We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great to have electric vehicle charging”
Review of Hyde Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyde Park Hotel
Ranked #91 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
N FL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great to have electric vehicle charging”
Reviewed February 6, 2014

Main attraction was a place to charge our car in Tampa. One level 2 charger and 5 NEMO 14-50 plugs recently installed in the parking area. I think it is under new ownership/management.

Quirky, almost European feel in an older (?historic) building in a walkable, mixed neighborhood that appears to be on the upswing. Very helpful staff when booking. We arrived late after 11PM and used their keyless entry system/lock box outside the room to "check" ourselves in - a little unconventional, but it worked well. Room was tight - small built in desk & 2 chairs, no room for a lounge chair, but was very clean. Only stayed one night, but the room had a fridge, small microwave, toaster & coffee maker for longer stays. Free WiFi. Bathroom appeared recently renovated with nice quality fixtures and tile. Plenty of water pressure/hot water. Very comfortable king size bed & a jacuzzi that we didn't have time to use.

Can't really compare to a chain, but if you're adventurous and want to experience being part of an urban neighborhood - could be a good fit. And if you're driving an EV, it's one of the few places where you can stay in Tampa and get electrons.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jeff G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    26
    17
    12
    3
See reviews for
11
27
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013

We typically do not stay outside the chain motels/hotels, We stayed here because we needed a room at last minute an our friends from Washington had stopped in a few months prior an said it was a decent an affordable place with a good location. So, we gave it a try; we enjoyed our stay, being older couple we were given a discount an given a very clean room. Ice could have been much better. Easy to take a taxi to decent restaurants. Very simple place; good for one night try an stay. We'll stay with chain next time.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank M F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tampa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

This hotel is NOT worth the money. Rooms are too small, incredibly scuffed wood floors, dated furniture and decor, and unfriendly staff. The air filter in the AC had not been changed in months and caused my guests and I to wake up stuffy and sneezing. THE PLACE REEKED OF CIGARETTES. They dont allow you to make any noise and there is definitely not enough parking. Just say no.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jessica a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tampa hotels

Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

The hotel was in a great location for where we were working and very convenient to shops and restaurants but it was a bit
Disappointing. The staff although very nice didn't seem to have a grasp on what business Travlers need. No coffee in room,
No cookies as advertised, no frills. It was nice and funky but the windows leaked when it rained and there was no elevator to the upper floors. It looked so great but it only rates a 5 out of 10.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaye A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altamonte Springs, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We've stayed twice now. First for the RHCP concert & the second for Fleetwood Mac. It's located directly behind Sweetbay supermarket so you can load up on snacks & drinks for pre-partying before heading out. The surrounding area isn't 4 star but it's quiet. The parking is free and there seems to be just enough spots or everyone. This isn't the Marriot by any means but it's lovely in it's own right. The neighborhood does have several restaurants, cafes, and drinking spots if you want to stay in that area for fun but when we are in Tampa it's for concerts followed by a trip to Ybor City. It's about a $10 cab ride to the forum.

The rooms are spacious, extremely clean, and the staff friendly. Bonus: There are hardwood floors in the room and ours even came with a small fireplace. We don't even bother with other hotels when we come to Tampa for shows now. Hyde Park is our hotel of choice for concert stays.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Erica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minneapolis,minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Last minute hotel booking for a conference. Nothing available even close toTampa Convention Center/ or $450 a night. This was about $90 and perfect for what we needed - clean,convenient,and saved hundreds as opposed to stay right at the marina. No restaurant, no telephone, limited front desk service but great little restaurants a block or two away. Simple, clean and safe.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank supertrih
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonita Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
263 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Clean although the furniture is hodge podge and it certainly needs some renovating. There seems to be a fresh coat of paint everywhere but some repairs should have been done first. The bed was comfortable, room small but fully equipped. Reservations are made by email, or calling. When you get someone on the phone, or in the office, they are very friendly. But, there will be times when there are no staff on site. Therefore, customer service is not great. The location is perfect for dining at Bern's Steakhouse. There is also a Starbucks right down the road. Very cost friendly.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FabulousTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
1.6 mi away
The Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk
1.5 mi away
Best Western Tampa
Best Western Tampa
#45 of 163 in Tampa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
1.5 mi away
Aloft Tampa Downtown
Aloft Tampa Downtown
#28 of 163 in Tampa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Epicurean Hotel, Autograph Collection
2.1 mi away
Howard Johnson Express Inn & Suites South Tampa Airport
1.5 mi away
Quality Inn Airport
Quality Inn Airport
#97 of 163 in Tampa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyde Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyde Park Hotel

Property: Hyde Park Hotel
Address: 2105 W Bristol Ave, Tampa, FL 33606-2474
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hyde Park Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown Boutique Hotel, in the heart of SoHo! Minutes from Bern's Steak House and steps from Hyde Park Village and SoHo bar scene, in the center of Tampa. We offer fully furnished kitchens, free parking and free Wi-Fi ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hyde Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing