We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Fun times at Adventure Island!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Adventure Island

Adventure Island
Ranked #24 of 186 things to do in Tampa
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Located right across the street from Busch Gardens® Tampa, Adventure Island® is 30 acres of water-drenched fun in the sun featuring the ultimate combination of high-speed thrills and tropical, tranquil surroundings for guests of all ages. Within a soothing Key West atmosphere await slides, corkscrews, water falls, a wave pool, children’s water playground and other family attractions. Choose to race down rapids, dig your toes into the sand or relax all day in a private cabana. Hurtle high and experience a feeling of weightlessness on Colossal Curl™, Adventure Island’s newest family thrill slide.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase, Activities for older children, Lockers / storage, Activities for young children
Indianapolis, IN
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fun times at Adventure Island!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

I loved that the park lets you bring a cooler in; we brought in lunch and drinks, which saved us a lot of $! We also got a Busch Gardens / Adventure Island 14 day pass, which was a great deal (same price as a single visit to Busch Gardens!) The water park was great; our 8 yro son loved all the big slides and wave pool. The park was clean and not overly crowded (early April).

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Indygirl575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

731 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    312
    228
    127
    33
    31
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
159 reviews
68 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Lots of fun- brings back memories”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

Lots of water attractions- flumes weren't as fast as I remember but still fun. Wave pool is fun to body surf. The family tube for 4 people was fun! They completely nerfed the speed slide. It USED to be from about 20-30ft higher and go straight down! In today's sue happy world they had to tone it down. All in all still a good time that will wear you out. WE rode everything at least once and some several times. We were exhausted! I was surprised and the amount of low class people there. We just people watched and stayed away.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank gator0178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellsworth, Maine
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“"Free" visit to water park”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

My family and I had a great time at Adventure Island. We bought the tickets as part of a package deal with Busch Gardens. We found the rides to be a lot of fun and we were able to ride them multiple times without much wait (maybe 5-minutes - we went on a weekday in April) all day long. The rides were all suitable for my 8 and 10-year old sons and they had a great time. The park was clean and the staff was very helpful. My only criticisms were they didn't have all the rides open (not a big deal for us, but I could see where some people would be disappointed to pay full price and not be able to go on all of the slides) and they don't rent beach towels (I ended up buying five pricey beach towels).

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
111 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Free ticket + Good weather = Happy children”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

We bought tickets to Busch Gardens and got free tickets to nearby Adventure Island (which we visited on another day).

I don't like water parks, but this one was really fun. It was clean and well kept and, because it was mid-week in April, not at all crowded. For the first two hours we were there, we could walk up to any ride we wanted and just go.

Tips:

1. Wear sunblock and don't forget to re-apply it.

2. Bring towels. It'll cost you to buy them on property.

3. Rent a locker. There are some in the middle of the park that may be more convenient.

4. Restaurants close two hours before the park does. Don't be surprised.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rabbit43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Harbor, Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Absolute fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

This is a very clean beautiful water park in Tampa Florida. The best thing I found is the height requirement for all but three rides is 42" as it should be and makes it enjoyable for the smaller kids who know how to swim like my son. Most places or rides where we go are 48": and that is ridiculous considering he has been swimming since he turned 2. The locker rental fee of 12.00 is a little high.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Adventure Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing