We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Hotel Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel
Ranked #67 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed March 20, 2012

We stayed one night at the Sheraton as we were in town to run the Gasparilla Half Marathon. The hotel was very busy at check-in (around 3pm) but they gave us a room right away and it was very nice. I think the hotel might be older but it has been renovated so decor and bathrooms were up to date. If you're going to run Gasparilla this hotel is very central to the start/finish line as you can walk there. The hotel gift shop has lots of amenities too which was nice.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brittyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crivera01, Manager at Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2012

Greetings brittyc! Thanks for taking the time to submit a review on our hotel. We are glad to hear that your experience with us was a postitive one. As you mentioned, anyone attending the Gasparilla run would enjoy the hotel and it's location to the race. Thanks again for your feedback and we hope you did great on your half marathon! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,229)
There are newer reviews for Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

907 - 913 of 1,229 reviews

Reviewed March 19, 2012

I can’t understand the poor reviews about this hotel. We stayed here at the end of our holiday after a cruise from Tampa followed by touring in a car for a week. As we approached I thought “It’s only for 1 night and we’ve had a good holiday.” However, from the moment we pulled up outside we felt taken care of. The bellhop indicated to swing the car over and he had us out, baggage on a trolley and our names given to reception in about 60 seconds. It was a similar story at reception – key card in hand in about a minute and off we went to the room. The same bellhop arrived with the baggage about 5 minutes later.

I’d cashed in some Starpoints for a good rate. I knew it was for a city view room, but I was pleasantly surprised to get one of the few balconies on the city side and a decent size room. It was nice to see downtown as the sun set and the buildings turned red.

The carpet had clearly seen better days but everything was clean and the bed was the usual Sheraton high standard.

The bathroom was small, but I’ve found this to be the case in other Sheratons, but nicely furnished with a good selection of toiletries. I particularly liked the striped wallpaper and deco taps.

We had a walk around outside by the pool and river, before heading in for dinner at the Grille. It wasn’t very full, about 10 tables occupied on a Saturday evening. The service was “relaxed” but friendly and the food good though we didn’t order anything complicated. I would have been concerned if we’d been in a hurry.

I slept well, as expected, in the comfortable Sheraton bed. However I was awoken by some extremely inconsiderate people, clearly drunk, shouting for a good while around midnight out in the corridor. But this is not the fault of the hotel.

Check out was a similarly efficient affair and our car arrived from valet parking in seconds.

A very pleasant stay and excellent service.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelGav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crivera01, Manager at Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2012

Hello TravelGav! We would like to take this time to thank you for your recent review on our hotel. Reading your review was not only rewarding but gave us a great deal of satisfaction knowing that we made a great impact to the end of someone's holiday. Thanks again for staying with us and we hope to see you again on your next cruise trip from Tampa! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2012

We met friends and stayed over night on our way to the beach. The hotel was clean and the bed was so comfortable. We walked around downtown. Had our first grouper sandwich of the winter at the grill in the hotel. It was very good and spicy. The staff was very helpful.

Room Tip: Some have better views-we had a balcony that faced the road
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suzz22bd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crivera01, Manager at Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2012

Hello suzz22bd! We would like to take this time to thank you for recent feedback on our hotel. Glad to hear that you enjoyed the grouper from our restaurant - the Ashley Street Grille. It's one of the favs of the locals here. Thanks again for your review and we hope to see you again soon :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2012

We stayed here for one night before our cruise. We booked online and had no idea that we were arriving right in the middle of a huge pirate-themed parade commemorating the invasion of Gasparillo Bay. It was like I picture Mardi Gras to be, only with a pirate theme. Everyone was dressed in pirate costumes, even the bystanders, and they were all trying to catch Mardi Gras beads. The taxi had to drop us off across the street and down the block and we literally had to cut through the parade crowd with our luggages to get to the hotel as the parade passed right in front of the Sheraton. Once we got used to the fact that our hotel would be overrun with a circus-like atmospere that seemed like spring break (i.e. boisterous twentysomethings vommitting in the streets and halls), we decided to enjoy the free entertainment of the parade after all. The hotel itself is decent enough, an older property for sure. The room wasn't particularly clean (i.e. melted chocolate on the desk and garbage, dirt in the bathroom, etc.) We were lucky to have a balcony room on the river view side so that was scenic and peaceful. Restaurant service was terrible for dinner the night of the parade, and a tiny bit better for breakfast the next morning. Would try another Starwood hotel (we are SPG members) if I'm ever in Tampa again, maybe the Westin Harbour Island.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grapegirl26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crivera01, Manager at Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2012

Hello grapegirl26! Thanks for taking the time to submit your feedback based on your last stay with us. Please know that we've shared your feedback with our management team to look into and will make any corrective actions as necessary. On a brighter note, we are glad to hear that you were able to join in the local festivities of gasparilla. Thank you again for your recent review -it's feedback like yours that help us pin point where our areas of improvements are

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2012

I stayed here with my son who was performing at the Straz. The downtown area was disappointing for things to do. There is no shopping in the downtown, and limited nice restaurants. There is a first watch close by for breakfast. There is a CVS in walking distance. Also had drinks and food at Taps which is real close to theater, that was good too. The walking near the river to the Straz is really nice, there is alot of green space and a small dog park and park area. The Straz is very nice!! The Sheraton is old and needs updating, it was ok, beds were comfortable, valet parking expensive $18 a night, no other choices. I did not eat i the restaurant. Coffee in lobby was good. Staff was very nice and helpful with suggestions. Free shuttle available, i used it to go to Hyde park, just call the driver when you want to get picked up. This is a nice area for shopping and eating.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gelswell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crivera01, Manager at Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2012

Hello gelswell! Please let us start by saying thank you for your recent review on our property. We are glad to hear that you were able to enjoy the complimentary shuttle during your stay with us. Not to mention, the local venues, park and restaurants in Downtown Tampa. We are even more pleased to hear that your experience with our staff was a positive one. Thank you again for your feedback and we're sure your son did an amazing job performing at the Straz! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2012

We just recently stayed for one night while at my daughters volleyball tournament at the Tampa Convention center. The hotel is definitely older, but the service was really good. As SPG gold members we were upgraded to a club room floor, which was a treat for us. The carpets are slightly worn, but I didn't notice a lot of stains as stated in other reviews, and have seen much worse at some other Starwood properties. It is an older hotel, so we did notice baseboards coming off the wall, the towel rack in the bathroom was hanging by a screw on one side, the top dresser drawer didn't stay closed, and the bathroom fan whistled very loud(which was solved by placing a tissue on). These were minor things for us. That being said, the furniture and bathroom had all been updated and looked very modern, and the room was clean and comfortable. There was a charge for parking, but we could easily walk to the convention center or take their complimentary shuttle, and leave our car parked at the hotel for the following day which was really nice. I wouldn't hesitate to stay at this property again and would rate the property 3 1/2 if I could for the better than average service.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ga2rgirl65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crivera01, Manager at Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 29, 2012

Hello ga2rgirl65! We appreciate you taking the time to submit a review on our hotel and staff. Thanks for your feedback in regards to the issues in your room, please be assured that we have passed this information to our Engineering Dept for follow up and to take action as needed. As you stated, we do offer a complimentary shuttle service which is very accomodating in taking our guests anywhere within a 3 mile radius which takes away from the stress of driving in a new city. We are also very grateful for our amazing team which you encountered first hand. Thanks again for your review and we are sure your daughter did a fantastic job at her tournament. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2012

Located directly on the river in the downtown business district. Short walk to the University of Tampa. Nice updated clean rooms. Helpful staff. Beautiful large pool with a depth of 9ft. Be sure to request a room with a balcony as all do not have one.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank R S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crivera01, Manager at Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 29, 2012

Hello RS! Thank you for taking the time to submit a review on our property. We are extremely pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and would love to have you back when you are in town again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
Hilton Tampa Downtown
#15 of 163 in Tampa
1,456 reviews
Aloft Tampa Downtown
#22 of 163 in Tampa
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel

Address: 200 N Ashley Dr, Tampa, FL 33602-5174
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Tampa
#53 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range: $151 - $350 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 277
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is conveniently located near the Port of Tampa and Raymond James Stadium, home of the Buccaneers. Onsite we also have over 10,000 sq ft of meeting and event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Starwood, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tampa Sheraton
Sheraton Tampa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing