We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Sheraton at it's best”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel
Ranked #58 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
GreenLeadersSilver level
Ft Myers
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not Sheraton at it's best”
Reviewed December 7, 2007

Being "Starwood Preffered Guests" this was a disappointment. One elevator working, Stayed on the "Club Level Lounge" But nothing happening all week end in the club part. On Fri and Sat? Are they serious. Construction on the roof....right above our room. Kind of tough for a 3 year old to sleep through that. Nice view, food was okay....not great but okay.....Valet was decent.....but not a place to brag about.

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank CeltLord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    345
    355
    254
    148
    91
See reviews for
257
285
75
400
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (359)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
wheatranger
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 20, 2007

The room was in poor shape -- clean, but tiles were coming loose in the bathroom for instance. Nothing like you'd expect in a nice hotel and nothing like value for money. I reserved at the last minute and the front desk was nice and helpful in finding a room for me, but I moved to the Howard Johnson's -- it is a 15 minute walk north and there I got much more value.

  • Stayed November 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank wheatranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2007

We went to Tampa for a wedding, and wanted to stay downtown. After reading all the reviews on here, I was very worried about staying at this hotel, since the reviews seemed to be consistently bad. With much trepidation, we decided to give it a try.
We had a wonderful stay!! The room was very clean, and well lit, our room had a balconey that overlooked downtown.
The bathroom had marble countertops and they even provide a full size hairdryer. Everyone from the bellhop to the front desk was very courteous. We did not park our car in the valet parking, we parked our rental car in the Musuem of Art parking lot. There is a valet there for the restaraunt, so it safe! It only costs us $3 a night! Downtown was deserted making it easy to get around on the weekend.
Our room had a queen size bed, which was very comfortable.
The hotel is very close to Ebor City, Channel Side (the only good thing there if your over 25 is NYPD pizza. We were not impressed with the nightlife.
Daily papers were provided at our door. There is a small gift shop in the hotel lobby. We did not eat in the restaraunt, but did have a few drinks in the bar. I would definitely stay at this hotel again, and would recommend it. Only one elevator was working, since the other one was being renovated. The room does not have a mini bar, they do provide water bottles at $3.50 a bottle.

  • Liked — it was clean and bright
  • Disliked — Creamers and sugar for coffee were rock hard
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank trumera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2007

I have been a long time browser and this is my first review.
I actually read the reviews of the Sheraton Riverwalk before my stay and still decided to roll the dice and keep my allegiance to the Starwood brand. I did one night at this hotel and then moved to the Westin up the street for one night because I couldn’t get a room at the Westin for the first night of my trip. Here we go..

The Good:
- The staff couldn’t have been nicer and I was very pleasantly surprised after some of these reviews. Everyone I encountered got a thumbs up, from the front desk, to the small lobby store, to the bartender, it was all smiles.
- I was worried about the valet messing with my car (a rental) after reading some of the reviews below and having visions of Ferris Bueller’s Day Off. I was especially cognizant of this after Hertz upgraded me to a brand new Lincoln Navigator. I noted the mileage each time I came and all was normal. And they were able to have the car ready and waiting with only 4 or 5 mins notice.

The Bad:
- The elevators were miserable. Upon checking in, I waited for 10 minutes for the front desk to “reset” the elevators before deciding to walk up six flights of stairs w/ luggage.
- Despite being on the Club Level, the hallway was dark and drab. My room was fine and clean at first glance. I ended up finding long black hairs (I don’t know how the maids didn’t see them) on of the ‘clean’ towels in the bathroom and one inside the bed sheets.
- The AC kept clicking and I had to shut if off and open the windows to sleep.
- Room service stops at 11pm which always really bothers me. Especially when they are unapologetic and don’t offer any suggestions about were to get food at quarter past 11. For the record, the lobby bartender who had closed down shop for the night when I arrived was nice enough to hop behind the bar and make me a great martini – but there was no food to be had.
- The wireless internet was painfully slow (basically unsuable) and was the only option (no hard wire). I was getting 1 mb/sec during both peak and non peak hours.

Overall, I will not stay there again. The Westin was much better and had very similar rates.

  • Liked — the balcony, friendly staff
  • Disliked — condition of the hotel,
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NYC_UES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2007

Do not use the valet service at this hotel. We did and several hundred dollars later we were sorry we did. Our car was returned to us with several dents and scratches in it that the parking operator refused to take responsibility for. I sent an estimate along with pictures of the damages to 717 parking and received a letter from the management denying the damages were caused by their service. These dents and scratches were not there prior to leaving the car with the valet. The hotel does not offer self parking. Buyer Beware!

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — The dents in my car!
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank DerekStephens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2007

I stayed here for two nights over a weekend in June with a group of friends. We are all young professionals who travelled to Tampa for a 'guys weekend.' First of all, this is not a good location for those looking for an active weekend. This hotel seems to be in a business district in Tampa (just judging from my experience there) and therefore most of the immediate surrounding area was dead during my stay. On the bright side the hotel shuttle was very willing to haul us all around Tampa (within reason), for no fare, just tips. The only other decent thing about the stay was the pool. The hotel is fair at best and I would really only recommend staying here if you have some business meetings across the street and everything else is booked.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MRM-KY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2007

I posted a review, but mysterious it has disappeared. To make a long story short - the valet service took our car in the night and when we left it had been vomited in, empty beer bottle in front seat and the front bumper had dents in it. The management said they would comp our room and then denied ever taking the car out. We ended up with being charged for two nights - only stayed one - and no comp or acknowledgment of wrong doings. We are now in the process of trying to get the charges corrected, but as of now, no willingness to correct.

  • Liked — Descent rooms
  • Disliked — Management
  • Stayed May 2007
    • Value
Helpful?
3 Thank BMcNally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
Aloft Tampa Downtown
#26 of 163 in Tampa
438 reviews
Hilton Tampa Downtown
#15 of 163 in Tampa
1,374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel

Property: Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel
Address: 200 N Ashley Dr, Tampa, FL 33602-5174
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Tampa
#53 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 277
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is conveniently located near the Port of Tampa and Raymond James Stadium, home of the Buccaneers. Onsite we also have over 10,000 sq ft of meeting and event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tampa Sheraton
Sheraton Tampa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing