We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience”

Tampa's Lowry Park Zoo
Book In Advance
More Info
$32.95*
and up
Tampa's Lowry Park Zoo Admission
Ranked #8 of 197 things to do in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Tampa’s Lowry Park Zoo is home to more than 1300 animals and famous for having one of the most beautiful, tropical zoological settings in the world. The Zoo brings together animals and visitors to create unforgettable, natural connections. Guests get closer to wildlife than ever before by touching a giant tortoise, feeding a giraffe, getting nose-to-horn with an Indian rhino, hand-to-fin with slippery stingrays and more! Families can also splash in water play areas, feel thrills on rides and take in educational shows. Love manatees? The Zoo is the only place in Tampa where guests can see Florida manatees year round. At the David A. Straz Jr. Manatee Hospital, the Zoo’s veterinary and animal-care staff treat sick, injured and orphaned manatees, and return them to the wild after rehabilitation. The Zoo also cares for the most diverse group of Florida wildlife anywhere, and has won numerous awards for animal preservation.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Brockport, New York, Usa
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
“Great Experience”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Spent a day there this summer and what a wonderful place!! My kids (11 and 7) loved it.....so many things for them to do. We have been to 10 different zoos in the past several years and this one is a definate must visit!! Enjoy.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Fred P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,733
    929
    345
    99
    55
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lakeland, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Small Town Zoo”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Easy acces. Decent parking. Some exhibits are decent. We've been to the Philadelphia Zoo,Lincoln Park Zoo, St. Louis Zoo, and Phoenix Park Zoo in Dublin, Ireland. Lowry Park Zoo markets itself as a world class zoo, but it falls short-way short. They just don't have anything that sets them apart from any other local zoo. The best exhibit is the interactive aviary.

For citizens of the Tampa Bay Area it works. I wouldn't drive more than 50 miles to see it. That would be a waste of time. Perhaps the animals are more animated in the winter.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dennis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casselberry, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
312 reviews
87 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Nice zoo but some improvements could be made”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

We are members at two other zoos so got into the zoo at half price, so price wasn't an issue for us. There were a number of animal exhibit shows but I wish they were planned so guests could go from one to another easily without backtracking all over the zoo. We decided to stroll the zoo and not wear outselves out by getting to the shows (and we love animal shows). We happened to be at the penguins for the morning feeding and that was very well done; the keeper was very informative and the penguins were adorable. We saw more birds of all varieties here than at any other zoo and that was a treat for us. The baby elephants and rhinos were fun to see; the exhibit space for these looked very spacious. However the giraffe viewing area seemed to be limited only to those who paid to feed them. The platform was very small. Many people in line just gave up and walked away. We're used to the Brevard Zoo where the platform is huge and guests can get up close to the giraffes without having to pay for feeding. This was a disappointment. We had fun watching the orangutans getting some fruit enrichment from a keeper. The biggest problem for us was the deplorable conditions at the manatee viewing area. We've seen the manatee area at SeaWorld and know how clean it can be kept. However the water here was so dirty and mucky and you could barely see the manatees at the underwater viewing areas. The hospital area tanks looked horrible. One staff said that this area was paid for by some outside grant, but that shouldn't excuse the conditions for these magnificent creatures. We got to the zoo when it opened on a Tuesday and were ready for lunch around noon, but nothing was open except for the main cafe at the entrance. The cafe by Africa didn't open for 30 minutes when we got there, so we didn't eat until almost two when we were famished and ready to leave.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A very upclose encounter”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Tampa's Zoo is unllike any I've ever been to, and I'm not sure if I like it not. While you get very upclose to the animals and get to see them like never before, I can't help but think that they should be in large enclosures. Regardless, it is a great experience, especially the giraffes.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Soflo9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lutz, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great little zoo”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Lowry Park Zoo is a great little zoo, well worth a visit if you are in the area. We live just north of Tampa, and regularly visited the zoo (even more often when the kids were younger. A terrific variety of animals, exotic and local. A real bargain too!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tampa's Lowry Park Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing