We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Best 50 dollar hotel i've been to” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tahitian Inn Hotel Cafe & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Tahitian Inn Hotel Cafe & Spa to your Saves list
Tahitian Inn Hotel Cafe & Spa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   601 South Dale Mabry Hwy, Tampa, FL 33609   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Affiliate website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Call for Best Rates!
Ranked #87 of 161 Hotels in Tampa
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
“Best 50 dollar hotel i've been to”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

As i mention in the title, i payed $50 a night for my stay at the tahitian inn. My boy friend and i stayed in miami for his interview and he was supposed to fly to tampa for another interview and come back and enjoy the beaches at miami. He was looking for a hotel to literally sleep in and since its the height of the cruise season we got a stwo and a half star star hotel for fifty. We weren't excpecting much. Yet when we git there, we were pleasantly surprised! The kitchinette was terrific. There literally was a kitchen with a microwave, sink and a fridge. There was plenty of room to hang clothes, the bed was comfortable and most importantly, it was so clean. I am a very picky person when it comes to bathrooms and i cannot stand dirty bathrooms. Thats why whenever i plan on staying at a hotel more than a day, i get an above 4 star hotel. Also the reason why we stayed at hyatt regency (4*) in miami. The bathroom at tahitian inn was uncomparably clean and roomy compared to our four star hotel. They had standing showers and the the tiles and the crack in between tiles were impeccable. They even had a jacuzzi tub almost comparable to the one in mgm las vegas suite room. It also has an above average restaurant that is moderately priced, beautiful pool, small gym and a complimentary spa experience! I loved the say thoroughly.

The only downside was it was too close to a major street and it was a bit loud bc of the cars. But since its closeto the hotel, its acessible to many restaurants (i love chick fil a chicken biscuit and coffee and this place is literally 15 seconds walking distance from chick fil a!)

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    133
    85
    61
    56
See reviews for
111
136
30
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

I stayed there 12-18 November with friends.
Positives:
- location is central on this main road, 10 min from airport, downtown
- restaurant food is good and not expensive, one of the best porrige breakfast i had, only 4$
- receptionists are super friendly and help with pretty much any question ( we looked for restaurants, poker clubs, gas station with vacuum cleaner, spa, specific shops, changed arrival - leave dates, who stays in which room - and they managed it all with a big smile. Unfortunately forgot their names, there was a lady from Georgia and a gentleman at the evening who came from Egypt orignally).
- it was very quite at the poolside in the evening when we sat there (i was expecting the crazy party-ing from reading the reviews, but it never happened)

Some things to note:
- parking space is tight, but i always found a spot at the front of the property when it was full
- the rooms are more like a motel type, not really resembled the pictures i saw on the website, but nevertheless it was large and bed comfortable
- tv is a bit outdated in room and the picture has an overwhelming red colour in it, good if you like watching everything in a pink fog;-)
- we did not get the rooms in the main building, most rooms are at the back in a modern building
- room next to laundry can be a bit loud, so check with reception where is yours
Overall i recommend it for a stay. Wifi worked perfectly in the room.

Room Tip: Try main building, though i am not sure if you can hear the music from the restaurant bar then so ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Krisztina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenox, MI
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

This is the second time my daughter and I have stayed at this hotel, and again we had a great stay. We have stayed there both times before embarking on cruises from Tampa. They offer a shuttle service to pick you up at the airport and to take you to the cruise port the next day. The rooms are clean and nice and the staff is great. There is a nice restaurant and pool area with bar. It's also within walking distance to other eateries and drug stores for last minute items. We would stay there again when in Tampa.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MIBonJoviFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Charlotte, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

My family lives within 5 miles of the Tahitian and we have been staying here for many years. No more.

Cons: Our room was basicly "windowless". The floors turned our feet black after our shower. I took the towel down to the front desk that we had cleaned our feet. We were told that was "not acceptable". The toliet ran constantly unless you wiggeled the handle. The exposed pipes under the sink were filthey. The beds squeeked when you turn over. The coffee pot fell apart in your hand when trying to make coffee. Equipment ran all night. A/c was very noisey. Fluid leaked under the door in the room next to ours, you had to walk threw the fluid to exit the room. I was afraid of a fire and not being able to exit the windowless room. Did not get any sleep.

We talked with the other couple that also stayed there pre-cruise. They also had no sleep due to condition of the Inn.

Pros: The resturant was outstanding. We used the shuttle and they were efficiant and courtous. We did worry as the van was low on gas. The "low fuel" alarm sounded the whole distance to the port...but we got there!

The Tahitian use to be the Jewel of Tampa Bay. What a shame to see it deterioate so. Other family members will no longer be staying there. Bye Old Friend. To many newer Hotels that value our business are available in the area.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kathie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middleburg, Florida
Level Contributor
59 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

We rented a Suite we were in town for a wedding, This is an older motel that the owners have done major renovations to and added new construction to as well, The suite was huge and only around $110.00 per night. Big clean pool with a tiki bar. The food at the restaurant was really very good. My wife had a massage at the spa and said she enjoyed that very much. This is not a resort, or 5 or even 4 star type of place,but if your going to Bush Gardens of Ybor City or just visiting for a day or two, I think it is a good value. The service was also fine,no problems.

Room Tip: I would recommend staying in the new rooms that have interior access only.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2011

I travel into Tampa on business almost every week and I ended up staying at the Tahitian few times - not really by choice as when you bid on priceline you do not have complete control over the hotel that accepts your bid.

This facility gets rated as a 3 Star. Frankly, it is a separate debate altogether as to how these ratings are actually worked out. The biggest issue I have with this facility is their internet service. It totally totally sucks. As a business traveler for me a decent quality Wifi is a must to get some work done from the hotel. If you have such hopes at Tahitian you better forget it. At each of my visits I was had to change 2 or 3 rooms before I can get even some slow speed wireless connectivity that will make you agree that dial-up connection could be much faster than that!

At times the noise level in the parking lot or in the corridors can get very high either due to some people partying in their rooms or folks visiting the bar at the hotel - but you can't do much about it as its part of the design!

I really did not have much complaints otherwise. My overall experience otherwise while not that terrific to write home about but not again bad either. There isn't any complimentary breakfast - but they boast a cafe that opens at 6am and serves a variety of food. Also, there is no complimentary daily newspaper. Though there is a color television they aren't necessarily LCD and the Channel lineups sucks big time - not much entertainment content. Well, these are some of the areas the hotel falls short which one could expect to get even in a 2 star facilty.

Room Tip: Choose higher level floors and stay in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank magstravel7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011

We did not eat in the restaurant so this review is of the hotel only. First impression was ok. Staff was friendly. The room had a "cold" feel because it had tile floors rather than carpet. They have worked hard trying to upgrade the rooms and have done a decent job. The beds are very comfortable. Water pressure was non-existent. Mini fridge in room came in use several times during our 3 night stay. Pool area was cool, with a tropical feel. The poolside bar was opened during certain hours and they had TV's for the sports fans. All in all the hotel was OK, but if you are used to the Wyndham, Doubletree, Sheraton, you may be dissappointed. We would not book here again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Seneca7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Tampa
BEST WESTERN Tampa
#49 of 161 in Tampa
4.0 of 5 stars 356 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn Airport
Quality Inn Airport
#103 of 161 in Tampa
3.5 of 5 stars 234 reviews
1.7 mi away
Howard Johnson Express Inn & Suites South Tampa Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Veteran's Expressway
2.7 mi away
The Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk
1.5 mi away
Hyde Park Hotel
Hyde Park Hotel
#89 of 161 in Tampa
3.5 of 5 stars 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tahitian Inn Hotel Cafe & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tahitian Inn Hotel Cafe & Spa

Property: Tahitian Inn Hotel Cafe & Spa
Address: 601 South Dale Mabry Hwy, Tampa, FL 33609
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tahitian Inn Hotel Cafe & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tahitian Inn and Spa is a boutique gem in the heart of South Tampa. Located just minutes from downtown, Raymond James, and Tampa International airport, the legendary Bern's Steakhouse, and SOHO area, University of Tampa, shopping and dining, Tahitian Inn is in the perfect location. With on-site dining and outdoor pool and poolside Tiki-bar, guests enjoy resort-style amenities and an all-inclusive experience. Rooms are interior Executive or exterior Cabana rooms, all have tile floors, microwave, mini-fridge, free wifi, free parking, and with executive Queen rooms add a wet bar, plus jetted tub and balcony upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire and Odigeo so you can book your Tahitian Inn Hotel Cafe & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tahitian Inn Hotel Cafe Tampa
Tahitian Inn Hotel Cafe And Spa
Tahitian Hotel Tampa
Tahitian Inn Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing