We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“.....and peanuts too!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cody's Original Roadhouse

Cody's Original Roadhouse
Ranked #297 of 2,356 Restaurants in Tampa
Cuisines: American, Bar, Steakhouse, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Lombard, Illinois
Level Contributor
94 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“.....and peanuts too!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014

What a cute place. Just a big open dining room with rustic tables, buckets of peanuts and tons of good food on the enormous menu!
Something for everyone from fish to burgers to kids meals, large quantities and big beverages!
Friendly, casual service and plenty to go with the peanuts! Everyone can come as you are and enjoy the atmosphere near the causeway. A good Florida roadhouse!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sharon455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    26
    11
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great steaks and delicious house salad!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

Whenever we are in Tampa we make sure to stop in for a meal. Cody's house dressing, a buttermilk ranch, is the best I've had (I am not a ranch dressing fan usually). The steak is always cooked perfectly and the ribs are fall off the bone tender with a great sauce. An upbeat staff and a relaxed atmosphere help us unwind after a long day.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank becki4881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
51 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Ok, not impressed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Was not as happy after the visit as we thought we would be prior to the visit. To us it was a chain restaurant food menu. Limited beer since issues with taps. Ummmm this is a roadhouse right? Not going to rush back it's about the same as Logan's or Texas Steakhouse.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Dan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Harbor, Florida
Level Contributor
739 reviews
545 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“Started well and ended poorly”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

Sat on patio for our first visit to Cody's. The waiter finally came around and we thought great, Jason had a good personality, recommended that we order the beer by the glass instead of pitcher. Ordered a medium burger with hot and crispy fries. After a longer than normal wait the burger came. It was well done, well done, the fries hot but not crispy. Asked for ketchup and mustard and Jason said they only give me 2 condiment set ups for 8 tables. I was thinking poor management. After a second request for mustard and to give us a ketchup that wasn't empty we started in on the burger. Oh did I say it was well done. Jason did not ask about the burger and didn't come back until we were finished. Jason brought the check and it was incorrect. The beers were priced incorrectly. He explained it as the table was still open in the system so he had to add a different table number in to get us our drinks. Either way, the final story is the service started out good and went down hill. The food was so so. The beer was cold. Would I go back, only for the free peanuts.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank smiller560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, GA
Level Contributor
173 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“It was okay.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

2-4-1 fajitas was the draw, which were okay, but no peppers or seasoning made the chef appear to be an amateur. My server was sweet and very accommodating. I like the atmosphere and the peanuts where you can toss the shells on the floor. What's with all the smokers congregating right by the front door - FAIL! While I would not run back I wouldn't scratch it off the list either.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AtlFolks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cody's Original Roadhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing