We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for Kindergarten lovers” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tahitian Inn Hotel Cafe & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Tahitian Inn Hotel Cafe & Spa to your Saves list
Tahitian Inn Hotel Cafe & Spa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   601 South Dale Mabry Hwy, Tampa, FL 33609   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Affiliate website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #91 of 160 Hotels in Tampa
Lehigh Acres, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect for Kindergarten lovers”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

I was searching online for a nice hotel to relax over the weekend and it had to be pet friendly. So I decided to stay at the Tahitian Inn. On our arrival very friendly staff greated us. First thing I had to sign the pet agreement - $50 is too much. They should advertise that fee in their listing. The entrance hall, the restaurant as well the rooms were really nice. No complain. The bed (mattress) too soft. But I booked the room because of the nice pool area to relax. So we went to the pool and 2/3 of the pool area was closed for a private party. So we "relaxed" on one pool recliner. And it was pretty loud. Next day in the morning it was not too bad. We left at noon for some sight seeing and came back at 4pm to enjoy the pool area again. It was overcrowded with people and children Pool was full of toys. The were jumping, screaming, shouting and splashing and I was scared to go into the pool especially with my older mother. Nobody said a word - not the parents as well not the staff. There were signs: No jumping, but nobody did care. The staff only was busy selling drinks and food at the bar. For a kindergarten holiday a perfect spot but not for people over 35 years.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elvira H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Panama City Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

I found this hotel online because I was traveling with my dogs and it was listed as pet friendly. After reading somewhat mixed reviews, I booked this hotel for a two day business trip and proceeded with caution. When I arrived, the front desk staff was very friendly and the hotel was well appointed. I was given a room with both a balcony as well as a jacuzzi tub just upstairs from the lobby. The room was clean, nicely decorated and the bed was very comfortable. The noise from the street and the air conditioner in the room was pretty bad, but the biggest complaint that I have and the reason for only an average rating was that this was a business trip and the "Free Wi-FI" did not exist. According to staff, it's a Brightstar issue that is being "taken care of", according to the other reviews, this is an ongoing problem. Either way, I had to check out early and pay for another hotel just to get some work done. Not cool.

Room Tip: Don't stay in main building if you are a light sleeper. Lots of noise from the street and Chick...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tammei T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

We stayed at the Tahitian Inn in February 2014 and enjoyed our stay. The hotel is located relatively close to the Yankees training facility, so it was an easy drive for us to attend spring training games. There are bars and restaurants in the Hyde Park area which is a nice walk or very short cab ride from the Hotel. We needed to use our rental car to get to places like Ybor City and parks of downtown Tampa, but overall, we were happy with the location.
The food is alright. We ordered an appetizer at the bar one night, and it's nice that they have it right on site if you need a snack. The drinks were delicious and served poolside.
Everyone who worked at the hotel was kind and friendly. The rooms and pool were kept in very clean condition. Our room was spacious, and there was free parking onsite (definitely a value as most of the hotels we looked at charged an astronomical valet parking fee). We had the opportunity to talk to other guests when we were at the pool, and it never felt too crowded. Our room came with a free microwave and mini fridge. There's an A&P about a 3 minute drive down the road. We kept breakfast items and wine in our room to save us some money.
I wish the pool bar had been open on weekdays. We would've loved to hang out there and have a few drinks before heading off to dinner. We also disliked that guests were allowed to smoke at the pool and the pool bar. It seemed like there was always someone smoking.
Overall a great value. We stayed here for a few nights and the Marriott Harborside for a few nights. Two completely different experiences, but because of the value, we'd pick the "homey, family-owned" Tahitian Inn over a large corporate chain. It was worth it.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clermont, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

The hotel was clean and the rooms were large and lovely. We weren't expecting an upscale hotel as the price was very reasonable. Beware of the air conditioning in your room. Ours didn't work and of course it was too hot to sleep. We didn't discover this a/c issue until late that night. The reason I chose this hotel for my husband and I was the location and the "Spa". It was my husbands 50th birthday celebration and as part of his gift I wanted to get him a massage. While the massage its self was wonderful for my husband the "Spa" left much to be desired. It wasn't really a "spa". It was more like a very large walk in closet. The massage professional(s) are not on property. They come when there is an appointment made. We most likely will not be returning to this hotel.

Room Tip: If you want quiet make sure you don't get a room near the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patty T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, Vermont
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

I title this dual purpose hotel as it is almost like two hotels in one! I was booked into a "traditional" room, which was not what I was looking for! This room was great for families with young children, those on a budget...but I was looking for a more upscale place for my adult daughters and me to spend a couple of nights. I was then shown the suites which were exactly what I was looking for!! We had a wonderful, comfortable suite with two bedrooms and enjoyed dining outside by the beautiful, tropical waterfall! The food was absolutely first class delicious (breakfast and dinner) but perhaps the best part of all was Susan, the hostess! She was delightful and made us feel so at home (and had us laughing so hard!!) I have to admit, this visit started out badly as nothing seemed to be what I was looking for and turned out just wonderful!!! I would 100% return here! Only "caution" is decide what experience you are looking for room wise prior to booking. Oh, and Eli at the front desk was amazing!!!

Room Tip: As I said above, decide what your needs are for a room. The rooms not facing the road are probably t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crawford43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

I read a lot of reviews about this place, and to my delight they turned out to be true! Such a cute hotel, large rooms, beautifully decorated… I can't say enough good things about this place. Will definitely come back if I'm in town again. Can't beat the price on top of it all!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Loveinparadise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Really enjoyed my stay. Large, well kept, clean, and nicely decorated rooms. Staff really friendly. Great breakfasts at Tiki Joe's. Location was pretty good, in town for a conference at the convention centre, only a short cab ride away. Lots to do nearby. Will return if I come back to Tampa in future.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
2.7 mi away
The Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Tampa
BEST WESTERN Tampa
#54 of 160 in Tampa
3.5 of 5 stars 308 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Airport Westshore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
InterContinental Hotel Tampa
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn Airport
Quality Inn Airport
#95 of 160 in Tampa
3.5 of 5 stars 206 reviews
4.4 mi away
Bay Harbor Hotel
Bay Harbor Hotel
#78 of 160 in Tampa
3.5 of 5 stars 1,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tahitian Inn Hotel Cafe & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tahitian Inn Hotel Cafe & Spa

Address: 601 South Dale Mabry Hwy, Tampa, FL 33609
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 160 Hotels in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Tahitian Inn Hotel Cafe & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tahitian Inn and Spa is a boutique gem in the heart of South Tampa. Located just minutes from downtown, Raymond James, and Tampa International airport, the legendary Bern's Steakhouse, and SOHO area, University of Tampa, shopping and dining, Tahitian Inn is in the perfect location. With on-site dining and outdoor pool and poolside Tiki-bar, guests enjoy resort-style amenities and an all-inclusive experience. Rooms are interior Executive or exterior Cabana rooms, all have tile floors, microwave, mini-fridge, free wifi, free parking, and with executive Queen rooms add a wet bar, plus jetted tub and balcony upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Tahitian Inn Hotel Cafe & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tahitian Inn Hotel Cafe And Spa
Tahitian Inn Hotel Cafe Tampa
Tahitian Hotel Tampa
Tahitian Inn Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing