather in the summer. Crowds were a bit much, but totally expected. Good way to spend a few hours with younger teenagers. Good variety of activities.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Nancy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockledge, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“This park is fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

My family and I went to this park because Busch Gardens had a two day pass for the theme park as well as this water park. Overall we really enjoyed it! It wasn't overly crowded when we went (Over the summer) and it was clean. The only gripe I had is that the water was on the cooler side and the ground of the some of the attractions were very rough, this probably being a safety measure to eliminate slipping, oh well. I liked this park a lot better than Wet n Wild, that of which was dirty and waaaaay too crowded..

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank smhangz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shreveport , la
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

like the whole trip had lots of fun, rented a cabana, food was good, it rained before we left, but that was ok

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Adventure Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing