We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Wonderful for a long-time stay - Exceptional Staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of TownePlace Suites Tampa Westshore/Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
TownePlace Suites Tampa Westshore/Airport
Ranked #74 of 162 Hotels in Tampa
Level Contributor
91 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Wonderful for a long-time stay - Exceptional Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Staying here for over 30 days due to a PCS move and overall very happy with our experience. Sure there are a few bumps like the bed as per another reviewer. In regards to the mattress, we simply talked to the manager on duty and promptly the mattress was rotated and a board found to place under the mattress. Problem solved! The staff is very easy to talk with and eager to ensure our satisfaction. From the General Manager Abel, to Angela, Holly, David, Hector, and Nancy to our housekeeping staff, everyone smiles and does their job which is to provide outstanding Marriott-style service.
This is a small property with several long-term residents. It's very close to the airport and there is a shuttle service about every 15 minutes to the airport and it's an all-night shuttle as well. There is nothing 'fancy' about this property but you have everything you need. A very basic breakfast is served every day, yoghurt, fruit, cold cereal, orange juice, water, milk, oatmeal. Coffee/Tea available 24/7. The rooms are pretty clean, equipped with kitchen and basic kitchen supplies. Housekeeping freshens every day and for long-term guests like us, a full cleaning once a week is done but the housekeeping staff will ask if there is anything else you need if you are in the room when they come to clean. Small house pets are accepted. There is a small gym which is mostly 2 treadmills and 1 elliptical and a few hand weights. Outdoor pool great for lap swimmers. There is plenty of parking both free and paid. Great location - half mile to the International Mall, about a mile to Westshore Mall. LOTS of options to eat out if that's what you prefer.
I would highly recommend this to anyone who wanted a long-term option or even for just an overnight while transitioning through Tampa Airport.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mimaboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    69
    44
    10
    4
See reviews for
43
46
14
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

The room was a suite with full kitchen (stove, oven, microwave, sink) and a great desk area with lots of cabinet space. The bed, while clean and neat, felt like it was a very cheap mattress and was very uncomfortable. My wife and I only stayed here for 1 night before taking a cruise the next day. We'd probably do it again for a 1 night stay because it was so conveniently located close to the airport where you could catch a shuttle bus to the port. I wouldn't stay here for a prolonged stay given the uncomfortableness of the bed unless it was a business trip because the room seemed far more geared towards a business traveler given the full kitchen and great desk space.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

After staying at only 2 TownePlace Suites properties, and having such vastly different experiences, I emailed ahead to this property manager to be sure my 2nd experience with TP suites wouldn’t be repeated on my 3rd, and to be sure I could bring my family there for the 1st time with confidence. I was assured that my family and I would be pleased with this property.

My first TP experience was great and really had me sold on the brand; but this one went above and beyond that! Of course, it could be because I stayed in a 2-bedroom versus a simple suite at the 1st one! Both staffs were extremely friendly, knowledgeable and helpful; but these guys and girls really shine the most!

The property manager was extremely kind to me and suffered many email exchanges before our stay. One of the things she helped me with was seamlessly upgradeding us up to the 2-bedroom suite at the last minute.

The front desk personnel answered my many questions along the way (don’t you love the guest who can only think of one question per phone call????) – from parking arrangements, to shuttle service, to cruise parking, where to eat, the list goes on. All were answered patiently, kindly and accurately. When I called ahead early that morning to see about an early check in I was told that nothing could be promised but that they would keep a lookout for an early check out and get housekeeping right on it.

When I got the Tampa airport, I called to find out that it would be around 12:30p or so. PERFECT! Also, when it came to helping a non-savvy airline guest get to the right place for (FREE) shuttle pickup to the hotel after getting totally turned around, Ms Holley patiently got me where I needed to be while preserving my dignity! ;)

The free airport shuttle service is excellent, prompt, and accommodating.

Upon arrival we were greeted by Holley. After checking us in and offering to keep a 3rd key at the desk for my sister who was to arrive later, she reached for the phone to call housekeeping to see if our room was ready, but instead, wound up answering a call FROM HOUSEKEEPING to say our ROOM WAS READY! WOW! Was this team working together to get us what we wanted, or what?? When we got off the elevator, the housekeeping professional was right there and used her key to let us into our beautiful room! I could feel her pride in having the room so pristine and ready for us right on time!

The suite:
-Immaculate
-Beautiful
-Full Kitchen
-spacious bedrooms with LCD TV in each
-2 beds in each bedroom! WOW!
-EVERYTHING in the suite was in good repair!
- very comfortable!
-Wi-Fi was SIMPLE, FAST, & FREE!

The breakfast is simple continental, and included in the room rate.

We were going to go to the restaurant at the hotel next door; but Holley overheard us and apologized that the restaurant was closed for lunch; BUT she was FULL OF SOLUTIONS. We chose to call the local sub shop for delivery. Holley gave us a menu and called in the order for us! Also, when the guy took a bit longer from going to the wrong place, she took it upon herself to call him and redirect him!

This kind of service is MUCH APPRECIATED.

If I ever find myself in the Tampa area again, this will be my choice. I would bet the same for my mom and my sister!

To Ms. Maurer, or, “Miss Angela” as her team fondly refers to her: You have a great team and my mom and sister’s 1st TownePlace Suites stay was a success, to which they both responded, “These are NICE….we need to look into these next time we travel!”.

THANK YOU SO MUCH!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Soundsgood2me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Level Contributor
121 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Hotel is good with all amenities required. Check in was easy and the clerk was friendly and helpful. Free shuttle to the airport. The only restaurant close by was in the Hilton next door. Without a car you can consider yourself stranded.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John-in-Utah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This was my first stay at a Towneplace, i was suprised at the size of the rooms and the full kitchen, very convenient cause i was here for a few days. I was suprised that we couldn't hear air traffic from the airport across the street. The room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was a simple breakfast nothing to write home about. The only issue was staff was a little scare at times. i searched their little pantry/snack area but no one was around so i didn't purchase anything.
overall i believe i will stay here again if I am in this area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ladym671
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel the night before our flight out of Tampa. The room was ok, but extremely small for two people and two suitcases. Very close to the airport, which surprisingly did not have much air traffic noise. This hotel is also very close to a mall with a few nice restaurants. I would recommend this hotel when needing to stay close to the airport for an early flight. Perfect for a business traveler, but not great for an extended vacation.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Carrie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TPSAvion, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Tampa Westshore/Airport, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to share your experience. I’m pleased to hear that you appreciated the proximity of the hotel to the airport. Also, that even though we are this close to the airport the noise level is non-existent. When this hotel was being built one of the main considerations was to ensure that the airport traffic noise not be a deterrent to our guests. I would like to share that we do offer 2 other room types, our One-Bedroom and Two-Bedroom suites that provide more square footage if interested for the future. Thanks again for your time and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Abel Bohorquez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Mary, Florida
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

We checked in on a Friday night for a short weekend getaway to Tampa. The front desk receptionist was friendly and offered up suggestions on what to do and where to eat. We took a quick elevator ride up to our room and got to our room.

We were pleasantly surprised at how much they were able to fit into the room - a sink, stovetop, dishwasher, microwave, upper cabinets, and a 5 foot tall fridge. There was a moderate sized closet for your luggage, coats, etc with some shelving and the iron and ironing board. Then there's a desk area with more shelving space and a moveable desk, a desk chair, arm chair with a foot rest, queen-sized bed with a full bathroom and another closet. The space doesn't feel cramped at all. It is very well laid out.

The towels leave something to be desired. They're hard and have seen better days. The room was pretty clean. There was some hair on the ceiling, which was really odd.

The walls are very thin. You can hear everything and you can certainly hear everything from the hallways.

The breakfast is adequate. They offer some fruits, yogurts, cereals and orange juice.

The hotel is literally across the street from the airport, but you can't hear planes taking off or road noise. A hotel shuttle is available to the Port and to the airport. They even offer park and fly packages to leave your car here.

The parking was fine for us. This doesn't seem to be a particularly busy time of year, though. I can see where the parking might get dicey.

The pool is so long! You could do laps in it and get in a lot of distance. It was too cold to use, but definitely worth checking out when it's warmer. They also have a bbq out back to use.

Oh, and most importantly, they're pet-friendly for a small fee!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsTravelQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
0.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites Tampa Westshore Airport
1.1 mi away
Residence Inn Tampa Westshore/Airport
1.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Tampa Westshore/Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Homewood Suites Tampa Airport - Westshore
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Tampa International Airport / Westshore
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Airport Westshore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TownePlace Suites Tampa Westshore/Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace Suites Tampa Westshore/Airport

Property: TownePlace Suites Tampa Westshore/Airport
Address: 5302 Avion Park Dr, Tampa, FL 33607-1412
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in Tampa
#46 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — TownePlace Suites Tampa Westshore/Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Marriott, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your TownePlace Suites Tampa Westshore/Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Towneplace Suites Tampa Westshore / Airport Hotel Tampa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing