We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Rooms; Awkward Breakfast, Elevators by Molasses Inc.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Airport Westshore

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Airport Westshore to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Airport Westshore
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5312 Avion Park Drive, Tampa, FL 33607   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Cruise Transportation
Ranked #6 of 160 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Washington DC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Rooms; Awkward Breakfast, Elevators by Molasses Inc.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Rooms were great, clean and what you'd expect in a mid-range hotel. No porn peeking out from under the bed, which is a plus for an airport hotel. Taking the elevator is an exercise in patience. Irritatingly slow. A hotel maid with her laundry cart and I taught each other our native languages during the ride between the first and fifth floors. Breakfast was odd. It's not entirely intuitive how you go about getting your breakfast. You see a host/hostess podium, but nobody is at it. For future reference, the way you proceed is to just grab a table, then stand around the buffet area looking confused until someone helps you. The breakfast meal and evening cookies rocked, so that kind of offsets the confusion. I still recommend this hotel; just know the quirks in advance.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FrequentFlier1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd K, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Airport Westshore, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
FrequentFlier1973,
Thank you for choosing the Hilton Garden Inn Tampa. I appreciate your feedback. I am thrilled that you enjoyed the breakfast meal and our freshly baked cookies! I am disappointed that our F&B team was not able to provide you with the level of service that we train them on. We have added some new servers and we are working with them daily. I can assure you that we will communicate your feedback immediately. Again, thank you for your feedback and we hope you can visit us again in the future.

Safe Travels,
Todd Kinney
General Manager
(813)289-2700
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Havre de Grace, Maryland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

I was looking for a clean, reasonably priced hotel near Tampa Airport. I was driving around the area and came across this Hilton Gardens. I was pleasantly surpised at how beautiful, clean and friendly this hotel was. I would stay there again in a hearbeat.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Chrissie1211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd K, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Airport Westshore, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Traveler,
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about your visit to the Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Airport. I am glad that you found our hotel to meet your needs. On behalf of the entire staff, we hope to see you back here again in the future. Safe travels.

Todd Kinney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Blanc, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Cockroaches!
Before I go on to the negative part(s) of my stay I want to say there were definitely some positive things worth mentioning. First, most of the staff was nice (and apologetic..keep reading). The food was good. The hotel is located nearby two malls and has a handy shuttle to take you to either (and to/from airport). The pool and gym were nice--albeit a bit small. These were all the things that made me choose the Hilton Garden Inn.
That being said, if I return to Tampa, I will not be returning to this hotel. The second night of my stay my travel buddy and I were watching tv and VERY surprisingly interrupted by the presence of a cockroach on the nightstand. A nice woman from housekeeping kindly came up and killed it and we were moved to a different room...right next door. She told us she had never seen a cockroach in the three years she worked there (and it was late) so we did not argue.
We checked for bugs, didn't find anything and went to bed. Woke up with another cockroach on the bathroom floor. (We both scoured our luggage before moving so it didn't hitch a ride..) This time we demanded a room far away (note: this occurred on the second floor) and were given a junior suite on the fourth floor. No issues there, our last night. We received a free breakfast and were comp-ed for one night..
There were a couple of other things we were disappointed with (e.g. weird smell in rooms, they didn't serve lunch on Saturdays?..) but the cockroach issue definitely worsened our trip big time. We were only in Tampa for three nights and had to unpack, inspect, pack and move all of our stuff twice.
We were told they would be contacting pest control so hopefully they will get rid of the problem..

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank K L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd K, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Airport Westshore, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about your recent visit to our hotel. I apologize you were not completely satisfied with your visit and assure you that we take your comments very seriously. When you informed us of your incident, we contacted our pest elimination company, who came on site immediately and confirmed that this was an isolated case. All rooms in the entire hotel are treated on routine basis by a nationally recognized company. In fact we have not had one incident such as yours in the four years that we have been open. Again, Thank you for your feedback and if you have any specific comments, feel free to contact me directly at(813)289-2700.

Todd Kinney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
411 reviews
194 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 501 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We stayed one night: 5 April 2013. When we arrived, I said to the lady at the front desk that we were in Room 724 in January, and she had this look of amazement on her face because she said she had assigned us to that room about an hour prior without knowing that we had stayed once before! She offered us water unlike the last time when we had key problems and were offered water only after the first return to the lobby and then 2 drink coupons on the second return. I mentioned that we had also received drink coupons last time, but she didn’t react so no drinks. The keys worked on the first attempt, and the outlet in the lamps by the bed also worked flawlessly this time so that was an improvement. The only issue not involving staff was the parking this time. The spaces next to the hotel (and to the Homewood Suites) filled up quickly. I even noticed people had parked on the grass the next morning, but we parked in the garage on the 2nd floor by the stairs. The car had no damage, and all was fine so no problems. Friday’s day of no negatives turned into “Ignore mode” staff on Saturday. We awoke Saturday morning and headed down for our free breakfast. We had to wait several minutes to be seated because all 3 servers were no where to be seen, and the young man who sat us finally emerged from the back. He seemed to be attending his tables but not ours, and the two women were doing very little besides wiping tables and hiding in the back. I had to get my own coffee and place my egg orders with the chef and then pick them up as well. After 10 minutes to finally get a glass of ice water, which is not available self service as far as I could tell, I had to stare down one of the women and still, she didn’t bring it so I had to get up and go remind her 5 minutes later before I finally got water. She didn’t acknowledge my friend so he got no water or any other service from her. No check was brought so we just left the coupon on the table with $1, which really was for the chef and not the wait staff who did very little. There weren’t that many people eating so they were just not doing their job! When it was time to check out, the woman at the front desk was preoccupied even as I stood in “Hilton Honors” line since I’m Gold so I just put the two key cards on the desk. She said nothing and made no gesture so I hope she eventually checked us out correctly. The “on-line” receipt looks ok. After my comment in my last review about the “friendliest front desk teams”, I have to say that I was very disappointed in the person there on Saturday morning. Even when we walked by after breakfast and no one else was at the desk, she had her head down and didn’t smile, say hello, or kiss my grits. I am probably going to cancel my November reservation and stay closer to downtown even if it costs a few $ more.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BerlinG-ParisF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd K, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Airport Westshore, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear DisneyParis, Thank you again for taking the time to post your comments about your return visit to our hotel. I am glad you had a pleasant stay overall, however we are sorry to hear that you did not receive the level of service that you have in the past in our restaurant. We will be sure to share with our Food & Beverage team. Your comments will allow us to role play with our new servers and ensure that they are being more attentive to our guest.

Should your travels bring you back to Tampa, feel free to contact me directly and I will ensure your experience is exceptional. Again, thank you for your feedback.

Safe Travels,
Todd Kinney
General Manager
(813)289-2700
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, ME
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Clean, well maintained room. Very helpful staff. Room was spacious and well furnished. Excellent attention to detail. First time in a while where I have stayed at a Hilton property and television was set up to surf quickly without hanging between channels. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BizTraveler4000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd K, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Airport Westshore, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Jbroder, I would like to say thank you for taking the time to post your comments about your recent experience to our hotel this month. I am pleased that you had an enjoyable stay and that you found everything to be in order. We hope you have the opportunity to visit us again in the future.

Safe Travels,
Todd Kinney
General Manager
(813)289-2700
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden, CO
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

I was so impressed with this hotel. Not only is it just a few short minutes to the airport, but the hotel itself is very nice. Beautiful hotel inside, nice rooms, restaurant, pool and hot tub area. The breakfast buffet was good, especially for the cost. They also have a a large store/pantry area where you can purchase items 24 hours such as pints of ice cream or microwavable sandwiches for a late night snack. What stood out to me the most was the staff at this hotel and how professional, attentive, and kind they were. After checking in and arriving at our room, they called to make sure that everything was ok in the room. They were very helpful in recommending good restaurants int the area and the wait staff in the restaurant were very kind and attentive as well. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GoldenHiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd K, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Airport Westshore, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear GoldenHIker,

Thank you for the positive review. We appreciate you taking the time to share your recent experience with other travelers. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed all aspects of the hotel and our amenities. Our staff will be thrilled to read about how they impacted your stay. We hope you have the opportunity to visit us again in the future. Safe Travels!

Todd Kinney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Grove, Illinois
Level Contributor
71 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Stayed at this hotel right next to Tampa International Airport. Hotel looks new, aesthetically pleasing, great shape, interior and exterior. A really nice location, aside from the proximity to the airport, it's close to a major shopping mall.

You can hear airplanes fly over every now and then, but you should expect that when you are booking a hotel right next to a major airport. However, the soundproofing was very good, minimal noise.

I would definitely recommend this. the staff at the front desk and at hotel were extremely service oriented, and had the well being of the customer in mind!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mike m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd K, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Airport Westshore, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Dear Mike M & Family, Thank you for taking the time to post your review about our hotel to other potential travelers. We hope you enjoyed your cruise as much as you enjoyed our hotel. You are correct about our soundproofing. When the hotel was built in 2008, they added double insulated windows to eliminate the sound from the airplanes. Works like a charm! We hope to see you and your family again in the future.

Safe Travels,
Todd Kinney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
15.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites New Tampa I-75 Bruce B. Downs
0.1 mi away
Homewood Suites Tampa Airport - Westshore
12.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa - North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza
1.6 mi away
Marriott Tampa Airport
Marriott Tampa Airport
#10 of 160 in Tampa
4.5 of 5 stars 900 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Tampa International Airport / Westshore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Airport Westshore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Airport Westshore

Address: 5312 Avion Park Drive, Tampa, FL 33607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#4 Business Hotel in Tampa
#4 Family Hotel in Tampa
#10 Green Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Airport Westshore 3*
Number of rooms: 171
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Airport Westshore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Airport Westshore Hotel Tampa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing