We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience ZooTampa at Lowry Park
from $32.95
More Info
from $64.50
More Info
from $107.00
More Info
Reviews (3,551)
Filter reviews
3,412 results
Traveler rating
1,874
1,004
370
107
57
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,874
1,004
370
107
57
Show reviews that mention
All reviews nice zoo petting zoo manatee hospital tampa zoo safari ride local zoo feed a giraffe all ages kiddie rides cool off splash pad behind the scenes annual pass animal exhibits whole family busch gardens roller coaster
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 3,412 reviews
Reviewed yesterday

My daughter wanted us all to go for her birthday, so we went. My wife (not my daughter's mother) said she didn't want to go, "All there is is a huge habitat with one animal, usually asleep if there's one in there at all." She was right. Too many habitats without any animals or animals hidden. I get that; these animals probably don't want to be here either. That said, there is a really nice Manatee exhibit--but no manatees. There is an exhibit with a couple of joey kangaroos. Two lethargic babies. We did take a tram ride through "Africa," and that wasn't terrible, just too quick. The aviary used to have a lot more free-flying birds, so I was really looking forward to that. Now most of them are in caged habitats, even under the netting. They have a theme-park style play area now, mostly for kids. But not a lot of visible animals.
That said, the Primate exhibit is really very nice. Lots of different kinds of primates out in the open doing their primate stuff. I thought that was really good, and I stopped there last on my way out of the park. So, lucky for the zoo there.
Prices are high, of course; parking was slim on a Saturday, but there were a couple places. Food at the grill was passable, but expensive.
I say go, take the kids and hope for the best. But I won't return again.

Thank Wendell T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 days ago

This zoo is the perfect size for families with young children. There is a section for children to play in with a petting zoo and a few amusement rides. It wasn't very busy during the week. Try to go early morning or later in the day if it is hot. The animals aren't active when hot or in the middle of the day. Very clean, easy to walk.

Thank K B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 days ago

If you are wanting a thrilling time to see some amazing creatures and enjoy some rides too, this is the place! My children thoroughly enjoyed themselves beyond measure, and so did their parents! To see the huge, jaw-dropping rhinos, the astonishing herd of African Elephants, and the swinging, acrobatic gibbons, just to name a few, was incredible. Also, for those who are brave as some of my family were, the "Tasmanian Tiger Roller Coaster" is your friend. It's so exciting that my children went multiple times! Please do yourself a favor and stop by this zoo if you are in Tampa...it is the best I've seen.

Thank Sightsee658274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 days ago

Nice zoo. Well kept. Beautiful well maintained grounds. Some things are closed. But this was the middle of the week. Some of animals have been there for awhile. But more than a few have had new offspring, which is a good sign. Seems to be a great place for kids. Well laid out. You could easily do the whole thing in one day.

Now to the "Garden Club". I've eaten in something like 2000+ restaurants around the world. Maybe more. The garden club at the entrance is the second worst restaurant I've every experienced. As have others, waited for over 30 min. 4 employees -3 cooks that stood around talking to each other. One ambitious employee who took our order and payment, bussed tables, swept the floor and served everyone's food. After we waited for our order, he also cooked ours and others while the other three did little. Didn't think anyone could mess up a salad. Chicken sandwich (microwaved not "grilled) not edible. As others have said. Take a picnic lunch.

Thank 30yrtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 days ago

Prior to my going to Uganda for a gorilla trek, I visited Zoo Tampa to meet with a lady who works with their gorillas. This zoo is wonderful: sparkling clean, animals well displayed and cared for. I met with Rachel who was excellent in explaining the gorillas--their characteristics, etc. I was so pleased I bought an annual pass.

Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

Tampa Zoo is the perfect size to see everything in one day! Beautiful exhibits and fun for the whole family. Be prepared to walk though! Lots of things to see. You will be "plum tuckered out" by the end of the day. Rides are included in the admission price which is great! You can pay for the day and go all year!!

Thank Taliah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

So much more than caged animals. Habitat was ample and creative. A lot to see. Be prepared for a long walk. Make sure to get a map so you dont miss a thing. Pathways wind around into different lands.tram ride gives you a peek behind the scenes. There is a kids area that has rides and a petting zoo. Nice way to spend a day.

Thank V D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Really enjoyed this visit. Great picture taking opportunities for artists!
Animals appear well cared for.

Thank Janell W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Started as a volunteer event with work. Stayed to enjoy the zoo and so glad we did a group of us went all over the zoo and so much fun with watching the animals. The zookeeper interaction especially around the red wolf and orangutans. So much fun can't wait to go back. Thank you to all the staff for making us feel so welcome.

Thank Tammy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

Visiting Tampa, Florida - Soon?
Hopefully you have the Lowry Park Zoo on your Adventure List- very easy to get to the Lowry Zoo, just off I-275 & W. Sligh Ave..
Lowry Park Zoo is very easy to get around and offers many adventures and a relaxing day for walking. The Zoo offers alot of park benches and lots, lots of trees for shade for those hot Florida days. The sights and sounds are interesting and the exhibits are well done for viewing the animals and clean!
The staff-keepers are very knowledgeable, friendly and experienced on animal care...
The Zoo is divided up into 6 sections for easy access- when you enter you will find the Manatee Circle- from here it spans out with signs along the way pointing to each adventure of your choice.
Start at the MAIN AVIARY- where lots of exotic birds await.
WALLAROO ADVENTURE - this are is where you could lose your children- Tiger Coaster, Petting Zoo, Water Play Area, Koala, Wallaby, Train Ride and many more adventurers for the little ones... So Rest Up Moms & Dads..
AFRICA ADVENTURE - African Penguins, Elephants, you can feed a Giraffe, Pet a Giant Tortoise, Meerkats, and more. Relax at the Savanna Oasis and enjoy lunch or a snack.
FLORIDA ADVENTURE - On a hot Florida day, you can cool-off at the Roaring Springs Water Ride, or visit a Black Bear, Florida Panther, Manatee Center, Alligators and many more of Florida Wildlife.
PRIMATES ADVENTURE- The really fun area- let all types of our closest relatives entertain you: Chimpanzees, Orangutans just to mention a couple and so much more..
ASIA ADVENTURE - view the Clouded Leopard,Indian Rhino, Lorikeet,Malayan Tiger, Komodo Dragon and much more...
As you walk around enjoying the sights & sounds, look for the a PAW PRINT SIGN - this symbol shows where you can experience an up-close Animal Encounter, keep your eyes peeled for the Paw Signs, they are fun animal encounters.
Lowry Zoo also has a school to learn more about animal care and where the animals are from in the World. Also, learn of the animals that have been long extinct, animals on the endangered species list and ones that are in danger of disappearing forever at an alarming rate.
Lowry Zoo offers a daily schedule of ANIMAL MINGLE TIME -check with Guest Information on the schedule times of your visit and make sure you get the times for the SIGNATURE ENCOUNTERS & UP-CLOSE EXPERIENCES...
For Dining Options to satisfy the wildest appetite - Main Entrance - Garden Grille, Wallaroo Area -Boomer's Cafe & Aussie Ice - Africa Area - there is 3 places Tamni's Oasis, Beer & Wine Garden and the International Bistro...
Florida Area - Joe's Diner..
Jungle Carousel - Sweet Shoppe (Ice cream)
Coffee Lovers - Starbucks & Krispy Kreme - Doughnuts...
You will find also: First-Aid Station, Stroller & Wheelchair Rentals, Restrooms, Lost Items, ATM'S, Gift Shops, Smoking Area's and everything is Wheelchair Accessible.
Want to Adopt one of the 1,300 animals to help provide care for the animal -check with one of the gift-shops for information.
Plenty of Free Parking and lots of Disabled Parking. You can go on-line to purchase your 1 day pass, or sign up for a membership with lots of benefits.
We recommend a visit the next-time you are here in the Tampa Bay Area to the Lowry Park Zoo - you will have a fun & enjoyable encounter...
Till Later; Be-Safe Happy Traveling:
John & Jackie Scalise/Palm Harbor, Florida USA

1  Thank scalise12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZooTampa, Manager at ZooTampa at Lowry Park, responded to this reviewResponded today

Hi John & Jackie! We're so happy you had a great time at the Zoo! We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews