We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (881)
Filter reviews
881 results
Traveler rating
378
288
124
50
41
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
378
288
124
50
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviews olive garden busch gardens red lobster the shuttle driver front desk theme park bush gardens pancake machine adventure island free shuttle free breakfast yogurt parking fee beds were very comfortable booked this hotel fridge and microwave would stay here again
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 881 reviews
Reviewed June 3, 2019

We booked two nights here for a trip to Busch Gardens. The hotel is located not far off I-275 and just across the street from the park. Check in was easy and the staff is really friendly. The room cleaners were even very friendly.

The rooms are updated and the beds are comfortable. They have Keurigs in each room for coffee. There is also a fridge and microwave. The hotel is very quiet. We never heard any noise from outside traffic or doors opening and closing.

We stayed on the 2nd floor and for some reason it smelled like fried fish in the hallways. Weird?

They have the most amazing free breakfast that i have ever eaten at a hotel. They have two meats, two types of eggs, biscuits and gravy. Pastries, yogurt, milk, donuts and really good Cinnamon Rolls. They have a automatic Pancake maker. That was really cool. There is free coffee in the lobby all day.

The coolest part is the transportation to and from Busch Gardens. The driver is friendly and offers money saving tips on the park and surrounding area. He is quick to pick you up. Just call the hotel and the driver will be there in a few minutes. He also gives you free waters after a hot day in the park. This hotel has a gem in this driver.

After a long day you can sit by the pool and watch the fireworks from Busch Gardens.

Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank PatrickC760
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2019

Dear PatrickC760,

Thank you very much for this great review, the team really appreciates it! It sounds like you had a great time at Busch Gardens and our complimentary shuttle is the icing on the cake.
We are in the midst of renovations on the guest rooms, so it's great to know you weren't bothered by the noise.
The pancake maker is always a big hit and the pancakes are yummy, but the real gem is our signature cinnamon rolls, so delicious! No better way to the day, along with a friendly smile from the staff. Thank you very much for mentioning them and I'll be sure to post this for them to see, they'll love knowing they helped exceed your expectations.
Thanks again, we hope to see you again soon!
Kathy Shue, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2019

Stay away from this dump, elevator failed between floor 2 and 3. and no fix.CHEAP CHEAP DIRTY DUMP. Look like motel in Central America. Most of all they charge deposit which was NOT returned $50 ripoff. Crooked motel I have ever seen..I will turn this dump into CEO OF HOLIDAY INN.There 4 star rating are fat lie.

Room tip: Stay away its dirty dump and deposit $50 which not returned ripoff
Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Quentin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2019

Hello Quentin P,

Thanks for staying with us and writing us a review. I am sorry to see that there were issues with the elevator and room cleanliness and deposit charge which was not returned. We certainly don't want this for you or any of our guests. But don't stress yourself out as I've already looped in the hotel about your feedback. This will surely enable them to step up their game and address these issues to avoid recurrence. I have also sent you a private message to gather more details about your son's experience.

We promise a better stay next time, so I hope you give us another try. Thank you again for choosing to stay with us!

Best regards,

Dianne L.
Case Manager
IHGService

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2019 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights, our room was clean and comfortable. The hotel is being renovated so parking is a bit harder with that going on but other than that the renovations didn’t interrupt our stay at all. The hotel has a small shop with drinks and snacks, as well as being close to some restaurants and fast food. It is very close to busch gardens and adventure island.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank StaceyandDanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2019

I would like to say that I walked into this hotel without a reservation after a 10 hour drive and was greeted with professional, friendly staff. I had a reservation at another hotel about 5-10 miles away and didn't like the cleanliness and location. This hotel is wonderful you are 1/2 mile from the entrance of Busch Gardens and they have free transportation. Dwayne is the transportation driver and he is very friendly and is always looking forward to bringing you and picking you up from Busch Gardens. Stephanie recommended Miguels a local Mexican Restaurant to us which was some of the best Mexican food I have eaten. I will definetaly stay at this hotel again if I ever visit Busch Gardens. Karen Mire 5-16-2019

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mmmdlfgjdfkgkhhhfd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2019

Dear mmmdlfgjdfkgkhhhfd,
We're so glad you stayed with us and that we exceeded your expectations, thank you very much for reviewing the hotel and staff!
Our team takes great pride in making sure you feel welcomed and comfortable and we have a lot of fun doing it. Dwayne and Stefanie are, indeed, valuable assets and they will appreciate your very nice words.
I hope we see you again soon, our guest room renovations will be done this summer and you'll get a whole "new" experience; thank you again!
Sincerely,
Kathy Shue, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2019

Welcome to the Busch Gardens, Tampa area. This Holiday Inn Express & Suites offers a close and easy way to get to the park if that’s your thing. Overall it was a typical mid-range hotel stay, but in the end we would not likely choose this spot again.

In town for my birthday weekend we picked this hotel for location and price. It was one of the best prices in the area. However, we were not heading to Busch Gardens, but rather Zoo Tampa at Lowry Park and a couple other spots. Had we been in town for the theme park this would have been a great spot; it’s across the street. The main entrance is around the corner, so you don’t have that traffic to consider. From our room near the back we could easily see the highest coasters, but fear not, never heard a peep as far as park sounds (like screaming or ride noise).

Overall it’s a typical Holiday Inn Express, but felt, older… 
No idea it’s age, but age was showing. Everything just felt… like it really needs an update. In fact, my better half spotted a board indicating a renovation is on the near horizon (something to consider asking about, just in case). It’s more than due.

The beds were comfortable, the room clean, but… that age thing. Like a TV that was really small and non-flat screen; not in keeping with today’s room expectations. A room chair that we didn’t sit on nor put things on, and other furniture throughout all felt… older. And we just weren’t sure…

We always check rooms for bedbugs before bringing in our bags (as trained by a friend who used to work for a company that got rid of them for hotels). Our room proved clean. Again, cleanliness wasn’t the overall issue (minus a few hairs from a previous guest hanging out on the bathroom wall, behind the door.

The room overall was huge. The entry way: huge. The bedroom area: huge. The bathroom: huge.

Our bed was comfortable, the sheets clean and fresh, and the space more than enough.

The main issue here was a set of wires under the AC unit that stick out without some being attached to anything (cannot be sure, but seemed like exposed wires). I almost got my foot wrapped in them when looking out the window. Additionally, the AC was loud, but not pumping a whole lot of cold air for most of the visit. Overnight it finally, suddenly dropped to cold around 3 am and really cooled things down on night one of the 2 night visit, but then back to its labored cool.

The bathroom was well laid out with everything we needed. Extra items for things you forget where offered. Plenty of towels. I’d say (aside from the hairs that stayed our whole visit) the only issue was what most hotels don’t have: enough hooks or hanging places on the walls. We didn’t end up needing them this time (we didn’t end up swimming) but if we had, the suits would have ended up in the shower.

There is a pool (looked nice, but didn’t use), an eating area up front across from the check in, and … well, we didn’t look for anything else this visit. The breakfasts were also typical, with nothing special. Again, even this needed updating for today’s traveler.

One good option for Busch Gardens visitors: a free shuttle. You can park at the hotel and then get over there without your car. 

Staff was friendly and polite. No complaints there.

The location does set you right across from the park, but overall, a little, strange for much of Florida travel. Unlike the Walt Disney World area (and other tourist areas) with endless choices of hotels, shops, and restaurants, this area feels far more local-focused. There are a handful of chain restaurants along the road out front, some you can easily walk to, but overall it is gas stations, tire shops, and other businesses focused on locals. Within a short drive you’ll find more hotels, restaurants, and locations in place more for students at the University of South Florida (on the other end of the park in essence) so there are more options. As far as we saw, nothing for shopping in the range of souvenirs or the like. This is not a tourism hot spot.

If you’re in the area for the theme park this location could be a great option. If you’re looking at other tourist options in the area, maybe look closer to those. For Zoo Tampa at Lowry Park we had an easy drive, but I think we’d stay closer next time, or even over at the Gulf and come back. In the end, I don’t believe we would stay here again.

For kids: The theme park is across the street, there is a pool, and there is the breakfast. There were several children we saw while staying there and all seemed entertained. We were never bothered by noise, so other visitors shouldn’t have an issue.

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoriTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2019

Hi RoriTravel,

Thank you for staying and writing a very detailed review with shared photos online. It's such a pleasure knowing we were able to provide you with a spacious room with amenities that made your travel that much more comfortable. On the other hand, I understand we were not able to exceed your expectations, and I am sorry for any inconvenience you had with the overall condition of the room, the size of the TV, and cleanliness of the bathroom.

I will make sure that our team will be more dedicated to paying closer attention to all our guests' needs and requests to ensure a more enjoyable visit. We take the confidence you place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Tracy V.
Case Manager
IHGService

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews