We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Nice place to stay before a cruise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tahitian Inn Hotel Cafe & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tahitian Inn Hotel Cafe & Spa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   601 South Dale Mabry Hwy, Tampa, FL 33609   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Affiliate website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Call for Best Rates!
Ranked #85 of 162 Hotels in Tampa
Ormond Beach, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice place to stay before a cruise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

We stayed here before our cruise. The hotel and rooms clean wifi worked great and above all the staff no matter what part of hotel you were in was very friendly. The complimentary shuttle to the port was a plus and the driver was very friendly as well. My husband and I agree we would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms in back quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pammie2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    133
    85
    61
    56
See reviews for
111
136
30
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Corning, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

I was expecting the crew from Hotel Impossible to storm through the front door. I was not impressed with the neighborhood, or the cleanliness of the hotel. There was no one to greet us at the front door, and the front desk staff did not wear uniforms. Our room was "dirty" when we went to check in, so we were unable to complete the check in process (they did offer to stow our bags, though) We went to the cafe. The waitress was fantastic and the food was good, but there was a rough looking man sitting in the bar, and the whole area seemed dingy and in need of repair. We booked a different hotel, gathered our bags and moved on.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maureen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

I came here for my 30th birthday with my boyfriend last weekend and stayed Friday and Saturday. This is my second time staying here in the last 2 years. I love the feel and look of this hotel. My first time i stayed in the motel part, which was not newly renovated and not as nice as the pictures show on the website. This last trip I stayed in the Queen Executive Suite with a balcony and jacuzzi tub in the bathroom. It was gorgeous!! The balcony overlooked the Koi pond down below and it was nice and clean. The only thing I can say bad about this hotel room was that the AC was very noisy and that the TV was a tube type that looked like it was from the 90's. A flat screen would do wonders for these 140$ a night suites. Also, on Friday when we went to eat lunch at the cafe, it took about 15 minutes for someone to acknowledge that we were sitting and waiting for service. That was my first experience at the restaurant. The food was good but the service was so/so. I also wanted to book a spa package but on the website they state the Spa is closed until further notice for renovations so I booked a spa day somewhere else. Upon checking in, they told me the spa was open. They should probably update the website so they don't continue to lose any business. Over all, its a nice hotel that needs a few tweaks to be an excellent hotel.

Room Tip: Room #239 overlooks the Koi Pond, nice view from the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melinda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights (Sun, Mon, Tues) in mid-August. We did not have reservations and chose this hotel based on proximity to our son's apartment. We stopped in and asked to see one of the interior rooms (Executive) in the main building, as we did not want an exterior room. The room was spacious with a kitchenette and roomy bathroom, and it was very clean and fresh. I loved the tropical decor of our room. I see some folks don't like the tile floors, but that didn't bother us. If we had any complaint with the room, it was with the TV. It was some offbrand flat panel with absolutely horrible sound. A king bed would have been preferable to the queen but it was comfortable enough and we slept well. We had breakfast in the hotel restaurant (not complementary) on 2 mornings and it was very good both days, with excellent and friendly service. One other complaint is that one evening after we had fallen asleep sometime after 11 p.m. the fire alarm went off and stayed on for some time. After quickly dressing we stepped out into the hallway and asked the desk clerk what was going on and she said everything was o.k. but offered no explanation. Upon inquiring the next morning on our way out for the day, the desk clerk said they had fogged the restaurant that evening and she guesses it set off the alarm. All in all, it was a good hotel for our purposes on this particular trip. We will probably choose a hotel in downtown Tampa next time though.

Room Tip: If you haven't pre-booked your reservation, ask to look at the room before you book, so there ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

The Tahitian In is a charming boutique hotel conveniently located near MacDill AFB. We love staying there because the hotel not only provides attractive, clean, comfortable rooms, but has pool, restaurant and spa facilities and prices are very affordable,

Room Tip: We prefer rooms in the tower, but the cabana rooms are still clean, well appointed and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

My husband and I stayed there with our two kids for 2 nights to visit Busch Gardens. It was a last minute decision to go and I didn't have much time to search for a hotel. I came across the Tahitian Inn and fell in love with the pictures. I admit that it did look as the pictures showed, but it wasn't what I expected. The room was very clean. I liked that it has tile throughout instead of carpet. Its much cleanser. It was nicely decorated. However, the bed was very uncomfortable! My husband and I kept rolling into the center of a king size bed. It felt like we were on a twin bed. The sofa bed where the kids slept was uncomfortable, too. It also be nice if they replaced the shower head. It was uncomfortable to shower. Very little water came out. The pool was clean and beautifully decorated. It was relaxing. The hotel was about a 20 minute drive to Busch Gardens.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Annie27t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
55 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

First appearance was this is going to b nice stay. Evening clerk was a nice lady and very professional. The morning clerk needs to take lessons from her. I walked into my room and I was impressed. No flat screen but the had HBO. The room had aa very comfortable bed, micro, fridge, blow dryer, iron with board, and nice decor. Then comes the morning. The toilet worked ok but the sink would not drain. I had to take a cold shower. No hot water. There was slim in tub and something sticky on the bathroom floor. You have been warned.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tulmyster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Tampa
BEST WESTERN Tampa
#47 of 162 in Tampa
4.0 of 5 stars 357 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn Airport
Quality Inn Airport
#97 of 162 in Tampa
3.5 of 5 stars 233 reviews
1.7 mi away
Howard Johnson Express Inn & Suites South Tampa Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Veteran's Expressway
2.7 mi away
The Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk
1.5 mi away
Hyde Park Hotel
Hyde Park Hotel
#89 of 162 in Tampa
3.5 of 5 stars 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tahitian Inn Hotel Cafe & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tahitian Inn Hotel Cafe & Spa

Property: Tahitian Inn Hotel Cafe & Spa
Address: 601 South Dale Mabry Hwy, Tampa, FL 33609
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tahitian Inn Hotel Cafe & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tahitian Inn and Spa is a boutique gem in the heart of South Tampa. Located just minutes from downtown, Raymond James, and Tampa International airport, the legendary Bern's Steakhouse, and SOHO area, University of Tampa, shopping and dining, Tahitian Inn is in the perfect location. With on-site dining and outdoor pool and poolside Tiki-bar, guests enjoy resort-style amenities and an all-inclusive experience. Rooms are interior Executive or exterior Cabana rooms, all have tile floors, microwave, mini-fridge, free wifi, free parking, and with executive Queen rooms add a wet bar, plus jetted tub and balcony upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Odigeo, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Tahitian Inn Hotel Cafe & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tahitian Inn Hotel Cafe Tampa
Tahitian Inn Hotel Cafe And Spa
Tahitian Hotel Tampa
Tahitian Inn Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing