We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great service and location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens
Ranked #41 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great service and location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2009

This hotel is new. Opened in October 2008. The hotel is Close to Busch Gardens and the Yuengling Brewery. There are many restaurants in close proximity that are in walking distance. Denny's next door gives hotel guest 20% with the key card. Beware of the neighborhood, it is not the best. The hotel provides a shuttle to Busch Gardens but the van can only hold 10 passengers and they only offer the shuttle departure at 9, 9:30 and 10am. And then the shuttle leaves the park at 5pm to return to the hotel.

The rooms are new and modern with plenty of space. There are flat screen HD televisions, microwave and refrigerator. The breakfast is good. I suggest getting to breakfast early to beat the rush on weekends. Breakfast is from 6-9:30am As you can imagine this hotel is frequented by families so there are a lot of noisy disrespectful kids running all over the place. The pool is supposedly heated at 82 degrees. It felt more like 65.

The staff is great, they are more than glad to answer any questions you have. They are top notch.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank N0BODY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnExpressBG, Sales Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens, responded to this review, July 19, 2009
It was great to hear of your impressions and experiences while our guest at Holiday Inn Express – Tampa, USF/Busch Gardens. We strive to provide a comfortable and relaxing accommodation for our guests, and further, want to ensure an enjoyable experience through our hospitality.

It was a pleasure having you last month..we look forward to seeing you and serving you on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

689 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    307
    226
    92
    37
    27
See reviews for
386
163
17
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2009

My wife and I and our 8-year old daughter ended our vacation in Florida by going to Busch Gardens after a week at Disney. We stayed at a "value" resort at Disney, and while we had adequate accommodations there, the rooms at the Holiday Inn Express were absolutely luxurious in comparison (although we did not get any Mickey shaped towels when we got back to our room). As stated before this is a brand new property and you can tell. We stayed Fri-Sat March 6th and 7th in a 2 queen bed room- the room was very well appointed (microwave, refrigerator, flat screen TV, coffeemaker), with a decent size bathroom. The high ceilings were a very welcome perk after feeling somewhat cramped all week at the Disney resort. The pool was nice and clean and in the sun. You can see the Busch Gardens roller coasters across the street from the hotel.

The staff that we dealt with, the evening/night shift front desk and the driver for the Busch Gardens shuttle were very helpful, especially when I needed to get directions and information on the area we were in, and Busch Gardens info. The free breakfast was a great perk, and even though the front area with all the tables was packed, I appreciated being told by one of the staff that a meeting room was set up around the corner for breakfast patrons to use.

If I have to offer any criticism, it would be that the noise level got high at times late at night with loud conversations etc- our room was on the first floor just down the hall from the front desk (there was some kind of gathering/party in the meeting room on Saturday night). However I would think this could be avoided simply by requesting a room on the 2nd or 3rd floor or towards the back of the hotel. Also, extending the Busch Gardens shuttle pickup time to the actual time that the park closes.

Overall, we greatly enjoyed our brief stay and would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Tampa for Busch Gardens.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ramblinwreck1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnExpressBG, Sales Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens, responded to this review, July 19, 2009
Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions and experience while our guest at Holiday Inn Express – Tampa, USF/Busch Gardens. We strive to provide a comfortable and relaxing accommodation for our guests, and further, want to ensure an enjoyable experience through our hospitality.

I have addressed your experience with our staff to ensure a better, more consistent experience in the future, and apologize for any negative impression you have received. We have made many changes and can assure to you a fantastic stay. Please feel free to contact us directly for any future reservations...

Hopefully we will have the opportunity to entertain you for a longer stay next time, so that you may enjoy all the excitement Tampa has to offer.

We look forward to seeing you and serving you on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2009

Went with my two teenage children to Tampa, for a trip to Busch Gardens and swimming with manatees. Stayed at the Holiday Inn Express, right next to Busch Gardens. Has to be a brand new hotel. Carpets, bathrooms, furnishings very nice and modern. As for the Rooms, the best of any holiday inn i've ever stayed in. Excellent Staff. My children enjoyed the breakfast and pool. Wifi was super-fast, able to get work done!
Was able to take their hotel shuttle to the park, great savings on parking :) Hotel is right off the highway, easy for us to find from the airport and downtown. Already booked there again for a 3 day business meeting in May! Absolutely Recommend!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelman1020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2009

drove past the entrance to busch and this hotel was on the opposite side just after the end of the grounds.the staff told us it had opened in oct.2009.you could tell, it even the faint smell from the new carpets and furniture .
the staff were very friendly ,the free breakfast was very substantial with eggs ,bacon,cereal,toast,cakes and lots of drinks.
we checked out the queen bedroom,the king bedroom and the king suite which included a small sitting area,all were well kitted out with lovely decor.
you are only a couple of miles from the 275 freeway which helped when getting on the main route out of tampa.
lovely hotel,nice pool if a little small but with a large sitting area.

  • Liked — position,decor and staff
  • Disliked — nothing,liked everything
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank scouser222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnExpressBG, Sales Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens, responded to this review, February 23, 2009
It was great to hear of your impressions and experience while visiting us at Holiday Inn Express & Suites, Tampa USF/Busch Gardens. We strive to provide a comfortable and relaxing accommodation for our guests, and further, want to ensure an enjoyable experience through our hospitality.

We look forward to seeing you and serving you on your next visit!

Sincerely,
Angela Bristol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
1.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Busch Gardens
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Tampa North - Busch Gardens
4.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa - North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites New Tampa I-75 Bruce B. Downs
0.9 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Tampa Near Busch Gardens
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn Tampa Near Busch Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens

Property: Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens
Address: 2807 E Busch Blvd, Tampa, FL 33612-8729
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens 2.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Brand New Holiday Inn Express & Suites is adjacent to Busch Gardens / Adventure Island and is the closest hotel to the University of South Florida and University Community Health Hospital. Enjoy a comfortable stay at the new Holiday Inn in Tampa, a preferred hotel of Busch Gardens, located within walking distance of the hotel. Your family will love staying at our Florida Green Lodging designated hotel in Tampa. We're located just off I-275, directly across the street from Busch Gardens and just a mile away from USF and University Community Health Hospital. Located in the heart of Tampa, we are in close proximity to several other local attractions, including Lowry Park Zoo, Port of Tampa, Florida Aquarium, and the Museum of Science and Industry. Business travelers will appreciate the amenities and services provided at our hotel too! Our Green Lodging hotel is in close proximity to many area businesses, such as Syniverse, Verizon Information Technologies, USAA and the Anheuser-Busch and the Yuengling Breweries. In addition, we provide meeting space that can accommodate up to 60 people with free wireless Internet access. While staying at our tropically landscaped Tampa hotel, you can enjoy our premium amenities, including an outdoor swimming pool, a 24-hour fitness center, and complimentary, hot breakfast bar. Book your reservations now to take advantage of our great Tampa, FL hotel room deals and rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa Usf-Busch Gardens Hotel Tampa
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Tampa Usf-Busch Gardens
Holiday Inn Express Tampa
Holiday Inn Tampa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing