We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun zoo plenty of animals”

Tampa's Lowry Park Zoo
Book In Advance
More Info
$106.00*
and up
Tampa Bay CityPASS
Ranked #10 of 196 things to do in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Tampa’s Lowry Park Zoo is home to more than 1300 animals and famous for having one of the most beautiful, tropical zoological settings in the world. The Zoo brings together animals and visitors to create unforgettable, natural connections. Guests get closer to wildlife than ever before by touching a giant tortoise, feeding a giraffe, getting nose-to-horn with an Indian rhino, hand-to-fin with slippery stingrays and more! Families can also splash in water play areas, feel thrills on rides and take in educational shows. Love manatees? The Zoo is the only place in Tampa where guests can see Florida manatees year round. At the David A. Straz Jr. Manatee Hospital, the Zoo’s veterinary and animal-care staff treat sick, injured and orphaned manatees, and return them to the wild after rehabilitation. The Zoo also cares for the most diverse group of Florida wildlife anywhere, and has won numerous awards for animal preservation.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Bristol, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fun zoo plenty of animals”
Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

Big fun zoo better than Connecticut and Rhode Island zoos. A lot of kid activities. The sad thing is when we got there in afternoon many animals were sleeping that happens though.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Richard E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,058 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,668
    900
    339
    96
    55
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Miami
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Zoo”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Great little Zoo. Loved how it was set up and enjoyed our visit there. They have a nice variety of animals. Animals looked well taken care of and staff was around to answer your questions. Nice place.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Fl
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great place for kids”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Very nice for families with young children. Lots of activities for kids to enjoy. During the summer they have water parks and places where kids can get wet and have fun, bring their bathing suits and water shoes.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank AnaD1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
69 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Perfect for Kids!”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

I grew up with a really big zoo and have visited plenty of large zoos in different cities, so I thought I would be disappointed with Tampa's. While not as big as some zoos, Tampa's Lowry Park Zoo is perfect for kids.

Unlike big zoos there is not a lot of walking. While not having every single animal imaginable, there is plenty of variety, including the big animals kids love. There are special educational, interactive presentations. I've been up close and personal with several fascinating creatures.

These experiences have lead me to visit several times, and I've enjoyed each visit.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Kai R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shutesbury, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
227 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“A little confusing to navigate but good to visit”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

It was a little confusing to navigate. Felt like we had to do some backtracking to see everything. My daughter didn't like one of the tunnels where the manatees were and there wasn't any way to get around that to get to the stuff on the other side really. We liked how animals were mixed together. The zebras, giraffes, and elephants were all in the same area. There were several baby animals to see- rhino, elephant, hippo.

We started around 10am and were done by 1pm probably. Some people would have stayed longer but it was a hot day and my husband was very tired. We skipped around a little too.

My 7 year old was disappointed by the rides. She was too big for some of them, and that only left a couple that she could do. There were a group of kids that enjoyed the flume ride though and since it wasn't crowded in the morning they were able to do it over and over again.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank RebeccaMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tampa's Lowry Park Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing