We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun but not supported by locals?” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Raymond James Stadium

Raymond James Stadium
Ranked #18 of 195 things to do in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
South Korea
Level Contributor
141 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Fun but not supported by locals?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

It's a shame the locals don't help to sell out the games and get this team a packed statium and on TV. Apparently it's been a problem for quite a while now. We had a great time at the stadium to watch my Redskins get a great road win, and while we were surrounded by equal amounts of away and home Bucs fans, everyone for the most part was in good spirits and collectively enjoying the experience. There were the occasional idiots who think you are personally insulting them after their team loses, but hey, you get that everywhere with sports. Moderately priced (stadium prices so you know what to expect) drinks, snacks, and beer at plenty of locations all around the stadium. Expect the sun to have no mercy on you if you are there in warmer times on a sunny day. We'll be back because I'm sure there will always be plenty of seats available. Go Skins!!!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank dragonOL2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

791 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    392
    252
    103
    33
    11
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
122 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Club level is nice, but no directions”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

Our first game in Tampa Bay. Once we entered the stadium, we could find no signs directing you to the Club level. Instead, we followed the crowd up the escalator. We asked several employees for help, yet none of them knew the location of the Club level entrance.

We walked into the stands, and found our section. Though there was no impediment, yet the steward told us we could not enter that way. After more confusion, dead ends, climbing four levels of ramps, we found the entrance to the Club level and went to our seats. To our amazement we were less than 15 feet away from the steward that told us we could not enter the section.

I have been to another stadium club level and this experience fell short of that, because the stadium signage and employee knowledge of the stadium needs improvement.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank TLCJJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Level Contributor
303 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Great place to see a football game”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

Ray Jay is a great place to see a football game; it has ample parking, it is located close to a lot of shopping areas and restaurants, it has great seating and the pirate ship, and its just enjoyable to be in (especially when the home team is winning). My one bone to pick with them is, in the littany of food options, there is not a lot of healthy ones, in the otherwise health conscious Florida surrounding. A few more stands with, say tacos, seafood choices, salads, wraps, would probably increase the business of the food vendors. I know the ballpark standbys are and will continue to be the foods that you can pair and wash down with a beer, but this could prove to be pretty awesome, and will increase the choices for sure.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mali_Urke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
159 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“GO BUCCANEERS GO!!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

Six of us had great seatss on the 30 yard line, 15 rows up from the field and what a great way to spend the afternoon. Four of us had never been to an NFL came before, and wow, what a great time we had. If your never been...GO. There is always so much going on and the atmosphere I jus Electric. The crowd is awesome and the fact that the Buccaneers won was just icing on the cake. Between planes flying overhead, flags the size of the pitch, fireworks, smoke bombs, cannon fire and pirates not to mention the fact that we were there on November 11th (memorial day) and wow the scene was totally over the top. Great time was had by all. Definetely will be coming again.
,

Helpful?
1 Thank Bonitabeach33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“USF night game”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

We went to a USF night game against UConn at a time when neither team had an in-conference win, so attendance was at a real minimum (they hadn't opened the upper tiers and the rest was less than half full). Because it was so quiet, parking was a doddle (though there wasn't much by way of "organised" events for casual fans in the tailgate), and inside the ground you could pretty much sit where you like. All the seats are pretty comfortable, and there is a wide variety of choice in the concession stands. The pirate ship and village behind the goal is pretty cool, but I felt it actually makes the stadium feel less about the football and more about the experience (which is kinda the wrong way round). I'm sure it's different for Bucs games, but for the Bulls the atmosphere was pretty weak.

Helpful?
Thank Thorpeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Raymond James Stadium also viewed

 

Been to Raymond James Stadium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing