We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“We would stay here again” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites Sawgrass

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Comfort Suites Sawgrass
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Tamarac
NJ
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“We would stay here again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

I stayed here with my husband for 6 nights in March 2013. Overall, we liked the hotel, and the location was perfect for our needs. Within a few blocks, you will find a Walgreens drugstore, a Publix Supermarket, 7-Eleven stores, gas stations, and Cheddars Restaurant, (which we liked), among other places. The hotel is located near University Drive, which has plenty of stores and restaurants along it, especially if you head a few miles north on it, to the town of Coral Springs.
For the first night, which was a Friday night, we were given a room at the front of the hotel, facing Commercial Blvd. There were no drapes at the window, only shutters, which did not keep out the noise. We found the traffic noise to be intolerable, especially when trucks & motorcycles went by, which was often. Also, there was a rowdy group of people staying at the hotel who made a lot of noise, both outside in the parking lot and in the hallways. I called the night clerk and asked if the folks in the parking lot could be asked to quiet down, and she took care of it. The noisy folks were gone by Sunday, and then we found the hotel to be a lot quieter after that, which we greatly appreciated.
On Saturday, we asked to be moved to a room at the back of the hotel, and as soon as a room there was vacated & cleaned, we were re-assigned. We moved into a newly-renovated, spacious and clean room on the fourth (top) floor. The room faced the rear parking lot of the hotel, which is generally quieter and less-used than the front parking lot. Heavy drapes blocked out noise and light. We were much happier, and slept much better, in the new room, which had a sofa and a lightweight coffee table along with the 2 comfortable queen-size beds.
We found that the swimming pool, also located at the back of the hotel, was clean and hardly used, at least with the cooler weather we had during our stay. We had been concerned about hearing a lot of noise from the pool area, but that was not the case during our stay.

The cleaning staff did an excellent job in our room. I can’t say as much for the public Ladies Room off the lobby. It was frequently out of toilet paper or low on it, and needs more attention than it gets.
My husband likes a very hot shower, and his only complaint was that he did not get enough hot water. The water pressure was good, and I found the hot water supply to be adequate for my own needs.

I would be remiss if I did not mention the excellent & cheerful customer service we received from the 2 evening desk attendants, Shareil and Nicole. We made several requests of them during our stay, including the move to the new room. Both of these ladies were helpful, friendly and had great customer-service skills. It was a pleasure to interact with them. I hope their manager realizes what wonderful employees they are.

In response to other comments I have seen on TripAdvisor, yes, the room key cards do get demagnetized quite frequently. One tip we were given, was not to keep the key card next to your cell phone in your pocket or purse, although my husband’s key card still got de-activated once or twice after that anyway.

Use of the Wi-Fi at the hotel is free. At the start of our stay, we found it to be quite sluggish, but after the first couple of days someone must have made an adjustment, because then we found that it had sped up considerably.

The free breakfast at the hotel was quite good, except for the hot round eggs, which were tasteless. But you have plenty of other choices, including hard-boiled eggs, bacon or sausage, mini bagels and mini muffins, toast, butter, jelly, cream cheese, & pastries. The make-your-own-waffles station was very popular, and you may have to stand in a short line to use one of the two waffle irons. (It takes 3 minutes to cook one waffle). On weekdays, breakfast food is no longer available after 9:30 AM, which is a bit early for us since we are not early risers. However, I did make it downstairs in time for breakfast most of the mornings I was there. By the time I came downstairs (8:30 or 9 AM) the free USA Today newspapers that are kept by the front desk were all gone. You really have to be an early bird at this hotel!

Be advised that the guest laundry room on the second floor only has one washer and one dryer. You need quarters to operate them. An inconsiderate guest who had the washer ahead of us, was not there when the washer stopped, so we had to wait extra time for it. We were considerate and made sure that we were there when our load stopped washing.

As I said, overall, we did like this hotel and would stay here again since the location and value fit our needs.

Room Tip: It is quieter at night in rooms at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LinFromNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheresaC876, General Manager at Comfort Suites Sawgrass, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you! Your review of our hotel was very detailed, I am sure anyone traveling to our hotel would appreciate your review as I have. Please make sure to stay with us again if you travel back to our area and again, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    51
    33
    23
    26
See reviews for
53
55
16
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sorrento, Florida
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We only stayed one night here. The staff seemed friendly. Not a fancy hotel but, for a night or two- the price was right. Generous breakfast bar- again nothing extravagent but, certainly enough to get us going in the morning. Has a workout room and pool.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 311. It was clean & a generous size. The only downfall is that it backs up t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank S_FamilyFLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheresaC876, General Manager at Comfort Suites Sawgrass, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
I want to thank you for taking the time out to write a review of our property. We are always working hard to try to improve our hotel and service for our guests. I do hope you will continue to stay with us when you travel to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

I recently stayed here 18 Jan-20 Jan 2013 when visiting my folks, since it was about two miles from their place.
Upon checking in had room keys problems, that the confused front desk couldn't figure out. That was the last time I had eye contact, or a glimpse of a smile from them, or any other worker in this hotel.
Each time I approached the desk, whether to ask directions, to inquire of a toiletry(there is a note in the room to ask for one if you forgot yours) I was met with unfriendliness, abrupt answers and the worse offender... the scowling overnight lady. She had a cruel look to her, think an 1880's English prison matron, I expected to be locked in solitary by her.
Overall, the free breakfast was bland, no meats or potatoes, and seemed as though made several days before.The room was fair to good, with an old TV, a loud AC, but a king size bed.
The two good things about the property? across the street is a gas station with lots of out of town papers, with the fellow there quite engaging, and the real gem..... about 1/2 mile away a wonderful liquor store run by An Indian gentleman from the the Islands! His collection of spirits is wonderful, and offers tastes! If going to Tamarac, or Coral Springs research first, or perhaps the general manager can introduce customer service to her unhappy staff!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

I booked this hotel because it was affordable. I had no trouble checking in and my room was spacious and clean. The breakfast in the morning is always warm and tastes fresh. When I left to the mall and caemback, my room was cleaned and nothing had been taken, unlike some past hotel experiences.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Stayed at the Comfort Suites during first business trip to Coral Springs so wasn't sure of the correct location to be in. The hotel was OK - clean room, bathroom etc and the stay friendly. The only bar/restaurant nearby is Cheddars, which is ok for a quick beer and burger. Other than that there is little else around. If you want to be closer to more bars and restaurants then you need to be on Universal Drive, closer to The Walk.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheresaC876, General Manager at Comfort Suites Sawgrass, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time out to write a review of our property. I do hope you will stay with us again when you travel back to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poughkeepsie, New York
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

I always read reviews before booking a hotel so I was surprised by all the good reviews when my stay was not. I would say the only good thing about my stay was the comfortable bed and pillows. Was I given the last room on the floor? It had to be. The lobby was beautiful but my room looked so run down. The door was all scratched up as if an animal clawed at it. The air conditioning was so noisy, I had to shut if off. The grout in the bathroom was black and wallpaper was peeling. The shower handle was so loose, it was hard to keep it in place to take a hot shower. Breakfast was not too bad, but not enough choices in my opinion. I've stayed in many Comfort Suites before, but this one was the worst. I was only there for one night due to coming here for a funeral and I knew I would not be the room for too long so I dealt with it. But if I ever have to come this way again, I know I will not be staying here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank poughzp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheresaC876, General Manager at Comfort Suites Sawgrass, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
I must first apologize for any inconvience you experienced while a guest at our hotel but at the same time I also feel the need to inquire as to what room you were in. You seemed to have had many issues in one room for one night that It has caused much concern for me. We have been working very hard to renovate our rooms so our guests are happy with their stay and I am so sorry you did not experience that. I will say that I do hope you will choose to give us another opportunity to be of service to you should you travel to our area again.

Thank you so much for taking the time out to let us know how we are doing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I stayed at the Comfort Suites and Mainstay Suites for a few days in October. I found out they were under new management and undergoing renovations to their property. The rooms were newly renovated and very clean and comfortable. The hallways had new carpeting and newly painted walls. I saw staff cleaning the carpets and common areas on a daily basis. The day I checked-in they were finsihing the flooring in the laundry room (Comfort Suites) and it looked great when it was done. They were uprooting old trees and putting new ones. The renovated hotel looks great and the staff were exceptional - they were very friendly and always wanted to help. This property should have a four and a half star rating if not five based on recent reviews. Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robliu69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheresaC876, General Manager at Comfort Suites Sawgrass, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you , thank you, for not only recognizing all of our hard work and efforts to make your stay a great one, but especially for taking the time out to let us know that. We will always be working hard to continue to improve our hotel to make your stay with us as pleasant and comfortable as possible. I can only hope that you will always allow us to be of service to you should you travel back to our area in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tamarac
4.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#79 of 136 in Fort Lauderdale
3.5 of 5 stars 181 reviews
9.5 mi away
Clarion Inn Fort Lauderdale
Clarion Inn Fort Lauderdale
#70 of 136 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 stars 38 reviews
9.8 mi away
Comfort Suites Weston  - Sawgrass Mills South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites Fort Lauderdale Airport Port Everglades Cruise Port
Rodeway Inn & Suites Fort Lauder...
#61 of 136 in Fort Lauderdale
3.5 of 5 stars 612 reviews
11.6 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Fort Lauderdale, Airport South & Cruise Port
11.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Airport / Cruise Port South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Sawgrass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Sawgrass

Property: Comfort Suites Sawgrass
Address: 8301A W Commercial Blvd, Tamarac, FL 33351-4371
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Tamarac
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Tamarac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Sawgrass 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly RENOVATED as of October 2011, COMFORT SUITES SAWGRASS our All SUITE Hotel conveniently located on West Commercial blvd just between University drive and Pine Island road. Comfort Suites Sawgrass is located minutes to Sawgrass Expressway, I95 and Florida Turnpike, location is at its BEST. The REFRESH DECOR of our SUITES brings Comfort, with the finest accommodation at the most competitive and relaxing atmosphere. OUR SUITES are with King or Queen Beds, mini-refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, hair dryer, iron/ironing boards. Our FREE DELUXE HOT BREAKFAST AND FREE Newspaper makes a "Great START for the morning. Our Free Internet Access, Business center, fitness room, out door heated pool and hot tub are part of our amenities in making your STAY A Relaxing and Comfort Stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotwire, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Comfort Suites Sawgrass reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Sawgrass Hotel Tamarac
Comfort Suites Tamarac
Tamarac Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing