We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok, but nothing special”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel
Ranked #65 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stayed one night and picked this hotel because it was walking distance to Times Forum. The room was clean, but it was dated. It is Valet Parking only, which costs extra and is expensive. There are no perks included, except a free bottle of water (only the small one, the larger one costs $4). We found this hotel expensive for what you got.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kalajo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crystalrivera, Manager at Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Hello Kalajo! We appreciate you taking the time to submit a review on our hotel. As you mentioned, our hotel is just a short walk to the Forum- or a quick ride in our courtesy shuttle. Parking is additional but keep in mind we're one of the lowest priced hotels in Downtown Tampa. Along with the courtesy shuttle, we also offer complimentary basic internet access which is a huge money saver in itself. Once again, thanks for your feedback and hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,225)
There are newer reviews for Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

745 - 751 of 1,225 reviews

Reviewed March 30, 2013

The hotel is easy to locate.The valet guys were very helpful and personable.Check-in was easy .The housekeepers in the hallway were very friendly.The rooms were clean.The decor was a bit outdated. The pool was nice,not heated though.The view was the river which was pretty neat,lot of crew rowers going by throughout afternoon.The restaurant for dinner was quite expensive and the food not impressive in the leas.This was not what we expected at a Sheraton.Breakfast buffet was better the next morning.We were able to walk to the Forum easily for the game.Our room was overlooking downtown so unfortunately quite noisy with cars and trucks. Overall, nice place to stay for a quick visit.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichaelsMommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crystalrivera, Manager at Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Hello MichaelsMommy! As you mentioned, the hotel is extremely close to the Forum, making it an easy walk to a hockey game/concert. Not to mention, we offer a complimentary shuttle service which runs within 3 miles of the hotel. It's great to hear that your encounter with our team was a pleasant one and that it made your stay with us more enjoyable. Thanks again for the feedback and we hope to see you again during another hockey game. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I just recently stayed two nights at the hotel. The view of river was nice and enjoyed watching a few crew teams go by. The room itself needs to be revamped. The padding on the head board is cracked (pleather) and the paint is a bit chipped. It all appears to be a bit worn. Coffee provided didn't quite fit the coffee maker (made it work but a bit jake legged).


I asked for late check out the evening before we left and was surprised the evening desk associate was not empowered. She advised i had to check in the morning, when it was clear that the hotel was not even close to capacity. The next morning, I was able to get an extra hour.

We ordered sandwiches and salads from room service and it was delivered quickly, and correctly and it was quite good. The hotel is in walking distance to restaurants.. We ate at l'eden (French) and eddies and SAMs (pizza).

Overall, the hotel was average, nothing to avoid but no strong compelling reason to stay here either. If the remodel will be a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank floridagal200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crystalrivera, Manager at Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Greetings floridagal200! Thank you for taking the time to submit a review on our hotel. It's great to hear that both your husband and yourself were able to enjoy the hotel's close proximity to the several restaurants in walking distance. Not to mention, we have a full service restaurant on property that is also available for room service. As you stated, the service and food is amazing! In regards to the hotel room's condition, please know that we are excited to share with you that we will be undergoing a huge renovation in the upcoming months. We definately encourage you to visit us again after our new look! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Just returned from a business trip with the conference in the hotel. For that type of stay the hotel is perfectly fine. However, see below.

Cons:
There is really nothing much in walking distance from the hotel. There is one place with smoothies and wraps 1 block up which has great food. But, it closes at 4 on weekdays and opens at 10:00am on weekends. Other than that, I walked around for 20 minutes toward the hotel and couldn't find any convenience stores, coffee shops, ATM's, sandwich shops etc. NOTHING. Tall office buildings on one side and the river on the other. You need to drive about 2 miles to get anywhere. So if you have a car maybe you won't mind..
Bathrooms are a bit small and outdated.
Workout room kind of small and did not have much for strength training except a dozen dumbbells.

Pros:
Very friendly staff (Meko in the restaurant was very nice)
Relatively close (15 minute ride) from airport
There is a gift shop that sells water, gatorade, snacks, toiletries etc. and they don't charge a fortune, it's reasonably priced.
Located right on the river
Workout room did have 4 decent treadmills and some bikes

Room Tip: Stay closer to the river otherwise the traffic gets very loud at night.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jay R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crystalrivera, Manager at Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Hello Jay! Thanks again for taking the time to submit a review on our hotel. In looking at your list of con's we just wanted to point out that there is infact several restaurants within walking distance just blocks from our hotel and even one right next door. Not to mention, we offer a courtesy shuttle that runs within 3 miles of the property that can take you to any restaurant within that area. We also offer an atm and a gift shop that has literally everything a cvs would have. In regards to the pro's on your list, we are pleased to see that our staff made it on your list as pleasant and friendly. We are pleased to say we have a great team here! As you also pointed out we are just minutes from the airport and located along the Hillsborough River which makes for a great view throughout the day from your room. Thanks again for your feedback and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

They repaired the old things that they had in the past. I was so happy that the bath and the room in general was in better conditions. I recommended for a long stay and for an overnight definitly. I just didn't like the fact that I requested a taxi to the valet and another guy came over and requested too, and the valet gave him the taxi before than me. He argue that he asked first when it wasn't like that. Nevertheless I supposed that was the fact that I look Latin and he was a white guy. Apart of that small detail, everything is fine.

Stayed: March 2013
Thank Guspianist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crystalrivera, Manager at Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Hola Guspanist! Thank you for your recent feedback of our hotel. We are glad to hear that the hotel has improved from your last stay with us. Please keep in mind that we are also having a huge renovation in the upcoming months that will improve our look even more. Thanks again and hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

I'm usually a fan of Sheraton hotels so I always give them the benefit of the doubt. Check-in was rough and kind of set off the week on a bit of a sour note. I had to check in after work which happened to be around 11:00 p.m. This put me at check-in with the overnight staff. Now I understand that working overnights is no fun and not many people want the shift what with not having much going on, making key packets, dealing with the drunks coming in after last call. I feel for you, I really do. Nonetheless, there were five guests in line patiently waiting to check in with two front desk agents on and only one checking people in. The other older gentleman was just looking down at a piece of paper on the desk. It took a guest behind me saying something for him to reluctantly start checking people in. The room was nice with a great balcony and river view, very well apportioned with seating area in addition to the bed. Although clean, the room seemed a little dingy with the headboard leather flaking off and scuffs on the wall. The bathroom was the same, clean but a little rough, grey/black streaks in the tub and ceiling paint flaking off.
That evening, I went out with some friends for a couple hours and when I came back, the room key didn't work. I went down to the front desk to have it reset and the only agent there was the same older gentleman from earlier. Luckily there was no line but after making a point to make eye contact as I was walking to the desk, standing there for close to five minutes clearing my throat several times, I finally had to make a point to say "I hate to pull you away from looking at those receipts, but..."
As an aside, the water bottles placed in the room were both previously opened but a call down to the front desk the next morning fixed that. Should they be checked by housekeeping? Sure. Can I honestly expect them to be? No, some people are just that cheap that they'll refill a bottle so as not to be charged.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeffreyChandler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crystalrivera, Manager at Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Hello Jeffrey! First and foremost, thank you for taking the time to submit a review on our hotel. Please be rest assured that we are looking into your feedback to ensure that we are delivering exceptional service regardless of what time it is. We've also passed along your concern regarding the water bottle to our Housekeeping Manager so that he can look into further. Thank you again for your feedback as it helps us see things in the guest's perspective.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We were in Tampa for vacation and stayed at this hotel on the Club level (6th floor) which was very nice. Being on the Club level granted us access to the Lounge for snacks throughout the day, evening drinks and hors d'oeuvres which was a special treat. The breakfast buffet was included in our room rate which was great. It was very plentiful and the food was very good. We were on the river side which provided us a great view of the river and the University of Tampa. The hotel was convenient to downtown and afforded us opportunities to walk a lot. We really enjoyed the Riverwalk (though it was being worked on so we had to walk a few blocks down 'inner city' before we could actually get on the Riverwalk) which we took to the Tampa Bay History Center, Channelside Bay Plaza and a few other locations. It was a very peaceful walk. The hotel is also very close to the end of the TECO Streetcar line so we were able to walk to it and jump on. We didn't mind the valet parking because it was included with our room rate and it was one less thing we had to worry about (though on one occasion they had a problem finding the car which was a little unnerving). We used the hotel's free shuttle service twice (it'll take you to places within a 3 mile radius). It was a great service and we didn't have to worry about driving the car around town to places that were rather close. As for the room, we thought it was very nice though our toilet kept leaking. We finally had to be moved from the room. But we were moved next door so it wasn't too much of an inconvenience. We had the opportunity to use the gym two or three times. They had some nice equipment. The staff was very friendly, nice and responsive to our needs. We would definitely stay at this hotel again if we are in Tampa.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crystalrivera, Manager at Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Hello Liz! We appreciate you taking the time to submit a review on our hotel. It was great to hear how you enjoyed being located on the Club Floor and taking advantage of the perks it has to offer. As you stated the breakfast served in the Lounge is great and very delicious. Not to mention we offer drinks and hor d'oeuvres during the evening times in our club lounge. As you stated we are located in a great area in Downtown close to many restaurants and attractions within walking distance - and offer a complimentary shuttle transportation within 3 miles of the hotel. Thanks again for your feedback and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
Hilton Tampa Downtown
#15 of 163 in Tampa
1,452 reviews
Aloft Tampa Downtown
#22 of 163 in Tampa
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel

Address: 200 N Ashley Dr, Tampa, FL 33602-5174
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Tampa
#53 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range: $146 - $335 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 277
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is conveniently located near the Port of Tampa and Raymond James Stadium, home of the Buccaneers. Onsite we also have over 10,000 sq ft of meeting and event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tampa Sheraton
Sheraton Tampa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing