We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This could be the PERFECT Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel
Ranked #68 of 164 Hotels in Tampa
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Unless you are a travel snob who needs the utmost in luxury and highbrow service, this hotel is PERFECT! The staff is friendly and very helpful, you will be pleasantly surprised by the feeling that they really want you to have a good time. From the bellmen to the shuttle drivers (available and prompt every time we called) everyone has suggestions for restaurants and activities. It helps you feel like you aren't a tourist! The food in the restaurant is delicious, and the location couldn't be better - walk to the art museum, Children's Museum, Convention Center, Aquarium - all along the fabulous Riverwalk....and let's not forget the Sweet sleeper beds! This was the best long weekend getaway we have had in a VERY long time, so glad we picked the Sheraton.

Room Tip: If you can manage to get a club floor room - the breakfast is better than continental - with eggs an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kndunleavy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crivera01, Manager at Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

Hello LPalmieri! It's always rewarding to hear our guests rave about our hotel and about our team. It's great to hear that our staff is SUPERB! As you stated, we have great rates for those going to the hospital with complimentary transportation to/from the hospital as well. We are not only located extremely close to the hospital but close to several restaurants and shopping outlets. We are glad that you've chosen our hotel as your home away from home for the past 18 months of on and off travel. Thanks for the continued support...we are definately here for you and your husband! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,261)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

796 - 802 of 1,261 reviews

Reviewed February 4, 2013

I've said this before, but I want to really stress the fact that the staff at this hotel is superb. They are efficient, kind, congenial, and intelligent. We've been to many of the hotels in Tampa, but we keep going back to this one because of the employees. We started going to this hotel because my husband was going back and forth to Tampa General Hospital for the past 18 months. They have good rates for people who have to go to the hospital for anything. And the valet service is exceptional. Those young men even remember my name when I pull up to the door!!! KUDOS TO ALL OF YOU!!

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room on the riverside! The balconies are wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LPalmieri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We made last minute plans to go to Gasparilla Pirate Fest & about 3 days prior to the fest I figured I would try Priceline by using The Bidding Traveler site (love it!). Got this place for $54...all the hotels were right around $200 for this particular night. Didn't really know where the Sheraton was located in relation to where the festival & parade would be but we were happy to have a room that appeared to be within walking distance...had only been to the fest 1 time prior so we didn't really know what happened on which streets.

Arrived late morning as the festival begins around 11:30am....we were not able to drive to the Sheraton due to roads being closed for the parade so we found a garage & walked with our luggage which happened to be less than a block from Sheraton...fine. We were able to check in as we arrived even though it was early....we were pleasantly surprised that we had a lovely room overlooking the river with a nice balcony & perfect views of the pool activities (live music & dancing). We could watch the decorated boats as they passed!

Even better, we learned that the parade passed directly in front of the hotel (not on our waterfront room side, but the "other" side)....still great because we could just walk out the lobby & there we were & still able to use our own bathroom & get snacks & beverages from our room!

The hotel was absolutely perfect for our occasion and the price paid. Appeared to be standard Sheraton fare...nothing incredible/nothing horrible.

Last year, we stayed @ Westin Harbour Island for this fest & that was a great location as well but I think I give the edge to the Sheraton & honestly, I think the Sheraton was in better physical condition.....

It was noisy during the night...no surprise, major partiers all over the place...I would not have wanted to stay here if I was not into the whole festival scene...it would have been difficult to avoid.

Room Tip: Loved our Waterfront Balcony but for this festival, a street-view balcony would have been even bette...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveltina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crivera01, Manager at Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

Hello Traveltina! Arrhhhh Matey! It's great to hear that you were able to enjoy and embrace all the festivities of Gasparilla and enjoy the convenience of location with staying at our hotel. As you stated, the parade runs right in front of our hotel and the boats are all over the Hillsborough River on the other side of our property. Definately, a great spot for those wanting to enjoy Gasparilla! Thanks again for your feedback and very glad you were able to enjoy yourself.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for Gasparilla weekend. Location was ideal, and we got one of the few balcony rooms. about 1/3 of the rooms on each floor (6 floors) have balconies. In the middle third. It was a loud, rebellious weekend no matter where you stayed. Starwood gold got us access to 6th floor lounge for free breakfast/happy hour snacks. We asked them to add it on our room card at check-in, and they just did it. Great.
The hotel itself looks pretty aged. The room had peeling wallpaper in the bathroom, sagging light over the sink, and the mirror over the sink had a wood frame around it with lots of "touch up pen" marks on it. Bed was comfortable, balcony was great , we watched the parade from here. The feeling I got staying here was, this used to be a high end spring break-type hotel, with few upgrades.
While we loved the service in the lounge, the rest of the service there was unspectacular, particularly compared to their sister property the Westin a few blocks away (see separate review, stayed there 2 weeks earlier). Location of Sheraton is good, they have a water taxi that leaves right from a dock adjacent to the pool. The pool was OK, but not too private. It was open to anyone walking around on the streets during the parade, therefore absolutely no one was swimming. A lot of people carrying drinks around. Later that evening, about 8 pm, some drunk pulled the fire alarm and evacuated the whole hotel! Fire trucks arrived, alarms, etc. We just went for a walk. This isn't Sheraton's fault so much. They'd need an army of security to control this.
They have a nice small gym on the ground floor overlooking the pool, and a little gift shop with sodas, beer, souvenirs, etc. Bar area looked nice, but was too crowded to visit.
I would suggest a river view room with a balcony, away from the elevator for quiet.

Room Tip: I'd suggest a balcony room with river view, away from an elevator (quieter).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hogandoc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crivera01, Manager at Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

Hello Hogandoc1! We appreciate you taking the time to submit a review on our property. It's great to hear that you were able to enjoy our location during your Gasparilla visit. As you mentioned, the hotel is situated in a great spot where the parade actually runs in front of our hotel and many of the pirates are on their boats riding along our hotel in the Hillsborough River. In regards to the hotel's condition, we are extremely proud to announce that we are in the planning stages of a full renovation which we will be rolling out within the next couple months. Anticipate a new look on your new Gasparilla adventure! See you then Matey~

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

As a Platinum SPG Member, I stay at lots of Sheraton hotels. This was my first time at this Sheraton. I typically stay at the nearby Westin Harbour Island. Now, I know why.

Check in was smooth. The hotel is right downtown and walking distance from my law firm office. The decor of the room was old. The AC was loud. I did get a suite, but there was lots of road noise. The bedding was ugly. The bathroom had not been updated in over 15 years it appeared. Never got to see the club lounge or amenities as I flew out early the next morning. Valet parking was mandatory for a fee.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PAQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crivera01, Manager at Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

Hello PAQ! First and foremost, thank you for being a loyal SPG Member. On behalf of the Starwood Family, we appreciate your business with us. In regards to your concern with our condition of the property, we are pleased to share with you that we are in the planning stages of a full renovation which will be rolled out within the next couple months. We hope that you will give us another shot and experience our new look soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

My father and I stayed here for twelve nights and loved the hotel. The location is great and very easy to find by car. The staff were always happy to assist with our queries, and the breakfast on offer was very good.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
Thank HKG_MFM_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crivera01, Manager at Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Hello Seattle29! It's great to hear that both your father and yourself were able to enjoy our hotel- from the location to the staff. We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you both again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

This hotel is amazing and went above and beyone to make sure every detail of my trip was perfect. From the VIP on the 6 th floor to extra towels and comforts that I needed. Beautiful view of downtown and easy access to all points near.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brittany M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crivera01, Manager at Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Hello Brittany! Thanks for taking the time to submit a review on our hotel. It's great to hear that our team went above and beyond to make your stay memorable and enjoyable. Most importantly, it's awesome to hear how you were left to feel as VIP....every guest of ours is VIP and we are truly glad that was the feeling you left with. Thanks again for your feedback and we hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
Hilton Tampa Downtown
#12 of 164 in Tampa
1,528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center
Aloft Tampa Downtown
#22 of 164 in Tampa
573 reviews
Le Meridien Tampa
#19 of 164 in Tampa
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel

Address: 200 N Ashley Dr, Tampa, FL 33602-5174
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Tampa
#53 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range: $192 - $369 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 277
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is conveniently located near the Port of Tampa and Raymond James Stadium, home of the Buccaneers. Onsite we also have over 10,000 sq ft of meeting and event space. Ideally situated on the Riverwalk and featuring thoughtful amenities like delicious New American dining at Rivers Edge restaurant, a picturesque waterfront outdoor pool and a 24-hour Sheraton Fitness Center. Unwind after a busy day exploring Tampa in one of our 277 pet-friendly guest rooms and suites, all of which feature our Sheraton Signature Bed® and complimentary Wi-Fi Internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tampa Sheraton
Sheraton Tampa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing