We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our stay at this Holiday Inn” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens
Ranked #44 of 161 Hotels in Tampa
Sooke
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our stay at this Holiday Inn”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

Came here after lousy experience at nearby hotel that we had previously booked. Great service at registration desk and we immediately felt better. Enjoyed visiting Busch Gardens and Adventure Island, especially because of terrific shuttle service from Hotel by our driver, Rolando. Unfortunately, the better picture we took of him did not turn out. This hotel room was very clean and had everything we needed.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

702 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    312
    232
    93
    38
    27
See reviews for
393
164
18
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

We stayed here recently for just a night, in order to be close to Busch Gardens. The place wasn't terrible, but it was definitely below the quality/cleanliness of similar hotels that I've stayed in. The proximity to the theme park was key for us, and so the hotel met our goal there. The clerk who checked me in was perfectly friendly. The room itself was fine, but definitely hadn't had the world's most thorough cleaning job between guests. The carpet didn't seem the cleanest. The beds were very comfortable, which is always a plus. I was annoyed in that I had to go down several floors to find a vending machine that had bottled water in stock, and then it came at kind of a hefty price tag. I thought the breakfast offerings were decent. Honestly, it's a free breakfast, I wouldn't be expecting anything too fancy. There was plenty of cereal, yogurt, pastries, coffee, juice and some hot items. It was enough to keep everyone happy before heading for a day in Busch Gardens. The one lady working the breakfast was very nice.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank JessNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear JessNY,

Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. Your satisfaction is important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel. My apologies for any disappointment you may have had during your stay. We have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Signal Mountain, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for a family vacation. Needless to say we were very disappointed. With 4 people staying in our room and only 2 towels provided, the hotel would not give us additional towels even after repeated calls to housekeeping and the front desk. The rooms were very dirty and the sheets had what looked like blood stains on it. I would suspect that the floors have not been vacuumed in weeks. The breakfast was also subpar. No fruit or eggs were provided, only pastries, toast, and bagel (all high carbohydrates). I even saw staff taking items off of the breakfast bar before 9 am. The air conditioner was terrible in our room. It was either too cold or too hot. There was no way to set the thermostat to a consistent temperature or even keep the fan running. The tv reception was also intermittent and the internet access and speed was terrible. To top it off, the road noise from the street outside of this hotel was terrible all night. I think this hotel was between a war zone and a hospital. This was probably my worst experience staying in a Holiday Inn Express. It was so bad that we checked out 2 days early. As we were leaving our room with our luggage we were questions by the housekeeping staff about our early departure. I've stayed in enough hotels to realize this hotel is managed poorly. Everything was done to maximize profits at the expense of the customer. This includes low staffing levels, using old linens, subpar cleanliness and poorly stocked breakfasts. I usually stay at Holiday Inn Express hotels when traveling because of the consistency and overall value it provides. I hope I never have to experience this again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear John H,

Thank you for bringing this to our attention. I’m very sorry to hear about your experience on your recent stay. We would like to follow up with you. We have sent you a private message in effort to obtain more information. I look forward to hearing back from you very soon.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luton
Level Contributor
69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

After two weeks of quite dodgy florida hotels in tourist areas it was a relief to stay in a clean , non mouldy smelling hotel with very helpful receptionists and breakfast - would be a great location if visiting Busch Gardens we weren't but could see the rides from the hotel !

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank biizylizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Miami, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014

We have stayed at this hotel several times and have recommended it in the past; that has now changed. We checked in on a Saturday and our room was not clean; no face or hand towels for two days. We had to go to walgreens and by lysol spray for the bed, wipes for the bathroom and cleaner for the floors. We never received hand towels after 4 nights. My family checked in the following day and the room was not ready two hours after check in time. We were very disappointed in the room. The walls needed painting, doors need to be scrubbed and mattress's replaced; major holes in center of both beds. The planters outside were empty of plants but had trash in them. However, the staff were very pleasant and everyone said hello. Front desk person "Brandon" was great, big smile and just an amazing presence at the desk. He went out of his way to ask everyone that entered if they had a good day and stopped to listen to the response.

Room Tip: Completely check out the room before checking in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
Dear Brian D,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent stay with us. We are delighted you found our staff highly commendable. Guest satisfaction is important to us and we try our hardest to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel.

Please accept our sincere apology for the shortcomings you experienced and we regret the room you received did not live up to your expectations. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. We have taken note and wish to thank you for all your comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve the quality and services we offer.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, Alabama
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2014

Nice new hotel. The property is well-maintained and clean. The staff is the best I have encountered at this type of hotel. They go the extra mile to keep the guests happy. When I arrived for my first stay they only had a king room available for my family of four, but they went to great lengths to make us comfortable in the room they had available. They offered a rollaway extra pillows, towels and blankets. Most importantly they had it in the room in thirty minutes. The second time I came back to stay at this hotel they upgraded me to a suite. Hi Exp also offers a convenient free breakfast and free shuttle service to the park. Busch Gardens is exhausting so convenience is paramount. Just down the street is a greek restaurant with great takeout. It is the perfect ending to a very tiring day.

Room Tip: If you book early you may get the suite which is great for a big family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan7878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014

We picked this hotel based on the location near Busch Gardens and that they had a shuttle to it. The shuttle driver was superb and the front desk was always accommodating with any request we had. Breakfast was what you come to expect from a Holiday Inn Express but they were very organized for the influx of guests coming down at similar times. The beds were comfortable and the bathrooms very clean.
My biggest complaint was the sofa that was in our room, it was sagging in the middle and incredibly uncomfortable with the front edge digging into the back of our legs. The parking lot is small with most of the parking behind the building, make sure to park by the lobby when you check in so you don't have to drag your bags across the parking lot. The outdoor pool area was great for us to hang our together and nicely maintained.
The entrance to the hotel is a bit challenging to find, we drove past it and had to circle back. It is actually easier to spot Popeye's Chicken which is right by it, it is how we had to give directions to our friends who were arriving after us.

Room Tip: Try to get a room towards the back of the hotel so it is closer to where you will be parking and you...
See more room tips
Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank bluefpink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear bluefpink,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. We certainly do our utmost to make your stay comfortable and pleasant, so we are very pleased to note that you were satisfied with our location and the service you received. Please accept our apologies that we fell short of your expectations with the sofa and parking lot. We value your comments, as they enable us to further improve our services and to surpass the very high standards our guests expect.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to have another opportunity make your next stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
1.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Busch Gardens
4.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa - North
7.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites New Tampa I-75 Bruce B. Downs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Tampa North - Busch Gardens
1.7 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Tampa/At USF
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn Tampa Near Busch Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens

Property: Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens
Address: 2807 E Busch Blvd, Tampa, FL 33612-8729
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens 2.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Brand New Holiday Inn Express & Suites is adjacent to Busch Gardens / Adventure Island and is the closest hotel to the University of South Florida and University Community Health Hospital. Enjoy a comfortable stay at the new Holiday Inn in Tampa, a preferred hotel of Busch Gardens, located within walking distance of the hotel. Your family will love staying at our Florida Green Lodging designated hotel in Tampa. We're located just off I-275, directly across the street from Busch Gardens and just a mile away from USF and University Community Health Hospital. Located in the heart of Tampa, we are in close proximity to several other local attractions, including Lowry Park Zoo, Port of Tampa, Florida Aquarium, and the Museum of Science and Industry. Business travelers will appreciate the amenities and services provided at our hotel too! Our Green Lodging hotel is in close proximity to many area businesses, such as Syniverse, Verizon Information Technologies, USAA and the Anheuser-Busch and the Yuengling Breweries. In addition, we provide meeting space that can accommodate up to 60 people with free wireless Internet access. While staying at our tropically landscaped Tampa hotel, you can enjoy our premium amenities, including an outdoor swimming pool, a 24-hour fitness center, and complimentary, hot breakfast bar. Book your reservations now to take advantage of our great Tampa, FL hotel room deals and rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa Usf-Busch Gardens Hotel Tampa
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Tampa Usf-Busch Gardens
Holiday Inn Express Tampa
Holiday Inn Tampa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing