We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected Upgrade”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tahitian Inn Hotel Cafe & Spa
Ranked #97 of 164 Hotels in Tampa
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We were picked up from the airport by the hotel shuttle without too long of a wait. We were able to check in before the official check in time and we received an upgrade to a whirlpool suite on the second floor of the main building. The front desk staff was always really nice and helpful. They also scheduled our shuttle to the cruise ship port for the next day during check in.

The room was clean and while not spacious, it was just the right size for two people. The downstairs waterfall could be heard through our window and was VERY relaxing. I would say that the bed was a little hard but we were only there for one night so it wasn't too bad. The walls are thin and at 1:00 AM we could hear the people in the next room moving furniture?!?!)

The bartender at the pool side bar was very nice. (I wouldn't suggest ordering frozen drinks there - they weren't as frozen as you would expect.)

We ate at the restaurant/bar downstairs. We ate out on the patio near the waterfall and koi pond. It was a really great place with GREAT burgers and even better service.

All in all it was a really good experience and if we are ever in Tampa again, we will stay here!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlyskyMomoftwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (544)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

338 - 344 of 545 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2012

I'm a Tampa native and needed a place to stay while my house was being tented, having lived in the area I always pass by and thought I would give it a shot. The staff are very friendly and helpful, hotel is kept clean. The older rooms are close to the pool, so I could understand that it may be noisy if you stay in them. I stayed in the newer part of the hotel and had no issue with noise other than the AC unit that was a little noisy, but not that bad. The room is very spacious and the bed was nice, from what I heard that just got new beds for the hotel. The cafe on the first floor has good food and a full bar, there's also a tiki bar by the pool which is nice and refreshing. The spa is nice with many services to choose from and the massage was one of the best that I have had. An added bonus is that they are pet friendly, with just a small fee to bring your pet. I would stay here again or have my friends and family stay here.

Room Tip: Rooms in newer part of hotel have less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TGRLLY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Noisy party on night of stay. Tried to call manager but noone answered.party went on till after 2am. Very slow service at breakfast, don't get the package including breakfast, very
limited. Appreciated easy parking and friendly hotel staff.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank howthewow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed in the lovely queen suite, as we have before. Great room, balcony, large soaker tub. The pool area is lovely, and the restaurant is very convenient.

Wifi connection is horrible. But once we asked for an ethernet cable, all was fine.

There are a few cosmetic upgrades that really need to be addressed:
The plantation shutters for the sliding glass door are on backwards, no big deal, just looks odd.
There were drips of dried paint from the walls in the bathroom that went down onto the tub tile.
The tub faucet was on crooked.
A flat screen TV really makes more sense for the money you're paying, instead of the bulky 1990's one in the room.

The biggest complaint was have is there was a maintenance man defrosting the fridge in our room when we returned from dinner around 6:30 pm. We had not called the front desk, there was no reason why he should have been there with all our belongings strewn about. He left water all over the floor, which we cleaned up. We informed the man at the front desk, to which he replied, "He shouldn't be doing that now." And that was the end of that.

I will really think twice before booking here again. It just seems like there's always some kind of problem.

Room Tip: If you want a room with a soaker tub, ask. Don't just assume you're getting one with a suit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GertieM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed for a couple of days before our cruise, taking advantage of the free parking and shuttle to the cruise port. We found the rooms to be very comfortable, especially for the low price we paid. The restaurant is adequate, as was the spa. Neither was outstanding, but both were decent values. Where the hotel really stood out, though, was the very helpful staff. It has been a long time since I have encountered such genuinely enthusiastic and helpful people. It's an older hotel, definitely "old Florida," but everything worked, and everything was clean. For the money, a great deal. The location is not picturesque, but it was convenient for picking up last minute things for the cruise. We definitely would stay there's again.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Debbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

This place is like a person with two faces. Parts are updated and could be called "Tahitian". While some parts are old and really need some fixing up. Essentially the common areas are nice, and the rooms are not. The bathroom is dated, and there is no ventilation\heat\air in there. The mattresses are TERRIBLE, rock hard. They have a duvet, but instead of a cover, they have a flat sheet on top and on bottom, so everything slides everywhere. You could hear everything out in the walkways in front of the rooms. At least I didn't hear too much from the other rooms beside us.
The cafe is nice, with a waterfall and coi pond. Quite relaxing. Prices are what you'd expect at a place like this. $10.95 for an omelet with sides. They do not offer any free breakfast for guests. The pool was very large and had a very deep end. There are a bunch of areas for seating, with lounges and chairs, both covered and not. The pool bar has decent prices, $4 for a 16 oz beer. There were a lot of children around the pool, so its not very peaceful. I wish I had brought my music player with ear buds to drown it out. They play XM radio, but they don't always choose the best station. The pool and bar are local friendly, and it seemed almost everyone there was a local.
Overall, this was a decent place. The cafe and pool and bar made up for the room. I will be back (as a local) just for that. I don't think I'd stay overnight here again unless I knew they changed the mattresses.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TampaJules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012 via mobile

Following the strong reccomendation in our guide, we decided to try it. We did not find anything so special, then the staff at the reception: very nice and helpful. The room is quite big but nothing special. There is a swimming pool next to the parking. The hotel is located in a busy street with commercial restaurants. You need the car to go to Tampa's interesting places.


  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peik80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Tampa
Best Western Tampa
#54 of 164 in Tampa
504 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn Airport
Quality Inn Airport
#106 of 164 in Tampa
280 reviews
3.4 mi away
Tampa Stadium Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Bay Harbor Hotel
Bay Harbor Hotel
#40 of 164 in Tampa
1,782 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hyde Park Hotel
Hyde Park Hotel
#119 of 164 in Tampa
81 reviews
6.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Near Fairgrounds Ybor City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tahitian Inn Hotel Cafe & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tahitian Inn Hotel Cafe & Spa

Address: 601 S Dale Mabry Hwy, Tampa, FL 33609-3948
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 164 Hotels in Tampa
Price Range: $83 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tahitian Inn Hotel Cafe & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tahitian Inn and Spa is a boutique gem in the heart of South Tampa. Located just minutes from downtown, Raymond James, and Tampa International airport, the legendary Bern's Steakhouse, and SOHO area, University of Tampa, shopping and dining, Tahitian Inn is in the perfect location. With on-site dining and outdoor pool and poolside Tiki-bar, guests enjoy resort-style amenities and an all-inclusive experience. Rooms are interior Executive or exterior Cabana rooms, all have tile floors, microwave, mini-fridge, free wifi, free parking, and with executive Queen rooms add a wet bar, plus jetted tub and balcony upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tahitian Inn Hotel Cafe & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tahitian Inn Hotel Cafe Tampa
Tahitian Inn Hotel Cafe And Spa
Tahitian Hotel Tampa
Tahitian Inn Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing