We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old and tired in down town” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel
Ranked #59 of 162 Hotels in Tampa
GreenLeadersSilver level
Incline Village, Nevada
Level Contributor
89 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Old and tired in down town”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

Not great but has some positives. I am Gold and you would not know it as they did not upgrade me and I was put in a regular room that was noisy and tired. The ceiling was a total mess and had been patched several times and not that great. Huge crack exposed along the entire wall. The carpet was totally dirty. Doors slammed and made a ton of noise. The lobby has a serious synthetic smell as they seem to be covering something up. Parking staff was nice and efficient. Front desk not all that great just average. Location was good if you want to walk around down town. We stayed for two nights as we were in town for the parathyroid center so it was very convient for that. We did get a room on the water which was nice. Rooms are tired and need better drywall repairs. The shower was nice with lots of water pressure and the in room coffee was a nice starbucks brand and easy to use. The furniture was okay but headboard totally worn on the places where people prop their heads as the paint or leather was rubbed off. The ihome did not work. Not the best option and disappointed in the lack of being treated as I should being a SPG gold member.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Todd S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crivera01, Manager at Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Hello Todd! Thanks for taking the time to submit a review on our hotel based on your past stay with us. We are sadden to hear that your room did not meet your expectations and that you were not at all pleased with your stay. Please know that the condition of your room is not the norm and most importantly, that we are approaching a huge renovation that will touch many of the areas you mentioned. I would also like to speak to you regarding some of the customer service issues you encountered as it will assist us in not repeating it. My email address is crivera@sheratonriverwalk.com. Once again thank you for your feedback and we appreciate you being a loyal Starwood guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    325
    346
    239
    134
    86
See reviews for
240
272
73
380
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (338)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Peachtree City, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for a wedding. We brought our 4 daughters with us and they accommodated our large family.

Kyle at the front desk made restaurant and beach recommendations to us that were excellent.

The wedding reception was at the hotel. The reception venue, on the water, was beautiful and the food was the best I'd had at a wedding.

They mentioned that they are planning to renovate the rooms but I had no complaints with current accommodations.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bevptc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crivera01, Manager at Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Hello bevptc! We appreciate the time you took to submit a review on our hotel. It's always great to hear our guests rave about thier experience with our hotel and our staff. We are glad to hear the wedding went well and you were pleased entirely. Thanks again for your feedback and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

We just spent our first overnight in Tampa at the Sheraton Riverwalk Hotel. We stayed on the 6th floor club level for a very reasonable price.
This included afternoon snacks and discounted beer and wine and a lovely breakfast available from 7:00 a.m. to 10:00 a.m.
The hotel overlooks the river and we took a lovely hour long stroll along it in the morning.
The hotel is pet friendly and although we travelled without pets last weekend, we do frequently drive from RI to Fla and need pet friendly.
The outdoor swimming pool is open until midnight which is much later than most hotels.
It was my husband's birthday and the hotel sent a lovely complimentary slice of chocolate cake to our room.
The front desk staff and valet parking staff were delightful to work with.
Thank you Sheraton for a terrific experience.

Room Tip: Definitely stay on the river view rather than city view side. We had a lovely balcony and enjoyed w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crystalrivera, Manager at Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Good Day Kim! Thanks for taking the time to submit a review on our hotel. We are pleased to hear that your encounter with our front desk and valet team was very positive and that your husband's birthday was well spent at our hotel. Reviews like yours are what we strive for! Thanks again for sending in your feedback and we hope to see you and your husband again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
116 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

This hotel must've been the spot to be probably some 20 years ago (just guessing here), but today it is just a nice hotel. The location is great, right downtown and waterfront. The service was good and the rooms comfortable. If you're going to stay there then request a room that is water facing, rather than downtown facing, just overall nicer views. Also, if you stay on the sixth floor you can use the lounge on that floor, it comes with complimentary breakfast, soft drinks and snacks during the rest of the day. Using the lounge is great if you're going with a group, you can spend time there instead of in your room or the lobby. There is a restaurant on site with very good food and full bar, the prices are reasonable. Parking is problematic since it is downtown after all, so you end up using valet, which is $18 a night, expensive, but not unusual. All in all, it was a pleasant stay, but try to get reservations early, as the prices can be steep during peak times.

Room Tip: Water facing rooms, and the sixth floor are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 327Aries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crystalrivera, Manager at Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Hello Rosanne! We appreciate you taking the time to submit a review on our hotel. It's always rewarding to hear our guests rave about our team members. As you stated, we offer complimentary transportation within 3 miles of the hotel which especially great if you are unfamiliar with the area. In regards to the hotel looking tired, please know that we are excited to share with you that we are in the planning stages of a full renovation which will definately turn around the appearance and feel of the property. Thanks again for your feedback and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

I stayed here a few months back for 2 nights for work. I had stayed at the hotel several years ago and didn't have any issues, so booked it for myself and my staff. Checked in at 7:30 PM, and because I was Platinum, I was given an upgrade to a higher floor. I could have sworn that I had seen suites available online the day before I checked in, but didn't say anything. I should have. I got to my room, checked online and saw at least 4 suites available. I called down and asked why I wasn't given an upgrade, and they stated that "they just opened up, but weren't available when you checked in". Yes, they were all being cleaned at 7:30 at night and suddenly an hour later - they're all ready. But because they weren't available at check in, I can't move.

Being lazy and overlooking a required upgrade is one thing, but to lie to cover up your error is worse. Very unprofessional staff. Won't be staying there again, nor will my staff.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TyinSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crystalrivera, Manager at Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Greetings Tysin! First and foremost, thank you for taking the time to submit a review on our hotel. We appreciate your feedback and want to assure you that we are looking into your claims. Please know, we appreciate you staying with us and hope that you would reconsider and stay with us again. Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hot Springs, Arkansas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

Everything is judged by your expectations. I expected a tired, not to well maintained, center city hotel. While this hotel is not new, it is very up to date and well maintained. But the outstanding thing here are the employees and the training they have received. I was pleasantly surprised by every staff member I dealt with. They would take us wherever we were going to eat each night by hotel shuttle with hardly any waiting.

To me the word Sheraton meant an old and tired brand and a caution, this team proved me wrong.
Don't afraid to stay here. It's centrally located. Everyone who works here is eager to please you.

Room Tip: Stay on the river view side if possible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crystalrivera, Manager at Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Hello Phil! Thank you for an amazing review on our hotel. We are very pleased and excited to hear that your experience with our hotel and team members was a positive and memorable one. Thanks again for your feedback and we hope to see you again soon! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkton, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

We were lucky to check-in with a guy who loves his job! He gave us a good rate, a free upgrade (with access to free appetizers and breakfast) and always called us by name during our short stay. It's a nice location being downtown and along the river. The entire hotel will be renovated in May 2013, so it will be even better. I would stay here again. Would especially be good for business meetings.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Summertime2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crystalrivera, Manager at Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Hello Summertime2011! Thanks for your recent review on our hotel. It's great to hear our guests rave about our hotel and most importantly our staff. We are glad to hear your stay with us with positive and memorable. Thanks again and hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
Aloft Tampa Downtown
#35 of 162 in Tampa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
Hilton Tampa Downtown
#15 of 162 in Tampa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,290 reviews
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Meridien Tampa
#17 of 162 in Tampa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel

Property: Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel
Address: 200 N Ashley Dr, Tampa, FL 33602-5174
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Tampa
#53 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 277
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is conveniently located near the Port of Tampa and Raymond James Stadium, home of the Buccaneers. Onsite we also have over 10,000 sq ft of meeting and event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tampa Sheraton
Sheraton Tampa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing