We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice zoo!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tampa's Lowry Park Zoo

Tampa's Lowry Park Zoo
Book In Advance
More Info
$54.99*
and up
Three great attractions, one great price with The Tampa TRIO
Ranked #10 of 195 things to do in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Tampa's Lowry Park Zoo features more than 1,300 amazing animals on 56 acres of natural habitats. Guests will find many interactive exhibits and opportunities to get closer to wildlife -- feed a giraffe, hold a lorikeet, touch a stingray and more. The Zoo's Manatee and Aquatic Center expands the traditional boundaries of a zoo, focusing efforts on critical care for injured, sick and orphaned wild manatees. Also at the zoo: splash ground water play areas, wild rides, educational shows and cafes.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very nice zoo!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

I've have been going there for 20 years and every time enjoy it. Very clean, animals healthy, employees nice. A nice variety of animals. My children always enjoyed it.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kelley A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,953 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,605
    873
    330
    92
    53
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
tampa, FL
Level Contributor
58 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“small enjoyable zoo”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Tampa's Lowry Park Zoo is a pleasure for adults and kids of all ages. Affordable compared to the high dollar theme parks and well worth a visit while in/around West Central Florida. Clean, numerous animals, good interpretive signs. Easy to follow map received at entrance. Fun way to spend a few hours. Food service available, though I thought a little pricey, or take picnic and enjoy at picnic grounds near the parking lot.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank 1akmaninfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hickory
Level Contributor
41 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Large number of animals”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

There was a large variety of animals. We really enjoyed seeing a baby elephant. This zoo has a lot of interaction with the animals. You can feed Giraffes, birds, and several other animals. We were there when a lot of the animals were being fed. It was fun watching the penguins being fed.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Janet C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia, Spain
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Fun for everyone!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

With a few days in Tampa, before our return to Europe, we searched Trip Advisor for suggestions.
The Lowry Park Zoo sounded fun, It was!
The setting is pretty, and the cost acceptable at around $20 per person. Check your Tourist Map, they all have a discount voucher.
The Map given to us by the staff was easy to follow, and gave us details of feeding times.
The weather was perfect, warm, and sunny, and, as the children had returned to school after the Christmas Holiday, it wasn't too crowded.
This is not a large zoo, but it is clean, well stocked, well laid out , with pleasant walks between "Asia", Africa, etc.
Having spent a month on Marco Island, we were so happy to see our friends - the Manatees, close up, and personal, complete with informative talk, and health update from the Manatee Hospital, located here. Great work guys, seeing how you help these fellows was the highlight of my day.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelBean024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Alfred, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Best Zoo Ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

Went here on our recent trip to Tampa. I love zoos & visit them wherever we go but I must say this is #1. Wonderful park layout, clean, friendly & helpful staff - I could go on & on. Evem if you're not a "zoo person" I'd still highly recommend making an exception for this one -- just a fantastic place.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ronda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tampa's Lowry Park Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing