We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Dinner Cruise Experience!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Yacht StarShip

Yacht StarShip
Ranked #500 of 2,356 Restaurants in Tampa
Price range: $39 - $74
Cuisines: American, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Downtown
Description: Tampa Bay's Premier Dining Yachts | Tampa • St. Petersburg • Clearwater Yacht StarShip, America's First 3-diamond rated Dining Yacht by AAA, ranks in the top 28% of all restaurants. Our exquisite dining cruises offer private seating, tableside service, spectacular views and dancing under the stars.
Riverview
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful Dinner Cruise Experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

We really enjoy the StarShip Cruises with meals!...they offer Brunch, Lunch, and Dinner! The meals are great and are a good value! The added bonus is the wonderful cruise of Tampa Bay!!!! We highly recommend StarShip!!!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank IreneADD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    32
    17
    17
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Always a wonderful time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

I always have a wonderful time on Yacht Starship Dinner cruises. Just recently took my girlfriend for her birthday and when making reservations online, there was a field asking if this was a special event and I selected "Birthday". Once we were seated, our server noted that this we were there celebrating her birthday. Her desert had "Happy" Birthday" written in chocolate sauce on her plate. This was a full moon cruise so it was a 1/2 hour longer on a beautiful Saturday night. The food is excellent and we had plenty of time to dance on the upper deck all the way back to the dock. This is a must do for anyone traveling to the area and provides beautiful views of the waterfront homes and city skyline at night. Who ever you bring will thoroughly enjoy themselves. I've been numerous times and have never been disappointed.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DavidAndGina060112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
179 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“excellent way to spend the evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

This yacht does a great tour of the harbour especially during sunset. The food was excellent and the staff was very accommodating. The boat has a great bar area indoor with room for dancing. The upper deck has great views with tables and chairs to move as you like. you can also sit off the back of the boat on high top tables and be served wonderful hoer dourves.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Shaun B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“New Years Eve 2012”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

Before going, we read many, many reviews on Yacht Starship out of Channelside in Tampa. So we were aware of the pros and cons of this dinner cruise. First the pros: $299 for a couple gets you ALL you can possibly drink in 2 1/2 hours. Bartenders were very good. Occasionally, a server would come to our table. Food was buffet style (we liked that). Beautiful scenery of downtown Tampa still decked out for the holidays, and a terrific view of the fireworks from 1/4 mile offshore. The cons: the tables and chairs in the waiting area were loaded onto the boat and therefore was over-booked (it was a sellout). We waited for the line to pass by and joined the line at the end knowing a seat was guaranteed for everyone.The only seats available were at the stern outside. We are thankful the cold front that had passed thru a few days earlier had mellowed so we knew it could have been much worse. Party favors for everyone? Not for those of us outside. Hors d' oeuvres for everyone? Not for those of us outside (wait, a server did come out to our table once with a tray). Food was ok, not outstanding as they tout. The boat left channelside and it was announced we would head to Hillsbourough Bay. This was blatantly untrue. We proceeded up the channel east of Harbor Island, turned right and went down Seddon Channel, stopped at TGH, turned around and returned the same way. We got nowhere near the Davis Island airport, let alone Hillsborough Bay. I have no idea how AAA gives this a "3-diamond" rating as stated on their site. Unable to recommend to anyone. We won't return.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank PatriciaS134678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinellas Park, Florida
Level Contributor
84 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“MY GREAT BIRTHDAY CELEBRATION”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

My boyfriend surprised me with a Holiday DInner Cruise on the Star Ship. From the time we picked up the tickets until we docked, we enjoyed everything. My name and my birthday was printed on the ticket. My name was on the ship's legend as you enter. The cruise director greeted me by name and wished me a "Happy Birthday". When we boarded, tables were set so lovely and the atmosphere fabulous other than the large crowd and the noise. At our table was a reserved table tent with my name on it and again with a special message inside wishing me a "Happy BIrthday" and thanking us for choosing the Star Ship to celebrate. The service was impecable. We asked the maitre'd if we could move to the 2nd level where it was much quieter. The ship was sold out but a customer didn't show and they graciously moved us to the new location. The second floor is where the bar and DJ reside so it is a bit more informal but you can see a lot more. The buffet meal was ok for what it was. Cookies were the only dessert which was a bit disappointing. No cake for me. Drinks were extra but not priced any more than a good restaurant. The waiters all gathered on the third level and sang the customers Christmas carols. The DJ started the dance music about the last 45 minutes. So much fun. Even had a visit with Santa who gave all the customers a Christmas medallion of the Star Ship on red beads. What a treat! Go and enjoy. I bet New Year's Eve would be a blast!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank trueheartreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yacht StarShip also viewed

 

Been to Yacht StarShip? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing