We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I had been wanting to eat here for a while now!”

Council Oak Steaks & Seafood
Reserve with OpenTable
Council Oak Steaks & Seafood is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #102 of 2,367 Restaurants in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Council Oak Steaks & Seafood is celebrating seven years of being one of Tampa Bay's BEST Steakhouses. This crown jewel serves only the finest cuts of dry aged prime beef and the freshest seafood from local waters. The award-winning restaurant recently won the 2014 Trip Advisor Certificate of Excellence, as well as the 2014 Wine Spectator Award of Excellence. Be sure to visit us to see why the restaurant was recently added to one of the most prestigious restaurant review guides, Zagat.
Spring Hill, Florida
Level Contributor
51 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“I had been wanting to eat here for a while now!”
Reviewed December 28, 2011

The restaurant is decorated beautifully, the booths and tables are private and romantic. The service we received was phenomenal. The timing of the whole meal was perfect, from appetizer to salads, to dinner and our flaming dessert. The entire experience was perfect. We will return!

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
Thank Sheriboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    170
    58
    28
    12
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Clearwater, Florida
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“it is obvious guests and business do not matter!”
Reviewed December 13, 2011

i recently tried making reservations for a group of business associates for dinner. After speaking with the hostess to no avail, I asked to speak to the General Manager and he would not get on the phone only using the hostess as a spokesperson. They would not take a reservation for fourteen people. I also ask to speak to the director of food and beverage to see why they were not interested in taking our reservation, of course he would not answer as well. I did leave a message, guess what? Shocker, no call back! Too me, in this economic enviroment , this is unimaginable! This is the poorest demonstration of guest service I have experienced in years, which I am sure permeates the entire restaurant. Do not waste your time or money on this primadonna big dollar restaurant!!

  • Visited November 2011
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank craig j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Public Relations Manager at Council Oak Steaks & Seafood, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
We"re very sorry to hear that you had this kind of experience trying to contact someone at Council Oak. Great guest service is very important to us and we're sorry we did not deliver on that with you. Council Oak is designed to be an intimate space, and because of this, we just don't have the room for a 14 person party. We're very sorry we were unable to accomodate you, but we do hope you'll give us another chance some day. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“get the ribeye”
Reviewed November 17, 2011

If you have money to burn then go for it. I ordered the Ribeye witch was cooked perfectly and had a nice charred seer to it. My wife and her friend recommends the Filet special. My buddy was disappointed with his Porterhouse. It was missing flavor and that nice seer wasn't there. The Shrimp Cocktail was to die for, a must have. the mash dish was tasty and the asparages where slightly under cooked. All in all we had a great time, friendly, professionalism with a lovely atmosphere.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank sean h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
113 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
Reviewed October 3, 2011

My first time eating at the Council Oak, which was so awesome. We had a wonderful large booth with view of the kitchen. The kitchen is so fun to watch due to the huge pieces of bone in steaks and chops that you see being expertly grilled. When you walk in you can see the butcher shop full of all the cuts of meats which are prime choice. Our server Danny was so wonderful and attentive. We had an excellent time. I recommend steak or lamb chops, they are grilled and seasoned to perfection. We will definitely go back!

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DDTSarasota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
2 reviews
“Amazing”
Reviewed September 19, 2011

I was pleasantly surprised with our meal at Council Oak. Food was so good that we ate way too much, best NY strip I have found in Tampa. My husband had crablegs, wow. The butter was prepared perfectly to complement these huge legs. Perfect meal and great service.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank zel502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Council Oak Steaks & Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing