We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A charming museum at the University of Tampa” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Henry B. Plant Museum

Henry B. Plant Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$29.99*
and up
Tampa History Cruise
Ranked #14 of 195 things to do in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Once the Tampa Bay Hotel, this museum focuses on the hotel's role in the Spanish-American War.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
717 reviews
307 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 339 helpful votes
“A charming museum at the University of Tampa”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2011

The Henry Plant Museum is part of the University of Tampa, a private school.
The University of Tampa was once the most prestigious hotel in Tampa. It was built by the railroad magnate, Henry Plant.

It is open to the public (for a fee) except on Mondays and major holidays.

During the 1st 3 weeks in December, they have the Victorian Christmas stroll. The rooms are decorated for the Holidays. In the evening, warm cider and cookies are served to the guests. At night, the lighted minarets are very exotic looking and they add charm to the campus.

Visited March 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank TRAVELdglobenow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    285
    197
    54
    11
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port Orange, Florida
Level Contributor
105 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Henry Plant’s famous Tampa Hotel.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2011

A very interesting view of one of Henry Plant’s famous hotels in Tampa. Plant did for Central and Western Florida what Flagler did for Florida’s East Coast & Key West.

The Byzantine style Tampa Hotel & Plant Museum is on the grounds of Tampa University and serve as a historic remnant of the Gilded Age & Robber Barons.
An audio tour is included with the admission. 1.5 – 3 hours is about right, especially if you walk around the portion of the site that now is occupied by Tampa U.

***This is probably not the right place to bring children or anyone not interested in history, but for the mature history buff it’s a very worthwhile place to visit.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank CrankyRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roswell, Georgia
Level Contributor
172 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Great look back to the gilded age”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2011

Beautiful magnificent old hotel built before the 1900's. The hotel has gone thru a long history and is now mostly used by the university for class rooms. Part of the hotel has been turned into a museum. Current entry cost is $10. Park off site to save a buck. Street parking is right across the street from the main entrance for free. Be sure to enter the main building where the university is. You can walk around and see more outside the museum section, just don't disturb the classes in session. A must see while in the Tampa area.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank tireman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A Fascinating Step Back In Time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2011

Having been intrigued by the metal spires adoring the skyline from downtown Tampa, I toured the Henry B Plant museum not really knowing what to expect inside the beautifully ornate exterior. Upon arrival, we received our audio tours (which were included with the admission price) and proceeded into the museum. As we completed the self guided tour, I felt as though I had been transported back in time to a fascinating by-gone Victorian era. Each stop on the audio guide tour provided detailed information that was both educational, entertaining, and dramatic. The information about Henry B Plant and the empire he created with his hotels, railroads, and cruise ships was incredibly interesting. The museum is not very large and we completed our tour within 1.5 hours (taking time to linger). At the end of the tour, we were able to get some amazing photos at the front entrance of the intricate Victorian woodwork adorning the hotels facade. It is one of the most spectacular architectural masterpieces I have seen in the US, and I highly recommend a visit, you will not be disappointed.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelinFiend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Placitas, New Mexico
Level Contributor
159 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“A glimpse of a different world”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2010

A visit to the Henry B. Plant Museum is extremely worthwhile. In an hour's visit, you'll gain a whole new perspective on the history of the Tampa Bay area and the evolution of Florida tourism. The museum is located in a wing of the former Tampa Bay Hotel, a grandly ornate late 19th century mega-resort of its day. The building has been meticulously restored and contains many artworks and relics of the hotel's heyday. It is surrounded by the attractive campus of the University of Tampa. Spring for the extra dollar or so and get the automated tour. It will add to your appreciation of the details of what you are looking at.

Helpful?
3 Thank Travelin_Bear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Henry B. Plant Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing