We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cigarette Smoke”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tampa Central
Ranked #71 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
JAX, United States
1 review
“Cigarette Smoke”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

This hotel is nice but our first room was filled with the smell of cigarette smoke. It was so bad that even our toddler exclaimed stinky! I would think the maid would have recognized this and reported it. It made me question how clean the rooms really are. The staff immediately moved us and apologized even giving our children cookies which was nice. However the next room also had issues. There was absolutely no ventilation in the room. After running the air conditioner for only a short time and taking one shower a musty wet smell gripped the room never to leave for our three day stay. The only way to reduce the smell was to open the hotel room door to let air in. There was no air circulation and you could see black/green mold starting to grown in the bathroom. This is the only reason I would not stay here again. If you fix this problem I would recommend this hotel. The pool was great and the breakfast was well done.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank Christopher O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha R, Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Tampa Central, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. I would first like to apologize on behalf of our entire staff for the problems you encountered. We are currently under going some renovations that I'm sure you would appreciate and we would like to offer you a special deal, if you could please contact either myself (Samantha Reynolds - AGM) or (G Patel - GM). Again, thank you so much for your time and we hope to hear from you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    74
    33
    28
    19
See reviews for
114
63
13
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arcadia, United States
1 review
Reviewed May 10, 2014

We arrived and the staff was on the ball working through adverse weather and a computer glitch but they checked us in and our granddaughter was able to get the required time at the pool to tire her out and peace and quiet was the order of the night. The breakfast was just right an all was well on the check out. I would recommend this hotel very highly.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank Ray D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha R, Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Tampa Central, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
We are extremely appreciative for you taking the time to give our property a positive review. Your satisfaction and feedback is what matters most to us. We will be sure to share with our team the compliments given. We hope that for any future tampa visits you will again choose La Quinta Tampa Central. Have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2014

We just check out of the La Quinta Inn & Suites Tampa Central. We had to find a place to stay that would
accommodate us and our kitties. What a Great Place !!! We rented at suite and it was very clean and roomy.
The Staff was also Excellent !! Thank you La Quinta for being so Pet Friendly :) Keep It Up for Us Pet Lovers!!

Thanks from Florida Girl, Bud and Squeak

Room Tip: All rooms are big but if you want to do your own cooking get a suite !
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FloridaGirl7904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha R, Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Tampa Central, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
We appreciate you taking your time to tell us about your stay! We strive in providing superior service, we hope that you will continue to be a member of our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2014

My wife son and I stayed here for six nights and were very happy with our stay. The management and staff were very friendly. Room was very clean. Breakfast was more than needed. We would most definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Our room was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank Roy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha R, Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Tampa Central, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
We appreciate you taking your time to tell us about your stay! We strive in providing superior service, we hope that you will continue to be a member of our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timbuktu, Mali
1 review
Reviewed April 13, 2014

First off, this hotel is in the straight up ghetto! Yes, there are alot of restaurants, etc nearby, but it's definitely in a sketchy part of town. We were visiting Busch Gardens, and the drive to/from made me uneasy! The staff is excellent and very helpful. The breakfast was average (if you like rubber eggs and fake sausage), but its free so no complaints. The rooms were just ok as far as being updated. The beds and pillows were amazing though!!! There was a micro and fridge which was nice. The tv was a joke, but we werent there to watch it anyway, so no biggie. Had I known all of this, I would've maybe spent a little extra and just got a room next to BG.

Room Tip: Dont stay here if youre planning to visit BG. Too far/too much traffic/too ghetto!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha R, Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Tampa Central, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
We appreciate you taking your time to tell us about your stay! We strive in providing superior service, we hope that you will continue to be a member of our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PALM COAST, Florida
1 review
Reviewed April 9, 2014

Clean, comfortable hotel. Staff great, rooms large and well appointed. Breakfast great with homemade waffles, continental style but with eggs and sausage as well. Close to Hard Rock Casino(8 mi away). Large common area and our room had a microwave and little refrigerator. Restaurants close bye and easy access.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank KATHY C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha R, Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Tampa Central, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
We appreciate you taking your time to tell us about your stay! We strive in providing superior service, we hope that you will continue to be a member of our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 7, 2014

I don't know if it was the quiet room and location, the good, light-blocked drapes or the comfortable bed with nice pillows, but I had the best rest here that I can ever remember having a hotel room.

Breakfast was typical for this class of hotel, but here's where this place stood out. It was crowded, so my wife and I stood up to eat. The manager came right over and asked if he could open the meeting room for us.

We also had a problem with our coffeemaker, and it was addressed efficiently and in a friendly manner.

We go to Tampa often in March and April to attend Bay Area Renaissance Festival, and this is about 15 minutes away. You can find closer hotels, but you will not find a better one or a better value.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IainRobb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha R, Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Tampa Central, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay! Reviews like this keep our staff positive and happy knowing that they are appreciated for their efforts, we appreciate your time and we hope to see you again with the promise that you will again receive superior service!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
1.7 mi away
No photo provided
2.1 mi away
No photo provided
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Tampa-Veterans Expwy (Airport North)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
No photo provided
4.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn Tampa Near Busch Gardens
3.9 mi away
Extended Stay America - Tampa - Airport - Memorial Hwy.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Tampa Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Tampa Central

Property: La Quinta Inn & Suites Tampa Central
Address: 3826 W Waters Ave, Tampa, FL 33614-2011
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Tampa Central 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, LaQuinta, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Tampa Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn And Suites Tampa Central
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tampa Central Hotel Tampa
Tampa Best Western
Best Western Tampa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing