We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic, quiet, and interesting place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ybor City

Ybor City
Northeast of the Downtown Tampa on I-4 at Exit 1, Tampa, FL 33618 (Historic Ybor)
813-247-4040
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Recommended
$155*
and up
Busch Gardens and Alafia River Wildlife...
Ranked #19 of 153 things to do in Tampa
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Once the cigar capital of the world, Ybor City is now a thriving community.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
64 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Historic, quiet, and interesting place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Ybor is the city to learn and feel about old Florida and cigars. We had lunch at the famous Columbia Restaurant and the food as well as the treatment was excellent. We visited museums and different stores and also stop at different cafes to warm up because when we went the temperature dropped to 42. We visited different parks and the Mall. There are new restaurants, cafes and the environment is really nice quiet, clean and safe.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank lightandfit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,083 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
43 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Attention: Ybor has improved since 2009 !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

My last visit was in 2009 before last weekend (April 2013)... what a difference! New restaurants, businesses, and at least 7 more cigar shops and cafe's. The place was totally cleaner and some of the shady/nasty bars-clubs were gone. I heard later they closed them down for good.

People were walking the streets all day shopping, taking pictures, watching cigars being made, what a place! If you are a cigar lover, or you just like history, this is the place for you!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Aprilia_Motogp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davisville
Level Contributor
73 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A must see when in Tampa.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

The history of the cigar district and the shops....cafes.....cigar shops....and the people make the visit worthwhile. Allow yourself time to take a stroll or one of the guided tours.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank pr8head1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collingswood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Ybor, no bore”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

If your in the area and want to feel old Florida..it's Ybor for you. If your gay , there is a definate gay vibe going on. A little bit of New Orleans , some funk, the potential for fun so what's not to like . stop at a restaurant or bar have a drink and something to eat ..smoke a handrolled cigar if your into it , and do some shopping . While there take the open air Trolley we didn't but next time we will.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank ursousa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Love Ybor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Many things to see and do in Ybor. Fun to walk around, take the trolley from downtown, walk the streets, visit the shops and the restaurants are excellent. Nice atmosphere.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Melita P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ybor City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing