We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab position close to Busch Gardens, decent rooms” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2807 E Busch Blvd, Tampa, FL 33612   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Direct and Save
Ranked #38 of 162 Hotels in Tampa
Heathfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
333 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
“Fab position close to Busch Gardens, decent rooms”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

This is my second visit to this hotel. The first being a couple of years ago.

We were greeted by a very helpful guy on the desk. We were early but e found us a room. Which meant that we could unload our luggage and go Busch Gardens.

The room had two queen beds, fridge, coffee machine and microwave, iron and ironing board.
For some reason there is no safe.

Our room looked over the swimming pool and towards Busch Gardens.

The room was clean and very well appointed.

We used the laundry room both the washing machine and dryer take quarters and costs a dollar.

We used the shuttle bus to take us to Busch Gardens and the driver was very helpful. He gave us a number to ring when we needed picking up. I explained we were from the UK and didnt have a phone. We were advised to use the courtesy phone which is positioned on the back of the building where you get dropped off. He was there within mins of my call. For some reason there was no shuttle between 1 -4pm whilst we were there.

Breakfast was good and we loved making fresh pancakes with their automatic machine.

I found the staff to be extremely helpful and friendly.

I would stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BorntocruiseUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drew J, Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
We would like to say thank you for your wonderful review which helps us to further increase our level of customer service. It is our main goal to make sure each guest that walks through our doors have a pleasant stay. We are happy to hear that you had enjoyed your stay with us. It has been a pleasure serving you and will be waiting for your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

678 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    304
    220
    92
    37
    25
See reviews for
377
163
17
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salem, Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

My family stayed here for a trip to Busch Gardens and were very impressed with the cleanliness. The gentleman working the front desk was very polite at check in. Rolando was pleasant while taking us to the park and provided some valuable information about the area. The morning breakfast was better then we expected and kept fully stocked by a very nice lady named Patricia. I would recommend staying at the hotel and avoid checking out the area as it did appear to be a bit shady. I have to give a shout out to the housekeepers, great job! We will be staying here for our future visits to the area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karl T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drew J, Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear valued guest, we would like to say thank you for your wonderful and helpful review. Our staff take customer service very seriously and we would like to say thank you for mentioning our staff name on this review. Housekeeping do their best to make sure each room gets serviced properly, so thank you for your feedback. We would like to extend our invitation to come back and see us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We traveled to Tampa for a concert and decided to do the King Suite with the Jacuzzi tub since I am 6 months pregnant and knew I would be sore after standing at the concert.

Upon arrival (Sat the 28th of Sept) we were greeted by the very friendly, enthusiastic front desk team. We arrived early evening and there was a man and woman behind the desk. Both were friendly and great, but we dealt with the man who was working and he was just awesome. The lobby was clean and decorated nicely.

We only had two negative experiences during our stay, one being the first elevator ride. We rode the elevator on the right on our way up and it was VERY shaky and took several minutes for the door to open once we reached the 3rd floor. I was actually nervous for the first time in my life that the elevator was stuck lol. The other elevator had no problems whatsoever, and we just rode that one the rest of the trip.

The room was very clean when we entered, one of the cleanest I have ever been in. It was a little muggy in the room though, It felt as if air was not really being circulated, which we later found out was because the a/c was barely working. After about two hours we realized the room was not going to cool off and called down to the desk to see if they could get someone to fix it.

The maintenance man who came to assist was very friendly, and pleasant. He tried his best to fix the a/c but by the time he left he was sweating as it was quickly becoming very hot in the room. He told the desk the a/c wasn't barely running, and the staff offered to switch us to another room. After talking it over we decided that would be best.

They moved us to the Presidential Suite since it was the only other room available with an equivalent tub and I have to say we were very pleased. The A/C worked great in that room, it was just as clean as the other room but didn't have the 'muggy' smell or heaviness in the air which was great. The other huge plus to this hotel was both rooms we were in had very, very, comfortable beds.

We travel a lot and have stayed in countless hotels, and we have to say this was one of our favorite stays. Between the cleanliness, friendly (competent and responsive) staff, and the comfortable bed, it's hard to top this hotel.

We are planning future trips to Tampa and will definitely use this hotel again :D

Room Tip: The King Suite w/ Jacuzzi or the Presidential Suite are your best bets if you like comfort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kristanna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drew J, Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
We are pleased to hear that you had a great time while staying with us. It was unfortunate that the a/c wasn't working in your room, but we are happy to hear that our front desk staff were able to assistant you into getting you a more pleasant room. We thank you for your review and will be anticipating your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

The room we booked was on the luxury side. There was a stain on the padded sofa chair, and there was no locker for valuables but otherwise the hotel room was fine. They offer a shuttle service that runs between Busch Gardens and the hotel and the driver, Rolando, was VERY prompt, friendly, and professional. He works for tips so keep cash on hand.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MVonel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drew J, Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
First, I would like to apologies about the spot that was located on the sofa, cleanliness of our hotel is something that we take great pride in.. I am excited that you had enjoy your stay with us and hopes for a return visit. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastian
Level Contributor
169 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

This hotel is in a perfect spot if you are going to Busch Gardens. It is actually close enough if you wanted to walk there, but why, when they have a free shuttle. It is clean, seems to be fairly new and there are good restaurants within walking distance. Pricing is reasonable and it is about a 30 minute ride to the Trop if you want to mix a Rays' game into your trip.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RichC32958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drew J, Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
I would like to take this time to thank you for your wonderful review about our hotel. Its has been a pleasure serving all of our guest to ensure they enjoy their stay rather for business or leisure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

We got in early to Tampa so we could go to Busch Gardens, we called while en route to ask about a shuttle from the hotel so we didnt have to pay the $15 parking fee. We talked to Vanessa who told us they did and just stop by the hotel and they would get us there. When we arrived at the hotel we were pleasantly suprised to find out our room was ready. We checked in and went down to the lobby and only waited 15 min before a shuttle got there. Rolando was our driver, what a pleasant and entertaining guy. Felt very safe in the vehicle with his driving. Rolando was just a phone call away when we were ready to be picked up from Busch Gardens. So prompt. Front desk 3-11 shift: my kids couldn't stop praising how nice the girl was at the front desk and these are 2 teenage boys that I have.

The hotel: we had a 2 queen suite and the size was great for a famiy of 5. The convenience of the microwave and mini fridge were a nice bonus. The only issues I had in the room was the exhaust fan in the bathroom really needs to be cleaned (a pet peeve of mine) and the room smelled a lot like patchoile (sp?). They should also put a sign on their air conditioners at the window that they are controlled by a thermostat on the wall. We thought all the controls had been broken off and i was freezing till I found the thermostat over by the couch (kinda hidden). The common areas were so clean. Great job holiday inn staff.

I definitely would stay here again!

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank NaplesMom11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drew J, Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear valued guest,

First, I like to thank you for your time on filing out this survey. We do appreciate every guest reviews about our hotel, which punches us to aim higher for service excellence. I am happy to hear that you have mentioned some of our employees by name, so I would like to say thank you. We strive for excellent service and making sure our guest enjoys their stay while visiting the park.. I am sorry to hear that the room freashness did not meet your exepecations, but we hope that this does not cause for you not to returm. We do wish for you to come back to our hotel and have another enjoyable stay. Thank you

In Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

My family and I stayed here for 4 days and 3 nights. We really liked the convenience of the free transportation to Busch Gardens. Though they only had one van at the time, which made it a little difficult to take a large group. The family was also happy of the continental breakfast. And many chain restaurants around, though we didn't go to any nearby. The staff was nice to us. My sister on multiple occasions called the front desk and was treated nicely.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yesenia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drew J, Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
It is our goal to ensure that our guest enjoyed there stay while visiting the park. We are happy that you had a pleasurable experience while staying with us, and that you and your family recognized the level of customer service we aim for. We appreciate the wonderful review and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
1.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Busch Gardens
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Tampa N - Busch Gardens Area
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn Tampa Near Busch Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Tampa Near Busch Gardens
1.7 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Tampa/At USF
7.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites New Tampa I-75 Bruce B. Downs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens

Property: Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens
Address: 2807 E Busch Blvd, Tampa, FL 33612
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens 2.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Brand New Holiday Inn Express & Suites is adjacent to Busch Gardens / Adventure Island and is the closest hotel to the University of South Florida and University Community Health Hospital. Enjoy a comfortable stay at the new Holiday Inn in Tampa, a preferred hotel of Busch Gardens, located within walking distance of the hotel. Your family will love staying at our Florida Green Lodging designated hotel in Tampa. We're located just off I-275, directly across the street from Busch Gardens and just a mile away from USF and University Community Health Hospital. Located in the heart of Tampa, we are in close proximity to several other local attractions, including Lowry Park Zoo, Port of Tampa, Florida Aquarium, and the Museum of Science and Industry. Business travelers will appreciate the amenities and services provided at our hotel too! Our Green Lodging hotel is in close proximity to many area businesses, such as Syniverse, Verizon Information Technologies, USAA and the Anheuser-Busch and the Yuengling Breweries. In addition, we provide meeting space that can accommodate up to 60 people with free wireless Internet access. While staying at our tropically landscaped Tampa hotel, you can enjoy our premium amenities, including an outdoor swimming pool, a 24-hour fitness center, and complimentary, hot breakfast bar. Book your reservations now to take advantage of our great Tampa, FL hotel room deals and rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, IHG, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Tampa Usf-Busch Gardens
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa Usf-Busch Gardens Hotel Tampa
Holiday Inn Express Tampa
Holiday Inn Tampa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing