We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afternoon well spent”

The Florida Aquarium
Book In Advance
More Info
$21.99*
and up
The Florida Aquarium in Tampa Bay
More Info
$99.99*
and up
Swim with the Sharks at the Florida Aquarium
More Info
$129.99*
and up
Dive with the Sharks at The Florida Aquarium in Tampa Bay
Ranked #13 of 198 things to do in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Go from tree level to sea level while being entertained and educated at The Florida Aquarium! With more than 20,000 species of animals and plants including sharks, alligators, seahorses and more, you’re sure to have an amazing aquatic experience. Begin your Aquarium adventure on our Florida Wetlands Trail. Winding through a vast mangrove forest, you’ll encounter river otters, free-flying birds and native fish. Continue to the second floor of the Wetlands gallery and enter Journey to Madagascar. Filled with Ring-tailed Lemurs, hissing cockroaches and colorful chameleons,this exhibit captures the unique Island of Madagascar and the diverse animals that call it home. The next part on your journey will take you through Bays & Beaches where you’ll discover a Goliath Grouper and other species that call Tampa Bay home. Be sure to make a stop at Stingray Beach where you can touch stingrays and sharks!As you travel onward you’ll descend deeper into aquatic environments where you’ll discover stingrays, reef fishes, sea turtles and our massive sand tiger sharks!
Sydney, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Afternoon well spent”
Reviewed August 26, 2014

Lots of hands on experiences, large variety of exhibits for an aquarium and the splash area outside was great for the kids on a hot summer day.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jdto20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,804
    1,488
    690
    155
    57
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belleville, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Wishing there was more to see”
Reviewed August 25, 2014

It seemed a nice place to hang out for the day but in reality we were done exploring the aquarium in less than an hour.I was expecting to see dolphins ,sharks or just bigger animals. There were a lot of fish!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank yirah927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Not worth the admission fee”
Reviewed August 23, 2014

Having visited the Florida Aquarium in Tampa for the second time to give it a second chance, I was sorry I did not opt to go to the aquarium in Clearwater, Florida instead. The dolphin from the movie "Dolphin Tale" is housed in Clearwater as well. The Florida Aquarium was definitely not worth the admission fee. The corridors are dark & not well kept. The sea life, bird & other exhibits offered are average at best & there are few staffers readily available to direct you around nor to answer any questions. Much of the sea life are housed in tanks of water that bearly cover them over. The touch the sea life section has people "handling" sea life like star fish & the like giving the handled sea life occasional 10 minute breaks. It seems cruel. The Madagascar exhibit consisted of a few depressed looking ring tail lemur on the third floor which is actually the roof I suspect & one has to navigate past a/c ductwork & other operating equipment to find the exhibit with inadequate signage.
The otter exhibit was closed as well, for maintenance. Someone said that the aquarium had more to offer than it did when it first opened, perhaps so but it is not well kept & a tad shabby in appearance. It also smelled like a fish market as soon as you entered the doors. There was a water play area for kids but nothing to write home about. There is a dolphin Eco tour offered but I didn't take it & noticed that there were not many others opting to do so either.
I reiterate, given the choice, opt for the aquarium in Clearwater, Florida it is not far away & the hotels in Clearwater also offer white sandy beaches.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Marilyn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great family fun for all. ”
Reviewed August 23, 2014 via mobile

This is a great place to visit no matter your age or group you are with. We intended on going to see the sites of Tampa and showing our daughter something new, interesting, and same time educating. It ended up us adults having as much fun as the kids! Great setup with some amazing "residents". All the workers there were amazing, friendly, and so full of knowledge. I saw things I didn't even know existed. We all got to pet the sting rays (my daughter thought this was amazing). The shark tank was a huge hit! My daughter also loved the trip through "Madagascar", she felt like she was inside one of her favorite movies. And to make matters even better they had a water area the kids can play in when all said and done, while I sipped on a nice ice cold beer sold by a vendor at the aquarium. Great place for everyone to visit and enjoy the day. And very close by is a bunch of good places to eat and huge bowling alley if you want to keep the fun going!

Helpful?
Thank Bauer228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Charles
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice little Aquarium”
Reviewed August 22, 2014

I stayed for a long weekend after a business trip, went with my family to this Aquarium and it was nice. They had some good shows and displays, however, it is nothing spectacular. This is good for young children

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank AlexandraTheEmpress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Florida Aquarium also viewed

 

Been to The Florida Aquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing