We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Things stolen by the maid service out of my room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel
Ranked #64 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
GreenLeadersSilver level
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Things stolen by the maid service out of my room”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

While staying at the hotel over a 10-day period, I had a gold necklace stolen as well as the information off of two debit cards and two credit cards. The hotel does NOT offer in-room safes. I had hidden my wallet with my credit cards in a closed suitcase in the closet with the door shut. The thief wrote down the information from the cards and returned them to my wallet so I did not realize that anything was amiss until four days later when the bank's fraud department called to question some charges. Each account had between $2000 and $3000 worth of charges on it. My necklace, which was with other jewelry was taken, but I didn't realize it until I got home. BE WARNED!!! BE CAREFUL with your belongings if you go to this hotel. I will never feel safe and always wonder whether someone is going through my things while I am gone from the room.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank MarciaH34573
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crivera01, Manager at Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Hello MarciaH34573! First and foremost, we were very disappointed to hear about your alleged theft while you were our guest. We apologize for not having in room safes, however, safety deposit boxes are available to all guests free of charge. We have launched a full internal investigation into this matter, and, are taking it very seriously due to the fact that we seldom ever have issues such as you described. As suggested during our conversation with you after you checked out and discovered these things, please forward us a copy of the police report so that we can make sure they are involved in our investigation. We pride ourselves in our honest, long term, staff and will make every effort to identify and resolve any negative issues.
Thank you for your feedback as we appreciate you taking the time to complete this survey.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    348
    358
    255
    152
    95
See reviews for
265
285
76
405
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (363)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
213 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

The hotel was not full and I also got a street-side room. Maybe that was thanks to my Priceline reservation. How much more does it cost them to give you a river-side room if they're not full? The street side was awful. Sirens all night long. Dumpster emptying at 5am. Zooming cars... If you go here, make sure you ask for the river side rooms.

The room itself was okay. Kind of smelly but otherwise clean. While the lobby was heavily perfumed, the room itself smelled like someone had smoked in it a long time ago and the smell never came out. The bedding was clean and they provided plenty of towels, so that was fine. Those things are important.

The gym had broken equipment in it but was ok for a few days.

Gorgeous pool area.

Room Tip: Ask for river side room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolineMcMuffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crivera01, Manager at Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Greetings Caroline! We appreciate your feedback based on your recent stay with us. In regards to pricing on a riverside room versus the cityview rooms, there is a price difference which as you may know the riverside rooms come with full balconies and an amazing view of the rooms. We are sadden to hear that there were some other issues with your stay which you can be rest assured that it is not the norm for our property and that we've passed along your feedback to our Housekeeping and Maintenance Team to further look into. We appreciate your insight. Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

There was nothing good about my experience here. Of course even though hotel was nearly empty, we were put on street side (not river). Did not sleep a wink from the noise of drag racing through downtown all night. The hotel restaurant was Really! expensive for food Denny's could have done better. Staff was cold and unhelpful. Never Again!!

Room Tip: go somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luv2trvl1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crivera01, Manager at Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Hello luv2travel1964! It's truly unfortunate to hear that your past stay with us was not a positive one. We strive to make every guest's stay with us enjoyable and take to heart when we find out someone did not enjoy thier stay. In regards to the restaurant's prices, please note, we are priced actually lower than many of our hotel competitor's restaurants in an effort to be very affordable for our guests. Also, our rooms are priced from city view to river view being that the river view prices are higher. We strive to upgrade when possible and when the availability is there. Thank you for your feedback and we hope to have you again with a change of heart. Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

The location was fantastic. The view was even better.

Aileen at the service desk was just a pleasure to deal with and she went our of her way to make our stay a great one. She bumped us up a bit to the top floor with access to the club room.

The hotel was comfortable but not intimidating and quite full of people there for a game at the stadium. Parking was by valet only but the guys operating the valet stand were prompt and courteous each time we needed our car.

The pool overlooked the river and there were a few people at any given time taking advantage of it.

The room was not soundproof by any means; we could hear a lot of activity in the corridor outside our room very easily despite the fact that our door was recessed.

The room itself was comfortable enough, with a large, inviting balcony. The beds (as is the case with most Sheratons) were fantastic and very comfortable. The bathroom was very small and a bit dungeon-like. The room was clearly dated with the headboards being marked up and scratched, the bathroom having tiles a bit darkened with age.

Overall, it was a great experience and we felt immersed in the downtown Tampa experience.

Aileen recommended a place for breakfast called "First Watch" which was a couple city blocks away so we checked it out and it was a decent if non-conforming spot for breakfast.

Easily accessible to downtown attractions (Aquarium, etc).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josh D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crivera01, Manager at Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Hello Josh! Thanks for taking the time to submit a review on our property. As you stated, we have a great location which is along the water in the heart of Downtown Tampa. We are close to tons of restaurants and attractions - many within walking distance. We also offer a courtesy shuttle which runs within a 3 mile radius of the property. It's great to hear that you felt welcomed in the lobby and it didnt have the imtimidating feel to it...that's never a great feeling especially when traveling away from home. Finally, we'd love to tell you that we are very pleased to hear about your experience with Aileen as she's one of our shinning stars. Thanks again and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed January 8, 2013

my husband was having surgery at tampa general hospital & i stayed at this hotel for 3nights. the rooms were a little worn, but clean & the service we received could not have been better. from Danny(bellhop, valet, shuttle driver), Denise at checkin to Diane at the restaurant/bar a special "thank you". best breakfast buffet we've had at hotel's twice the price. would definetly stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mimi007Florida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crivera01, Manager at Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Hello mimi007Florida! Thank you so very much for taking the time to share your feedback with us. It was very rewarding to read your review. We pride ourselves with the service we deliver and it is always great to hear that our guests take notice. Danny, Denise and Diane are all valuable employees and we are truly lucky to have them on our team. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston, MA
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for one night before our cruise. The price by cab from the airport was $25. Our check in went very smoothly and we usedAAA for a great price. This included a nice buffet the next morning.
Yes the rugs could use replacing and the halls are a bit dingy, but the bed was wonderfully comfortable, the bathroom amenities better than usually, even shaving cream, and the tv had all the channels. We are at the Ashley restaurant in the evening,sitting outside looking at the river. The buffet was very good and our checkout quick. We took the shuttle to the pier for the cruise.
Would definitely stay here again. A bit noisy on the street side (you are downtown Tampa) and the extra cost for a river view was not necessary.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank vaca32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crystalrivera, Manager at Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Hello vaca32! Thank you for taking the time to submit a review on our hotel based on your previous stay with us before heading out to your cruise. We are pleased to hear that your check in and check out with our front desk team was nice and smooth. It's also great to hear that you were able to dine in our Ashley Street Grille Restaurant and enjoy the view of the river from your table. As you mentioned, we do offer a courtesy shuttle which can easily take our guests to/from the pier and anywhere within 3 miles of the hotel. Thanks again and hope your cruise experience was just as positive as your stay with us. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

First the good. The location of this hotel is great. It is right on the river, has a great view and is close to downtown attractions. The valet staff was excellent and was helpful at parking my car and finding me a cab when I needed one. As far as the room goes the bed was clean and comfortable and the shower was plenty hot.
Now the bad. This hotel is showing its age and is definitely due for a remodel. Fortunately judging by other comments, it looks like that should be coming soon. The negatives about the room I had are as follows. First the toilet paper holder kept coming apart and probably should be replaced. Second, the bathroom does not have very good ventilation and hopefully there will be an effort with the upcoming remodel to improve this, especially in a humid climate like Florida. Third, the television reception inside the room was not as clear as it should be. Finally the furniture on the balcony was worn and looked like it could use either a good cleaning or replacement. Despite these flaws, I would stay at this location again and hopefully any upcoming renovations will make it even better.

Room Tip: Get a river view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nimarsh82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crystalrivera, Manager at Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Hello NIMARSH82! We appreciate you taking the time to submit a review on the positives and negatives of our hotel. As you mentioned, the hotel is conveniently located along the river in the heart of Downtown Tampa. There are several attractions close by, and plenty of places to dine within walking distance. We also offer a courtesy shuttle which runs within 3 miles of the property. We are also pleased to hear that your room was not only clean but very comfortable which is always important when traveling from out of town. In regards to some of the cons you listed for the hotel, as the aging, please know that we are excited to announce that we will be undergoing a renovation this year which will touch several parts of the hotel including the rooms. Hopefully you will be able to visit us again and experience our new look post renovation. Thanks again for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
Aloft Tampa Downtown
#25 of 163 in Tampa
459 reviews
Hilton Tampa Downtown
#15 of 163 in Tampa
1,401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel

Property: Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel
Address: 200 N Ashley Dr, Tampa, FL 33602-5174
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Tampa
#53 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 277
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is conveniently located near the Port of Tampa and Raymond James Stadium, home of the Buccaneers. Onsite we also have over 10,000 sq ft of meeting and event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tampa Sheraton
Sheraton Tampa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing