We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Very good for the money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites near Raymond James Stadium

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Comfort Suites near Raymond James Stadium
Ranked #20 of 162 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
Cumming, Georgia
Level Contributor
129 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Very good for the money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We are moving to Georgia and needed a place to stay after movers picked up our furniture. Thought this was the hotel right by Dale Mabry....which is wasn't, but it turned out well. The hotel was very clean and comfortable. The desk clerks were very nice, friendly and helpful. Would stay here again if we come back to Tampa to visit.

Room Tip: Good location near restaurants and the Stadium
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sandytampa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmfl760, Manager at Comfort Suites near Raymond James Stadium, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your response will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.

Sincerely,

Shital Patel
Manager
Comfort Suites near Raymond James Stadium
813-880-8938
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    68
    32
    8
    6
See reviews for
74
60
17
68
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carol Stream,IL
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This hotel hope the ownership see that it needs to maintain its property.
I found that this hotel needs to have better cleaning people.
The elevator was dirty,the halls needed vacuuming.
In our room there were something on the ceiling my husband said it looked like gummy bears on the ceiling. Bathroom floor tile was crack, and shower walls showed a lot a wear.
The beds were great, pillow were way to soft.
I will say the breaksfast lady made sure everything was replenished as fast as they ran low. She was very pleasant, she also took time to clean tables as people were leaving. Now that is a good employee. I do hope she gets some reconition, for what she does so well.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DennisCarolStream_IL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmfl760, Manager at Comfort Suites near Raymond James Stadium, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Shital Patel
Manager
Comfort Suites near Raymond James Stadium
813-880-8938
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middleburg, FL
Level Contributor
90 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

This hotel is showing wear and tear. I have had positive experiences staying at other Comfort Suites; however, I would not recommend this property. I hope the ownership decides to spend some money restoring this property soon.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank usbrowns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmfl760, Manager at Comfort Suites near Raymond James Stadium, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Thank you so much for your feedback. We apprecaite your honest opinion and are happy to report that the next few months are full of upgrades to the facility. These include a new refreshed marketplace and fitness room. We are also in the process of upgrading all of our bedding and hope to have this completed before the end of the year. Thank you once again and we hope to see you soon.


Shital Patel
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Cloud, Florida
Level Contributor
93 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this location the past three nights. I found the room to be clean and well maintained. The staff was friendly and accommodating. There was a minor bump upon check in as I had to return to the front desk as the key card did not work initially. The breakfast in the morning is more than enough to keep you going till lunch. From hot items such as eggs,sausage and waffles to cold cereal with much in between. I would have like to have my receipt slipped under my door my last night to save a trip to the desk as on your last morning it can be busy. There is a small workout room along with an outdoor pool which I did not use as it was rather cool during my visit. There are no restaurants within walkable distance albeit many are just a short drive away. There is a 24 screen AMC there less than a mile away. The airport is nearby if you're fling in or out. All in all it was a pleasant stay and I would not hesitate to stay again.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank jimbhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmfl760, Manager at Comfort Suites near Raymond James Stadium, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your response will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.

Sincerely,

Shital Patel
Manager
Comfort Suites near Raymond James Stadium
813-880-8938
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

The Comfort Suites near Raymond James Stadium is on my short list of places to stay on my visits to Tampa (I go there every 6 weeks or so).

Price is the reason. You are unlikely to find a fairly new, reasonably clean, reasonably well-kept hotel in the Tampa area for what this Comfort Suites typically charges.

Usually, I am just looking for a clean, comfortable place to stay while in Tampa for business. This hotel fits that bill perfectly.

There are negatives to this place. As other reviewers have noted although it is centrally located, it is in a light industrial and commercial area. You won't be sending postcards or emails home showing the beautiful view from your room at the Comfort Suites.

Like many inexpensive hotels, the construction of this place is largely wooden framed with little insulation in the walls. However, I have never found noise to be a problem at nighttime (i.e. during sleeping hours). I've stayed twice and prefer the higher floors because of lobby noise during the daytimes.

Contrary to what other reviewers have said, there are restaurants nearby, both on Waters Avenue and on nearby Anderson Road. However, they are not in what I would call walking distance--just a short drive. You will also need a car to get to Raymond James Stadium-- "near" is a subjective thing.

The breakfast buffet is indeed basic, but the coffee and juices are great and they have waffles, cereal, and a few pastries. But for these rates, I am not complaining!

If you are going to Tampa during the "high tourist season" months when Florida is the most popular, you should consider this as a viable alternative. During the summer and other less-busy times of year (when room rates around town come down), I generally stay at properties which are nicer (like a Hilton or Doubletree) because they represent a better value in the off-season.

Incidentally, the staff here is very friendly and helpful. Having the extra space that these small suites provide is also appreciated.

Room Tip: The higher up in the hotel, the quieter these rooms tend to be.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank noskaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmfl760, Manager at Comfort Suites near Raymond James Stadium, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Shital Patel
Manager
Comfort Suites near Raymond James Stadium
813-880-8938
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

definitely would not stay at the comfort suites again. Decorated poorly--ants in the room--(was biten by one)--there were no restaurants near by---hotel breakfast adequate/nice breakfast dinning area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank snoopuppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmfl760, Manager at Comfort Suites near Raymond James Stadium, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Shital Patel
Manager
Comfort Suites near Raymond James Stadium
813-880-8938
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

I was really impressed by the outside of the hotel. The room itself was spacious, clean and set up perfectly with a sitting area and work area. The bed was extremely comfortable. The location was perfect for my business trip. BUT, the walls are extremely thin. Apparently the people in the room next to me don't grasp a basic concept that if a headboard is hitting the wall, the person in the next room CAN hear it. As well as the moans and groans at 4:30 am. Now, if my husband with me, perhaps you would have heard some moans and groans, but we at least have common sense and courtesy to not let the headboard hit the wall. Bottom line, the walls are so thin you can almost make out a conversation in the next room.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Renee A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmfl760, Manager at Comfort Suites near Raymond James Stadium, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Shital Patel
Manager
Comfort Suites near Raymond James Stadium
813-880-8938
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tampa
9.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Near Fairgrounds Ybor City
11.1 mi away
Comfort Suites at Fairgrounds - Casino
6.7 mi away
Quality Inn Airport
Quality Inn Airport
#96 of 162 in Tampa
3.5 of 5 stars 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Suburban Extended Stay Hotel of Tampa - Airport West
6.7 mi away
Clarion Hotel & Conference Center
13.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#17 of 96 in Clearwater
4.5 of 5 stars 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites near Raymond James Stadium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites near Raymond James Stadium

Property: Comfort Suites near Raymond James Stadium
Address: 5421 W Waters Ave, Tampa, FL 33634-1219
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Tampa
#20 Business Hotel in Tampa
#21 Family Hotel in Tampa
#28 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites near Raymond James Stadium 2.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Suites near Raymond James Stadium is located near Tampa International Airport TPA and Raymond James Stadium. Rates always include a free hot breakfast, outdoor pool, whirlpool, fitness room 24 hour Business Center and Free Aiport Shuttle from 5:15am to Midnight. Located minutes away from Veterans Expressway, Dale Mabry Hwy and I-275. Area Businesses include Home Depot, Fed-Ex, CAE, Kesier University, Cemex, Barry University, Alessi Bakery, Jacobs, and McDean. Area attractions such as Busch Gardens, The Florida Aquarium, Big Cat Rescue, Lowry Park Zoo, Tampa Convention Center, Straz Center, Mosi, Tampa Times Forum, Ybor City and Channelside are all a short drive away. Come and enjoy the Suite life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Comfort Suites near Raymond James Stadium reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Near Raymond James Stadium Hotel Tampa
Comfort Suites Tampa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing