We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tampa History”

Henry B. Plant Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$29.99*
and up
Tampa History Cruise
Ranked #14 of 197 things to do in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Once the Tampa Bay Hotel, this museum focuses on the hotel's role in the Spanish-American War.
Tampa, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Tampa History”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

This museum is specially great around the Holidays. Other than that, leave the small kids at home, they'll get boared.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Terry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

596 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    322
    207
    54
    11
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Tampa nostalgia”
Reviewed November 14, 2013

I've been living in Tampa since 1973 and this was my first visit, I can't believe I never took the time to visit this treasure. I expected it to be a tiny boring museum but I was pleasantly surprised. I learned so much about this man and what a impact he had on Tampa. It was a educational but not boring visit. It's amazing how much he did to put Tampa on the map. This was a luxury hotel where people of fame and wealth could stay. They have tried to keep everything original including the rounded glass windows. His wife and himself traveled all over the world collecting things for his grand hotel. It is beautiful. It is well worth taking a self guided tour with a audio tour guide. You can do it at your own pace and enjoy Tampa's history

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Boyd F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
406 reviews
95 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Breathtaking”
Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

Walked onto the campus of Tampa Univ. and was just taken with the architecture. The inside matched the beauty of thus immense southern charmed hotel. I'm so glad its available for the public eye.

Helpful?
Thank Tundrachoochoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Big secret”
Reviewed November 9, 2013

For a small museum there is a large amount of history and fun crammed into the location. I wish more people knew about the place, seems to be the best kept secret in Tampa, Wonderful gift store and great docents to explain the sights if you don't want to use the mobile prompters.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Diana W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freeport, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very friendly staff”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

It was so interesting. The staff was very kind and helpful. Very disability friendly. Everything was well preserved and I loved the audio tour included with admission. I throughly enjoyed it.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Donna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Henry B. Plant Museum also viewed

 

Been to Henry B. Plant Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing