We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“The stadium that time forgot” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Raymond James Stadium

Raymond James Stadium
Book In Advance
$24.99*
and up
Tampa Trolley City Tour
Ranked #15 of 187 things to do in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
201 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“The stadium that time forgot”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

Even though this is a relatively new stadium, it lacks any amenities of even smaller college venues. The seating cramp and hard, with some areas baking in the sun for the entire event. The restrooms are a mess with frequent long waits. The staff are rude and cannot give proper directions within the stadium (most staffers are just the usual $4/hour hired bodies that have no ties to the stadium or team). Parking is a series of grass lots and broken pavement. The overpriced lots fill up quickly, and you will end up paying $30 to park in someone's yard. There are no restaurants or pubs with the area, so you might as well go into the stadium when you arrive. The tailgate facilities are terrible as they jam the cars together and do not provide adequate restrooms.
In short, this stadium is just a money maker for the team owner and does nothing for the community. Even the high cost luxury skyboxes are cheap with bad food. If you want to bake in the Florida sun while drinking outdated beer, then you will feel right at home. Personally, I will drive the extra distance to Tropicana Field, where I can enjoy sports in a real venue.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank George N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

721 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    361
    232
    93
    26
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Olive Branch, Mississippi
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“First Bucs game”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

Awesome stadium!! Don't think there is a bad seat in the place. Can't wait to come back next year. Now, if only I can manage to find out how to get seats on the ship??

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank clcarder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Land O Lakes, Florida
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“good place to see sports”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

First the Good. This is a fine stadium to see a sporting event. Not many bad seats and lower sections right up close to the action. By keeping concourses and tunnels inside, there is no obstruction of people walking by. The Employees were generally very knowledgeable and helpful, which is a rare thing at Florida sports venues. Traffic was kept moving so getting in and out of the stadium was not as difficult as one might think. The Stadium has a great theme, is clean and well maintained. It offers plenty of shaded areas inside the concourse, but these areas have very limited tv broadcasts of the game or event in progress.
Now the bad. The Food /vending is awful, among the worst I have found in any venue. Choices of items are very limited, and have decreased substantially since the new vending group started (Aramark) remains one of the poorer stadium vendors around. Employees(volunteers) are not knowledgeable about products they sell, and no allergy information is available (such as use of peanut oil, or the substance in which the popcorn is cooked. No Allergy information is posted anywhere. Food variety has dwindled from fair to poor. My suggestion would be to eat BEFORE coming to a game and do not try to eat at this venue.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank reygato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fort lauderdale, fl
Level Contributor
62 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Great Stadium experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

We recently attended "USF Family weekend/UM game". This was a college game held in a NFL stadium, so I expected it to be kind of dirty and old, like other NFL stadiums I've visited (Baltimore, Miami, etc.). Not the case at all...this stadium is beautiful and there is not a bad seat in the house! We entered through Gate A, which I highly recommend if it is your first visit, regardless of where your seat is located. This is because once you take the elevator up a level from the Gate A entrance, you enter into the Pirate Ship area and the "town" façade that is on the concessions near the Pirate Ship makes it feel like you are in "Disney"! Fun! I found the restrooms to be EXTEMELY clean and well-kept, quite unusual for a venue such as this on a hot day in the 90's. I did not get to see the club level, or the finer dining or upscale bar areas, so I cannot report on that. We had seats in the "corner", Section 217, which I felt might be "lesser seats" but the location and the view was fantastic. Getting around the stadium is easy, the concessions were well stocked and the employees were friendly and efficient. It was a great day out! I can see why other reviewers who have visited many other NFL stadiums have called this "one of the nicest NFL stadiums".

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank mamamooch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
406 reviews
118 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Annoyed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

Nice enough stadium but COMPLETELY ticked off by the double standard on bag policy practiced at this stadium. The same small bag I have carried into Sunlife Stadium more than once since the bag policy was extended to college games was refused at Raymond James. So aside from having to go back to car and carry my things in a baggie, I then saw others being admitted with bags no smaller than mine--adding insult to injury. If its an "NFL rule", should it not be consistent across the NFL venues? So irritated not likely to purchase tickets for an away game or anything at this stadium

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank MrsH0dges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Raymond James Stadium also viewed

 

Been to Raymond James Stadium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing