We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staffs”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel
Ranked #58 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
GreenLeadersSilver level
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
78 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great Staffs”
Reviewed November 19, 2013

So I stayed at the Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk last weekend, and I found the staff there were awesome. For example, Samantha at the front desk went all the way to find me an umbrella because it's about to rain outside. Jennifer at the club lounge was also very friendly (great smile and friendly attitude toward customers) and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jefferson L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ignacio H, Manager at Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Hello Jefferson L,
Thank you for choosing the Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk for your recent stay in Tampa. We're happy to hear that you found our staff to be awesome. Thank you for sharing specific examples of why you felt so and for recognizing Samantha and Jennifer. We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    345
    355
    254
    148
    91
See reviews for
257
285
75
400
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (359)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
219 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

The staff here is excellent. Every staff member from maintenance to front desk to bell men to executives were so kind and generous. If the staff person did not know the answer to a question, they researched it and brought the information to my room. There is no concierge but the front desk staff helped with tickets and transportation. The hotel is in a good location. The hotel shuttle can transport guest to venues in close proximity. The trolley is a short walk away. The hotel is on the river. There are a lot of places in walking distance including dining venues.

The hotel is being renovated. When I checked in I was told I was in a newly renovated room. I was shocked when I walked in my room because it didn't look renovated. The headboards jumped right out at you because they were chipped and old appearing. I then read a card given to me on check in that said that part of the room was done and things like the headboard would come later.

The rooms are not spacious. Could use more renovations in terms of the wall paper, paint, etc. If already done it wasn't done very well. I think this a great location and hopefully the renovations live up to the quality of the staff. The staff makes it a 4 and the hotel is a 3.

Room Tip: River view is better. The city side is louder. You can hear all of the city traffic and emergency...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YBtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ignacio H, Manager at Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Greetings YBtravel,
Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to Tampa. We are delighted to hear that you found our staff to be excellent and our location to be convenient. As you alluded to, we are currently under renovations that will be completed later this year. Some elements in our renovated rooms are still in transit and we will be returning to those partially renovated rooms to complete them as these elements arrive. We appreciate your feedback and hope to have you with us again really soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Although under renovation, the staff at the hotel more than make up for any works the hotel is undergoing. We brought our 2 pups and they couldn't be more accommodating. Everyone and I mean everyone was so welcoming and friendly - it was surreal. Kerry at valet was especially helpful. Thank you Sheraton for a lovely stay!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Div J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ignacio H, Manager at Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Hello Div J,
Thank you for choosing the Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk for your recent stay in Tampa. We're delighted to learn that our welcoming and friendly staff delivered an exceptional experience for you and your pups, even in the face of the inconveniences of our renovations. Thank you for your comments and we hope to have a chance to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estero, Florida
Level Contributor
79 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

This hotel is in a good location on the river and close to many features of downtown Tampa. The lobby area appears newly renovation however the rooms are dated. I understand these will be renovated in the very near future. If your looking for an overnight spot in downtown in a good location this is a good option. Service here was above average in my opinion.

Room Tip: The driverway and entrance of this hotel can get very congested. River view is preferred.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 515mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ignacio H, Manager at Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Hello 515mike,
Thanks for staying with us during your recent trip to Tampa. We're glad you agree that our hotel is in a convenient location in Downtown Tampa and are thrilled that you felt our service was above average. As you alluded to, the hotel is currently under renovations which will be completed in December. We hope you'll have an opportunity to visit us again soon to experience the enhancements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

They are having a go at tarting the place up but it's very much 1960's era brutal architecture so there's only so much you can do with it. I was given a mini suite that I think had been modernised because the furniture looked like the "look at our new look" display in the lobby, but the corridors are the type that make it look like the ceilings are lower than they really are. The walls are that hard concrete look and close in on you. In fact, imagine what you think Soviet hotels might have looked like and you've got it.
The public areas are nice enough now. The bar and restaurant are very minimalist; very basic furniture.
It's very obviously a convention hotel, and there are nicer spots in Tampa. This being Tampa though, there are a heck of a lot worse. Don't stay here if you have a choice, but don't be grief stricken if your company policy or convention forces you to stay.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Mark0381
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ignacio H, Manager at Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Hello Mark0381,
Thank you for choosing the Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk for your recent visit. We're sorry to hear that the style and decor of our hotel is not to your taste. We are in the process of completing some renovations that will enhance the look and decor in all our guest rooms, meeting spaces, and public spaces. This project is scheduled for completion in December of this year. Our close proximity to the Tampa Convention Center does in fact result in a lot of convention related travelers, however, we also attract a fair amount of guests traveling for leisure as well as local guests staying downtown for a night on the town. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san clemente, CA
Level Contributor
207 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

This hotel is undergoing a BADLY needed renovation. On the basis of the physical plant it would probably have a 2 rating. However, its being upgraded. What makes this place is the staff. You'll not find a friendly, helpful staff. Great recommendations of places to visit and eat. They have a free shuttle, which will drop off or pick-up anywhere within a 3 mile radius. It was wonderful. Free WIFI worked well.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank westphillyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ignacio H, Manager at Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Hello westphillyboy,
Thank you for choosing the Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk for your recent visit to Tampa. We appreciate you taking a moment to share your experience with us and for recognizing our helpful and friendly staff. As you alluded to, we are in the process of enhancing our hotel. Our revitalization project will provide updates to all our guest rooms, meeting space, and public spaces. This project will be completed in December and we're excited about what that means for our guests. As we address our physical plant, we are focused on providing our team members with the training and tools essential to delivering exceptional customer service. We're glad to hear that they delivered for you. We're also glad you enjoyed our amenities including our convenient courtesy shuttle and our fast, complimentary, WiFi connectivity. We look forward to welcoming you back to Tampa and our hotel the next time your travels bring you to our city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida, US
Level Contributor
65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

People do make the difference, especially Karla. Came to spend one night for a friends wedding. I live only an hour away, but didn't want to chance being out late and having a couple drinks and driving home. The hotel is old, I didn't expect the ritz, but the room sure showed its age. the bed's headboard had divots, the room desperately needed a paint job, cabinets in bathroom and dresser needed replacement. All these are typical signs of needing refurbishment, but I did not expect a spring from the mattress to poke outside the fabric especially in a hotel that advertises their beds as the most comfortable. When my extra pillows were delivered to the room, the person delivering "Karla" asked if their was anything else. (as good customer service staff are trained), but it seemed like she meant it, so I said I would like to show her something, and proceeded to show her the mattress. I told her that we considered switching rooms, but it was a hassle and we had to change clothes quickly for a wedding that just began. Karla went above and beyond!!! She clearly conveyed that this was unacceptable and said as would as we left for the wedding, we should let the front desk know so they could switch out our mattress and we would not have to switch rooms. The front desk staff were also quite accommodating as well as the service staff at the wedding party. Other than the outlandish price at the bar for three espressos of $20. and the age of the facility this would have been an exceptional stay. People do make the difference. If you choose to stay here, take the time to meet Karla, she is worth it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leslietravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ignacio H, Manager at Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Hello leslietravels,
Thank you for staying with us and for taking a moment to tell us about your experience. We apologize that your guest room showed signs of wear. We're glad to hear that Karla and our front desk team provided you with exceptional customer service helping to ensure that you had a great visit by taking care of your concern and replacing the mattress in your guest room. We're also delighted to share that we are in the process of enhancing all our guest rooms, meeting space, and public spaces to provide a more aesthetically pleasing environment for future guests. This project is expected to be completed in December. We hope to have the privilege of welcoming you back as our guest to the refreshed Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
Aloft Tampa Downtown
#26 of 163 in Tampa
438 reviews
Hilton Tampa Downtown
#15 of 163 in Tampa
1,373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel

Property: Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel
Address: 200 N Ashley Dr, Tampa, FL 33602-5174
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Tampa
#53 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 277
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is conveniently located near the Port of Tampa and Raymond James Stadium, home of the Buccaneers. Onsite we also have over 10,000 sq ft of meeting and event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tampa Sheraton
Sheraton Tampa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing