We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“House Keeping Quality Control” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of TownePlace Suites Tampa Westshore/Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
TownePlace Suites Tampa Westshore/Airport
Ranked #67 of 161 Hotels in Tampa
Marshfield
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“House Keeping Quality Control”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

Marriott Platinum Elite Member - Stayed one night before an early morning departure out of TPA, staff was friendly assisting me with tape to secure a box that I was sending out. Shuttle bus drivers were both very nice and got me to and from the airport without incident in a timely fashion. Only concern was that housekeeping forget to check the cupboards and refrigerator as I found a previous guests food left in both places (nasty), otherwise my upgrade into a two bedroom suite was a bit over the top, but non the less the staff did recognize my status and provided the upgrade, thank you.

Room Tip: They share a bus with the parking garage next door, you have to know the name of the bus service as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarshfieldWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    73
    44
    10
    4
See reviews for
46
48
14
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
260 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014

We had an early morning flight out of TPA, and this hotel took 1/3 the points of other Marriot properties at or near the airport. This property is literally less than 2 minutes away from the airport.

It gets a ding for not having king beds. None. Not one in the whole hotel. That's usually enough to make me stay elsewhere. But, as noted, it was a point bargain and we were only there a few hours.

I had never stayed at this brand. I like it. It's kind of like a scaled down Residence Inn with a price to match. It has a small kitchen with small but real appliances, plates, dishes, etc. Nice big closets. It would be ideal for an extended stay... a bit better equipped for longer term guests than your standard hotel. Good bed. Nice, well equipped bathroom. Everything was clean, tidy, and well maintained. It's kind of a different feel from your standard Marriott brand with a kind of funky lobby and kind of mazey hallways, but it was nice. They also had an expanded little store, with a few more items than one finds in the standard hotel.

Check in was quick and painless. Internet (free) worked just fine. Everyone was friendly. Free breakfast had few options, but it was good.

We'll definitely stay here again when we have an early morning TPA departure. And we'll definitely consider the brand when we are traveling.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Klomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

Checked in here for a night before a wedding. Greeted by David at front desk with a warm welcome! My suite was well-appointed and spotless. When I called for 10am wake-up call, the lady on the phone explained that if I slept until 10am I'd miss their free breakfast;) That's Hospitality! David was at the front desk for my check out with another warm smile! The staff takes pride in this property and it shows!

Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank ImaStewardess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hurricane, West Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

My wife, four young children, and I stayed at this TownePlace Suites on March 26-28, 2014. I researched several hotels but this was one of the few that was able to meet our needs as a large family supposedly due to local fire codes. I don't mind paying a little more for a hotel room as long as it meets our needs. In this case we paid $557.76 for a two night stay. As a Rewards Member, I have always experienced clean, nice rooms with Marriott. Not the case this time. The room was spacious enough however it was dingy and had a musty smell. The furniture was well worn and in need of replacement. Our childen walked around in their bare feet the first evening until we noticed that their feet were black with filth from the carpet. The first night from about 3am-4am it sounded like remodeling was taking place in the room directly above us. I complained at the front desk and was told that the person above us stated that they just woke up and had not heard any disturbance. At 4am the second night, we were awoken by a guest taking a shower and singing at the top of her lungs. I hardly ever complain about anything. I'm pretty easy going but I feel like I was robbed of $557.76 at this hotel. The only thing positive I can say is that the staff were friendly.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TPSAvion, Manager at TownePlace Suites Tampa Westshore/Airport, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear MICHAEL T.,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a survey and sharing your experience with the TownePlace Suites Tampa Westshore/Airport. I apologize that your recent stay was not satisfactory and appreciate your feedback.

You’re a valued customer; everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience. Please be assured that we are taking immediate corrective steps to avoid such problems in the future. Our property will go through renovations in late July 2014 and we will be getting new carpet and new furnitures. The renovation should take 3-4 months to complete. I would like to discuss your recent stay in private if you can please call me or email me at the below information I would greatly appreciate it..

Once again, please accept my apology. We would like to regain your trust and we hope you will allow us an opportunity to provide you with an exceptional guest experience when your travels bring you back to this area.

Sincerely,
JUAN RAMOS
Assistant General Manager
TownePlace Suites by Marriott Tampa Westshore
tps.tpatw.agm@marriott.com
813-282-1081
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thurmont, Maryland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014

We are nearing the end of a 30 day stay at this hotel in Tampa. This has been an excellent hotel experience. The staff has been very helpful, and they convey a friendly attitude toward guests and are ready to meet all needs and requests at amoment's notice. The manager has been very interested in our comfort and needs during our stay, and the staff reflect this management style in their interactions with us. The room is well appointed, spotlessly clean and all appliances and fixtures are in excellent condition. Light breakfast is available each morning. Coffee is available 24 hours each day. The location is adjacent to Tampa International Airport, and very near major highways but has provided us with a very quiet, restful stay. This hotel offers excellent accomodations at a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pjf41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nebraska
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014

Our party of six stayed in a three room suite in January. The shuttle driver(provided by TownePlace) that picked us up at the airport was very friendly and helpful. Location of TownePlace is close to the Tampa airport. Upon arriving at TownePlace we were greeted by a smiling and extremely service oriented Holly, who quickly processed us into our suite. The suite was very spacious and clean with very comfortable beds, refrigerator, stove, and microwave also provided in suite in which we stayed. Holly was top notch in making sure that we were satisfied with our room and other accomodations. Nancy, the night desk manager also provided great service and was very friendly. Both provided good information about places to eat and shopping.
The complimenatory continental breakfast consisted of cereals (hot & cold), pastries, yogurt, fruits, juices and coffee. Coffee and tea in the lobby 24/7. Complimentary shuttle service every half hour to the airport, two of the local malls and Leroy Selmon's, a local barbeque restaurant with great food! TownePlace Suites was a very good place to stay for a good night's sleep and welcoming, friendly service. Also has a nice outdoor pool and an indoor workout room.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hoseman15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014

In addition to spotless accommodations, the service of the general manager provides extraordinary customer service!

My colleague and I stayed at this Marriott property on multiple occasions to our complete satisfaction. When we needed rooms again and the property was sold out and no rooms were available we tried to make reservations in the area through the Platinum line but couldnt get rooms in the area at the rate we needed. However, the general manager of TownPlace Tampa Westshore, Abel Bohorquez, did! He found us rooms at the rate we needed at a nearby Marriott property and 'saved the day'!

This is the kind of service that ensures Marriott loyalty!

Room Tip: all rooms are great-all clean and quiet
See more room tips
Green Features: I am not aware of any practices that contradict with ecofriendly acts. All Marriotts I am aware of participate in eco friendly activities
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 832Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
0.1 mi away
Homewood Suites Tampa Airport - Westshore
0.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites Tampa Westshore Airport
1.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Tampa Westshore/Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Residence Inn Tampa Westshore/Airport
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Tampa Airport/Westshore
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Tampa International Airport / Westshore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TownePlace Suites Tampa Westshore/Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace Suites Tampa Westshore/Airport

Property: TownePlace Suites Tampa Westshore/Airport
Address: 5302 Avion Park Dr, Tampa, FL 33607-1412
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in Tampa
#46 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — TownePlace Suites Tampa Westshore/Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your TownePlace Suites Tampa Westshore/Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Towneplace Suites Tampa Westshore / Airport Hotel Tampa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing