We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its not bad, thank God they had ice cream.”

Tampa's Lowry Park Zoo
Book In Advance
More Info
$84.85*
and up
Tampa TRIO Pass with Attractions: Aquarium, Zoo, and Museum
More Info
$32.95*
and up
Tampa's Lowry Park Zoo Admission
Ranked #8 of 197 things to do in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Tampa’s Lowry Park Zoo is home to more than 1300 animals and famous for having one of the most beautiful, tropical zoological settings in the world. The Zoo brings together animals and visitors to create unforgettable, natural connections. Guests get closer to wildlife than ever before by touching a giant tortoise, feeding a giraffe, getting nose-to-horn with an Indian rhino, hand-to-fin with slippery stingrays and more! Families can also splash in water play areas, feel thrills on rides and take in educational shows. Love manatees? The Zoo is the only place in Tampa where guests can see Florida manatees year round. At the David A. Straz Jr. Manatee Hospital, the Zoo’s veterinary and animal-care staff treat sick, injured and orphaned manatees, and return them to the wild after rehabilitation. The Zoo also cares for the most diverse group of Florida wildlife anywhere, and has won numerous awards for animal preservation.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Fort Myers, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Its not bad, thank God they had ice cream.”
Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

The food was horrible, but thankfully I got a double scoop of edys ice cream and my day went alot better. :-) Its the best zoo Tampa has to offer so you cant complain.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank AGolden161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,733
    929
    345
    99
    55
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stevens Point, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Well laid out but a little worn”
Reviewed April 3, 2014 via mobile

Perhaps it is a little unfair of me to compare this zoo to other bigger ones that I have been to (St. Louis, Milwaukee, Minneapolis, Cincinnati), but for the cost of adminission, I expected cleaner and more well-kept grounds. The layout was fantastic for our stroller toddler, and we really could get close to the animals (except for the Africa section ' while this area was in better shape, the animals seemed so fat away). I loved the manatees and the apes the best. The kiddie petting zoo area was very nice too, and the free rides were a plus.

Helpful?
Thank melimo1017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake in the Hills, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Small, but awesome”
Reviewed April 2, 2014

For a smaller zoo, they had a ton of animals! Exhibits are extremely well done. Plan on spending the entire day there to see all they have to offer.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Aranthorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good zoo, horrible food”
Reviewed April 1, 2014

There's a sign at the entrance stating that you can't bring in your own food...I don't know if its enforced, but it would be wise to sneak in your own food. First disapointment - "Starbucks" coffee place only had non-dairy creamer. Ugh. Second disapointment - restaurant overlooking giraffes was booked for a private party. So, we went in to the gloomy cafeteria next to it. (You can actually bring your food outside at least) Only choices were tacos, pizza and ceasar salad. Not even any premade sandwiches or soups on offer. So we got the tacos and pizza. The chicken in the tacos was off - we had to pick it out. The pizza was not finished by my husband or son who are normally big eaters and not fussy. Third disappointment...my husband was still hungry when we left the zoo so he went into the market near the entrance...and came out empty handed because nothing looked good. We weren't expecting gourmet food, just decent food. The Florida Aquarium has the right idea - had a pina colada and a jerk chicken sandwich with sweet potato fries there a few days later.

The zoo itself is well laid out. The habitats are a good size but well placed one next to the other so you don't have to walk far between them. The Africa section is particularly great with several species together and an opportunity to feed the giraffes. Most habitats use rocks or moats instead of fences, making it easier to get good photos.
There were about 5 or 6 animals missing from their habitats with no signs....i just wish a sign would be put up so you don't spend time searching for a non-existant animal. The manatee exhibit was a bit disappoointing because the windows were really dirty so it was tough to see. It may just have been a bad time though.
If you like animals you'll have fun, just bring your own food. Also, be prepared for lots of toy vending machines and mini-gift shops at the entrances to many indoor animals.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank summersault88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Falls, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice assortment of animals covering Florida to Africa.”
Reviewed March 31, 2014 via mobile

Loved the manatee rescue hospital and the giraffe feeding. Lots of animals to choose from. Don't miss the bird flight in the morning :). Stopped on a whim while we were in the area. Initially thought the price was high, but really enjoyed how much you got to interact with the animals.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tampa's Lowry Park Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing