We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of food for cheap”

Spain Restaurant & Toma Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Spain Restaurant & Toma Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #236 of 2,399 Restaurants in Tampa
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: E Twiggs Street / Madison Street
Transit: Downtown Trolly available
Description: Enjoy Mediterranean atmosphere in Tampa's most unique, modern, urban setting complimented by excellent authentic Spanish cuisine at affordable prices. Just blocks around the corner from Tampa Bay Performing Arts Center and the Tampa Theater, the Spain Restaurant and Toma Tapas Bar is the perfect place to be before or after a show. We offer "Live Music" every Friday & Saturday nights and a Monthly Authentic Flamenco Dinner Show the last Saturday of each month.
A TripAdvisor Member
“Lots of food for cheap”
Reviewed July 9, 2014 via mobile

Not only cheap and large portions but really good food! At lunch it is not full service. Just walk up to counter and order. Very quick if you have to get back to work. We got there at 12pm; they only had one other table. When we left the place was packed.

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    45
    21
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
72 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Catered Event”
Reviewed June 22, 2014

We were in Tampa for a family event and the food was catered by the Spain Restaurant and it was excellent. The Empanadas were excellent - the Seafood Ceviche was very good and very fresh - the Shrimps al Ajiyo were very good along with an excellent beef dish. Overall I have been to many catered events and this food was excellent. I have left out a few other dishes that they had brought to the event since I cannot remember them all but they were all good. I would think that the food at the restaurant is just as good.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ejvalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A little bit of Spain”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Excellent Spanish dishes on the menu at very reasonable prices. Good Spanish guitar music. Located in the downtown area so plan on paying for parking.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Go to Spain”
Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

Spain for dinner is a real treat. Small plates and full entrees - all prepared with great pride by the family who owns this little treasure in Downtown Tampa. Love the live flamenco music in the evening, and the excellent service at the table. Go here often - it's a special treat for dinners out with family and friends.

Favorite appetizers are the Croquetas! Delicias del Mar are the seafood crepes that we go back for. The Paella is amazing too.

For dessert, try the Flan or Chocolate con Churros.

Enjoy!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Oh dear, oh dear, oh dear”
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Booked dinner here, with great anticipation, that we would be getting a real taste of Spain, in the heart of Tampa.
Boy, were we wrong.
Location: was ok in the downtown Tampa, with adequate parking.
Ambience: a little sterile, in what seems to be a converted office showroom.
Service: poor, it took approx 40 minutes from time of order to receiving our stater!. Our waitress although pleasant did not have clue.
Food: as far removed from real Spanish cuisine as you can image. We started with Fried Calamari, these were almost inedible, they were tough as hell and most likely frozen and not fresh.
My entrée was Paella, which was frankly rubbish, the rice used was yellow rice!, rather than saffron infused rice, it had 1 piece of chicken, 2 prawns, no chorizio and 7 mussels, 4 of which were closed, and therefore not edible.
My wife's entrée was Grouper stuffed with crab meat. The fish was covered in a soggy batter and the abundant crab meat was also soggy and distracted from the taste of the fish.
Our desert of Filloas Galegas a crepe with creme and cooked in Grand Marnier, was ok, but we couldn't taste the Grand Marnier.

So overall, this was a very very disappointing meal, and what I would suggest is an American version of what they think is a Spanish Mediterranean meal. Regretfully NOTHING like it.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank luton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Spain Restaurant & Toma Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing