We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel
Ranked #65 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We were in Tampa for a race and the location of the hotel was great, getting to the hotel was a little crazy because it is in a very busy part of the downtown area. You must use the valet but I didn't mind because I didn't want to have to try and park my car. The room was clean, lobby was nice but the hallway and bathrooms felt a little dated and in need of a little attention. The staff was nice and very friendly. You are with in walking distance of several shops and restaurants. We felt safe walking. There is a great Gelato/ Pizza shop with in a few blocks, worth the walk.

Room Tip: We had a city view and it was nice, we didn't hear the traffic and we could watch what was going...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindar125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crystalrivera, Manager at Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Hello Linda! Thanks for the recent review of our hotel. Glad to hear that you were able to enjoy the location and the many restaurants within walking distance. We also offer a courtesy shuttle that runs anywhere within a 3 mile radius of the hotel. It's also great to hear that you enjoyed the service delivered by our staff throughout your stay. In regards to the hotel's room appearing dated, we are very pleased to announce that we are in the final stages of planning our fully renovated hotel which will take place later this year. We hope to see you again with our new look.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,225)
There are newer reviews for Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

753 - 759 of 1,226 reviews

Reviewed March 11, 2013

This was a family trip - 2 adults and one child. The location of this hotel in downtown was perfect and the staff was pretty friendly. I was not thrilled with the forced valet parking when there are other hotels in downtown that offer self parking. The lobby was nice and updated but after that, not very impressive. We had a "river view" room with a balcony but we were put on the 1st floor, which is really the 2nd or 3rd level, and the balcony overlooked the roof of a large part of the building, probably the restaurant. From inside the room, you could see a very small part of the river, mostly just the other side. Sitting on the balcony you could see a bit more but there was also an oily smell outside, probably from machinery on the roof. We needed some extra linens and housekeeping was prompt and friendly. The room was clean overall but in need of some TLC, particularly the furnishings in the bathroom. For the price, I was a little let down, but the hotel did have some good points.

Room Tip: Ask for higher than 1st floor.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dinamber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crystalrivera, Manager at Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Hello dinamber! We are glad to hear that both your family and yourself were able to enjoy the hotel and it's location. We are also pleased to hear that your encounter with our team was a positive one. In regards to valet, although we do not offer self parking - we do offer one of the most competitive rates for parking in all of Downtown. Thanks again for your feedback and we hope to see you and your family again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Just stayed at this hotel for 9 days - a mix of business and vacation. The staff - in particular housekeeping and room service, and the staff that took care of our meetings - AV in particular - were extremely responsive and very pleasant to work with. The hotel itself looks tired and is in obvious need of renovation which I was told was scheduled to begin in May. The location on the Riverwalk in Tampa is very convenient and the complimentary shuttle makes it close to everything. Would recommend the hotel for both business meetings and vacation stays, particularly once the renovation is completed.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view room on a higher floor - nice view from the balcony and a lot of afternoon suns...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dayana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crystalrivera, Manager at Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Hello Dayana! We are glad that you were able to enjoy your week and a half stay with us. We are even more excited to hear that your encounter with our team was a positive one. It's always great to hear positive feedback from our guests as it's what we strive for. Thanks again for your feedback and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

It was a nice hotel - but beware. The location is pretty much in the business district so you won't choose this place if you're on vacation (unless it's 1 night before a cruise since it's close to the pier). It's clean, has a nice pool, good bar/restaurant and nice staff. The gift shop is pricey so just walk a couple of blocks to the CVS nearby - they also sell beer & wine.

Room Tip: If your room is on the street side - it will be noisy from the cars. While we were there, we saw Be...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crystalrivera, Manager at Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Greetings Jessica! We are glad to hear that you were able to enjoy your stay with us. As you stated our hotel is located in the business district of Downtown Tampa which is close to several banking offices, law firms, etc. We are also close to several museums, the aquarium and other attractions...all close by. In fact, you can walk to many of the museums and aquarium or you can use the complimentary shuttle to get there. The drive to Busch Gardens is a short drive away - just minutes from the hotel. Not to mention, we are just blocks away from the Port of Tampa- great location for pre or post cruise stays! Thanks again for your feedback and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Hotel is tired and does have a smell to it.....room was clean but just dated...Club lounge was not very good .If you are SPG Platinum you will be disappointed in this hotel and the extras you receive.Its time to re-invest in this property.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank michaelAlbertaCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crystalrivera, Manager at Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Hello Michael! We appreciate you taking time out of your day to submit a review on our hotel. Please know we are actually in the beginning planning phase of getting a full renovation. We understand that some of our rooms are in need of a face lift and are proud to say, all the rooms as well as the entire hotel will be fully renovated later this year. We hope to have you back when we are complete with the renovation as we are sure you will love the new look.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

I've stayed at the Sheraton Riverwalk many times, most recently this past week. The location is great and if you're lucky enough to get a river view you get a great view and beautiful sunsets.

The hotel is older, but many room upgrades have been performed. My large balcony overlooking the river and the University of Tampa was great! I enjoyed watching the boats and the crew teams practicing and the light show of the bridges is nice. The bathrooms have not been totally renovated, but it was functional and clean.

The staff is very helpful and thorough. Restaurant prices and parking are a bit steep, but the food was quite good. I enjoyed the starbucks coffee in the room and the TV service was pretty.

I really enjoy this hotel and hope you will too.

Room Tip: I love the river view rooms!
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crystalrivera, Manager at Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Hello Kevin! Thanks for taking the time to submit a review on our hotel. It's always great to hear our guests rave about our staff. As you mentioned, we are located in a great area in Downtown Tampa- along the Hillsborough River where we have crews rowing in the mornings and sometimes in the evenings...great to watch. We appreciate your feedback and also appreciate your repeated visit with us. Can't wait to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Had to stay here for a sporting tournament. Emplyees were helpful and kind, but nothing can make up for the state of this hotel. I am not sure if the smell comes from the river which the hotel sits on or some type of outdated septic system, but it is pervasive, constant, and unmistakeable. Hotel is also tired throughout. Wouldn't stay here again if it was free.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank naplesgirl5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crystalrivera, Manager at Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

Hello Naplesgirl5! Thank you for your comments, points well taken. We are in the beginning stages of a multi-million dollar renovation in tandem with the City that is building a new Boardwalk—where our boat dock is currently—and all of your points will be addressed and corrected.Our apology for your experience, and if we have permission, we would love to invite you back sometime this fall when we are a completely renovated hotel. Thanks again for the feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
Hilton Tampa Downtown
#15 of 163 in Tampa
1,452 reviews
Aloft Tampa Downtown
#22 of 163 in Tampa
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel

Address: 200 N Ashley Dr, Tampa, FL 33602-5174
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Tampa
#53 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range: $146 - $335 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 277
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is conveniently located near the Port of Tampa and Raymond James Stadium, home of the Buccaneers. Onsite we also have over 10,000 sq ft of meeting and event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tampa Sheraton
Sheraton Tampa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing