We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,328)
Filter reviews
1,328 results
Traveler rating
391
379
278
171
109
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
391
379
278
171
109
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsriver viewashley streetfront deskhillsborough riverthe club loungeconvention centerfree shuttlewithin a mile radiusybor cityshuttle servicehotel restauranthousekeeping staffnice poolthe entire staffamalie arenavaletriverview
Filter
Updating list...
748 - 753 of 1,328 reviews
Reviewed October 14, 2013

I admit that after reading some less than desirable reviews I was hesitant on staying at this hotel. But I was up for the adventure. It was fantastic!!! The customer service was beyond good, they were always so friendly and always acknowledged you when walking thru the lobby. We booked thru priceline and received an upgrade to the riverside upon checking in. Our room was very spacious and clean. I did not notice any of the defects previous reviewers were talking about. The resturant/bar was also very good, we had breakfast one day and a couple of drinks and appetizers at the bar on both evenings that we stayed. We also loved the Riverwalk. We will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank christina c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ignacio H, Manager at Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Greetings Christina C.,
Thank you for staying with us. We're glad to hear that despite your initial reservations that you elected to stay with us and had a fantastic experience. Thank you for recognizing the great customer service and friendly acknowledgement you received from our team members throughout your visit. We're happy that you were pleased with the upgrade and that you found your accommodations to be spacious and clean. We're also thrilled that you enjoyed the food and drinks in our Ashley Street Grille and Lounge. We look forward to welcoming you back during your next visit and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Upon looking for hotels close to the Tampa Bay Times Forum this one hit the list high being on the river and walking distance. Check in was smooth and everyone was very friendly. Valet service were professional and careful with my vehicle which sits very low. The room was nice and surprisingly quiet even though we were right by the elevator. Ended up with the city view which provided endless entertainment watching all the traffic infractions and interesting people moseying along in the night.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brandon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ignacio H, Manager at Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Hello Brandon M.,
Thank you for choosing the Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk for your recent weekend hockey trip. We are just 7 blocks from the Tampa Bay Times Forum and are a convenient option for anyone traveling into Tampa to attend events, hockey or otherwise, at this venue. We're delighted to hear that your check-in went smoothly, that you found our staff to be friendly, and our valet team to be professional. We're also glad to hear that you thought your accommodations were nice and quiet. We hope you'll consider staying with us again the next time your travels bring you to Tampa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

This was a girls trip with a close friend for a night out in Ybor City. They were so nice when we checked in and upgraded our room to a river view for my birthday. Excellent customer service!! The only thing that kept this review from being excellent was that the rooms needed a bit of an upgrade. Still very nice but slightly old. The pool was very nice with a river view. We enjoyed our stay very much, would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rae443
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ignacio H, Manager at Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Hello Rae443,
Thank you for choosing the Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk for your recent girls night out in historic Ybor City. We hope you had a blast! We're delighted to hear that our staff recognized that it was your birthday and was able to provide you with an upgraded riverview room to make your experience even more special. We appreciate you recognizing the excellent customer service that our team members provided you and your guests with and we look forward to having you stay with us again in the future. As you may be aware, we are currently undergoing some renovations to enhance our guest rooms, event space, and public space. This project is expected to be completed in December. We invite you to return once everything is completed to experience the refreshed Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

Pros: The hotel staff were friendly. The valet parking guys and bell staff were excellent. The location was convenient and the price was very reasonable. With aaa, valet parking (required) was comped.

As an Spg Platinum, received Complimentary breakfast at the restaurant.

The negatives are:
The hotel is very tired and worn with the rooms being in desperate need for repair. They are in the process of renovating the property and I'm sure when it's done things will be different but for now the rooms need help.

Another issue I had was: as a spg platinum, I was told upgrade to suite or junior suite was not available even though both were available on spg's site at time of checkin which is supposed to be one of the big perks....

Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
Thank Room4Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ignacio H, Manager at Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

Greetings Room4Travel,

Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate you taking the time to post a review about your stay. Thank you for recognizing our friendly staff and the convenience of our location. As you alluded to, we are currently refreshing our guest rooms to address their conditions as well as redesigning our lobby and restaurant. This project is scheduled for completion in December. We are confident you will be very pleased with the results. We truly apologize that you did not receive your upgrade to a junior suite upon check-in and for the confusion with the SPG site’s availability. We only have a finite amount of upgrades and with the number of SPG Platinum guests that stay with us, it’s sometimes difficult to assure everyone receives and upgrade. We truly hope you will consider staying with us again the next time your travels bring you to Tampa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

It's hard to say this is a three/average. So many things were great about this hotel - the service, the bar, the restaurant, the location. But the rooms - which is really why we go to a hotel - were so tired and in a big time need of a face lift. The sheets were not put on the bed well and so they popped off each night (and I don't roll around much). The carpet frayed. The air conditioning unit did not work well. The furniture all nicked and scuffed. The paint very old - with odd things painted over and then painted over again (like door hinges, etc).

Room Tip: I didn't request it, but I had a river facing room with a balcony. That's definitely the room to get!
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catmc1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ignacio H, Manager at Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

Hello catmc1066,

Thank you for your recent visit and for taking a moment to post a review about your stay. We appreciate you recognizing our ideal location in downtown Tampa and the great service you received in our Ashley Street Grille & Lounge. We are happy to share that we have begun a multi-million dollar beautification project that will address the conditions of our guest rooms as well as provide our guests with a fresh, redesigned lobby and restaurant. This project is scheduled for completion in December. We hope you’ll return at the conclusion of the project and that you’ll compare that stay with this one. We’re confident you’ll be able to rate your experience significantly higher.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews