We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beacon of a luxurious past” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Henry B. Plant Museum

Henry B. Plant Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$29.99*
and up
Tampa History Cruise
Ranked #14 of 195 things to do in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Once the Tampa Bay Hotel, this museum focuses on the hotel's role in the Spanish-American War.
Houston
Level Contributor
145 reviews
83 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Beacon of a luxurious past”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

It would be worth going to this building just to admire the splendid Moorish architectural details provided for what used to be the Tampa Bay hotel. The self-guided tour of the Henry B. Plant Museum is a step back of what could be described as a state of exquisite opulence. The quality and the sheer number of paintings, jewelry pieces, art objects, furniture, etc. is mind boggling and so fulfilling when you admire those beautiful things. There is also a well stocked gift shop on the same floor. It is also worth walking over to the university located in the same building which gives you the chance to admire the well maintained ground and wonder about the life of the people who would have been sitting on the front porch with the beautiful view.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank llh007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    285
    196
    54
    11
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
globeseeker007
Level Contributor
1,099 reviews
633 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,129 helpful votes
“History and beautiful furniture brought together”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

This museum is located inside of the Tampa Bay Hotel which Henry B. Plant had built in the latter part of the 19th century. It is a huge structure with Moorish and Turkish architecture and is a historical landmark. Today it shares the building with a university so there are students to be seen throughout the place. The grounds are beautiful and well maintained. The museum has quite a few rooms filled with antique furniture which was actually used in the place when it was a hotel. One room is filled with jewelry and there are photographs throughout. There are paintings and portraits and artifacts from over a century ago. Another room is dedicated to the Spanish American War due to the fact that the hotel hosted some of the nation's military and civilian leaders during that conflict. There are rifles, uniforms, a sword, and various military equipment. The museum has a video that plays continuously and a gift shop.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank globeseeker007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good way to spend a few hours for a few bucks”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

I had a Groupon 2 for $10. A great way to spend a couple hours out of the Florida sun. My best friend & I went as part of my birthday. I love history including local history so I found this place to be very enjoyable. It was fun to see the pictures from way back when & imagine life at that time. Taking my mom this weekend.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank JustMe1245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very nice, Student of UT”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

My orientation and welcome was placed at Plant Hall, seeing it for the first time ever was awesome. Loved the architecture and the whole vibe of the place, took a lot of pictures and loved just roaming around looking at the plagues and memorabilia at the place. Enjoyed this one.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bilal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
“Christmas at The Plant Museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

We went to the Plant Museum last year just before Christmas. They have it all decorated for the holiday with many different trees, and other decorations. It is beautiful!

They served us refreshments on the porch after we finished. It was a nice night.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jenny0252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Henry B. Plant Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing