We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small but nice”

Tampa's Lowry Park Zoo
Book In Advance
More Info
$54.99*
and up
Three great attractions, one great price with The Tampa TRIO
Ranked #10 of 196 things to do in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Tampa’s Lowry Park Zoo is home to more than 1300 animals and famous for having one of the most beautiful, tropical zoological settings in the world. The Zoo brings together animals and visitors to create unforgettable, natural connections. Guests get closer to wildlife than ever before by touching a giant tortoise, feeding a giraffe, getting nose-to-horn with an Indian rhino, hand-to-fin with slippery stingrays and more! Families can also splash in water play areas, feel thrills on rides and take in educational shows. Love manatees? The Zoo is the only place in Tampa where guests can see Florida manatees year round. At the David A. Straz Jr. Manatee Hospital, the Zoo’s veterinary and animal-care staff treat sick, injured and orphaned manatees, and return them to the wild after rehabilitation. The Zoo also cares for the most diverse group of Florida wildlife anywhere, and has won numerous awards for animal preservation.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Hollywood, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Small but nice”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

The zoo is nice but rather small for my taste. It is affordable, which is a plus, but it's definitely not somewhere you can spend a whole day.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TheConstantRambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,011 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,638
    890
    335
    94
    54
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
62 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great Zoo!”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Lowry Park Zoo is such a great zoo. My husband and I have been season pass holders since we moved here, and we don't even have kids. First, the zoo is very affordable. For season passes, you can get one for yourself, and one as a guest pass, that anyone can use. The staff is always very nice and knowledgeable. The wide variety of animals is great and it seems like there are always babies to see! The animals look very comfortable in their habitats and none of them seem to be sad or neglected. The zoo has special exhibits for the different holidays and Christmas at the zoo is so beautiful and wonderful!
For the kids, there are also little rides and a petting zoo. For a small fee you can feed the giraffes. The restaurant by the elephants, zebras, and giraffes is pretty decent and has a great view of the animals. Definitely a fabulous zoo and worth a visit!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Patricia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
45 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“TERRIBLE, RUDE EMPLOYEES WHO ARE LAZY AND DON'T CARE!”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Going to the zoo is supposed to be fun and family-oriented right? While some of the animals were quite a beautiful sight... the employees just seemed not to give a darn about the tourists and animals! It was dirty, the tanks to look at the marine life were very unclean, blurry, you couldn't see a thing. The water was dirty! I felt bad for those poor creatures! Don't come here! Employees are lazy and the zoo is right in the middle of a VERY TERRIBLE area of Tampa. You would be lucky not to get shot! (too soon?) Do you catch my drift? Don't waste your time...

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Noelani W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“do the zoo”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

This zoo was very good. The weather in June was warm, but not too hot. The zoo was laid out well and the animals were out and about since the weather was mild. We were able to get a lot of really good pictures. If you're in Tampa looking for something to do, do the zoo.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jayme J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
176 reviews
81 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Best Zoo for Kids!”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We loved the Lowry Park Zoo from the first time we visited some 4 years ago. It’s small size and wonderful array of animals habitats from penguins to pigmy hippos is enhanced with educational animal talks and shows, animal interactions and rides for children of all ages. There is even a water play area for kids to cool off. One of the things that really sets the Lowry Park Zoo apart from other zoos we’ve been to is the countless opportunities kids have to interact with the animals. There is a petting zoo area with goats and other farm animals and you can feed the giraffes, lorikeets, buschland budgies , stingrays and even the white rhinos!
One of my children’s favorite things to do is ride the ponies and on this occasion my little guy was able to ride a llama for the first time! There are some height and weight requirements though, specially for the llamas that can only carry smaller children but this is something we had never done before and the kids just loved the llamas.
My little guy could not get enough of the rides. From bumper boats to the tiger roller coaster and the fun animal carrousel there is something for everyone and although there are height restrictions on some of the rides they are all kid friendly, unlike other parks.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Paula B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tampa's Lowry Park Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing