We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sleep tight don't let the silverfish bite.”
Review of The Regency Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Regency Inn
Ranked #48 of 58 Hotels in Tallahassee
Lake Jackson, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Sleep tight don't let the silverfish bite.”
Reviewed August 2, 2012 via mobile

Upon entering you are engulfed in a moldy smell. This smell consisted of dirt, bugs, and fielth. This room should be no more than $20 or free. Be sure to put toliet paper down on the seat because when you get past the bathroom smell you realize its all the old pee on the seat underneath. We didn't find bedbugs but while looking we found a family of fat silverfish enjoying a previous guest Cheeto bag by our headboard. Steer clear of the towels they had a sticky material probably snot or another personal biproduct.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank King97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHTallahassee, Guest Relations Manager at The Regency Inn, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Dear Guest,
We feel sorry for the short comings that we’ve had during your stay. Our customer service would’ve been very willing to render assistance if we reported those issues at that time. We will make sure that everything that you’ve mentioned will be covered on our regular meeting to improve what needs to be improved. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    2
    1
    2
    10
See reviews for
5
5
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Haverhill
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2012

I have never written a review but felt the need to because this was the worst place I have ever, ever, stayed . If you read the review from Auntie WInter 4, she didn't experience what I did. We just spent $315.00 for two nights to sleep in a room that was filthy. The tub had mold and cracked ceiling. The TV was +/- 20 years old and snowy picture. Single cup coffee maker was grimy. Towels were torn and frayed. Wouldn't walk on rug or bathroom floor without shoes. They gave soap, no conditioner. We would have gone somewhere else had it not been graduation week. Breakfast was equally bad. Can it get any worse than watered down OJ.

Room Tip: Find another facility! My husband and I don't need a lot but this place you should RUN, RUN, RU...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ipswich24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHTallahassee, Guest Relations Manager at The Regency Inn, responded to this review, May 3, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking some time in making this feedback. We also feel sorry that you had shortcomings during your stay here at Guest House Inn. We admit that we sometimes have flaws and our customer service staff is always there to render assistance to cater the needs of our customers. We assure you that this will be discussed during our regular meeting. We are hoping that you will still choose to stay with us on your future trips.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, FL
Level Contributor
159 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2012

My husband stayed here for 3 weeks, and I visited. The staff was always friendly, however my husband noted if you had any issues, they would have to wait until the morning and mid afternoon when the owner/manager was present. I noticed that the cleaning staff was always fast and efficient, leaving enough toiletries, toilet paper, and towels. My husband's biggest complaint was the high speed internet was not always dependable, or available and on thursdays at 1:00 a.m. the garbage trucks woke him up. The continental breakfast consisted of fresh fruit, cold cereal, milk, coffee, make your own mini waffles, & pastries. I enjoyed the lodge like feel and smell (like a cedar closet)of the main building, with it's porch and rocking chairs-very nice. Guests were separated enough that we did not hear the other guests. It is near I-10 (2 blks) and near many restaurants.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AuntieWinter4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHTallahassee, Guest Relations Manager at The Regency Inn, responded to this review, April 12, 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you for pointing out all the things that we need to improve. We are happy that you appreciate our service. This will serve as a motivation for us to do more and to give more. We will make an action about the things that affects your experience with us. We are looking forward to serving you again. Thank you so much for the feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2011

My family was treated horribly by the staff of this hotel. They were extremely unhelpful and uninterested in making any effort to make the stay pleasant. When I asked to speak to the owner of the hotel he proceeded to scream at me over the phone. At one point, one of our friends that was visiting us at the hotel was harassed by the owners son. Worst experience I've had in a hotel!! Management is awful!

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHTallahassee, Guest Relations Manager at The Regency Inn, responded to this review, March 28, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for spending some time in making this review. We really apologize for the inconveniences that you’ve experienced during you stay. Our main goal in GuestHouse Inn is to deliver an outstanding customer service to our valued customers. We really do appreciate your feedback and this will be taken as a constructive criticism for us to further improve our services. All of your concerns are important to us and we are currently discussing these on our regular meetings. Rest assured that on your next stay in GuestHouse Inn will be great and we will show you the standard that we stand behind. Thank you so much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Charlotte, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2011

It takes a great deal to make me angry enough to write a negative review, but what promised to be a wonderful weekend with family and friends was almost ruined not once, but twice, but the management and staff of this poorly run hotel.
We have been staying at the Cabot Lodge since 1995, so when the hotel changed management we were anxious to try the hotel under the new name, Guesthouse. We even convinced our friends to change their hotel from the Marriot Courtyard, which was a huge mistake because in doing so, we ruined their hotel experience as well.
Shortly after checking in, my husband ran out to buy a few items. My son, who is a college student in Tallahassee, was trying to find our room, but since my husband's car was not there, he was having a difficult time locating our room number, as the rooms are spread out on two levels. I told him it was by the pool, so he walked up to the pool level to see if he could find our room. At the same time, he called me to get directions. That is how I came to hear the whole exchange between my son and an employee of the hotel. He challenged my son by saying ,"What are you doing here? This is private property and I can have you thrown out." My son said he was looking for his parents' room and the guy clearly didn't believe him and said he was going to call someone to have him removed from the property. The exchange was ugly and completely unwarranted.
The next day, I mentioned it to the manager, who said he already knew about it. He said the employee, who may have been his son, called and said he merely said, "Excuse me, may I help you" and my son became belligerent. I shared that he said no such thing and I knew that because I was on the phone with my son at the time and heard the entire exchange. He replied that the employee was concerned that my son was going to touch the door to the room that he had just painted.
The whole thing made no sense. I don't understand why my son was challenged and I certainly don't understand why management didn't apologize to us as soon as the incident was reported. My son even phoned the manager to share that he was treated disrespectfully and it was completely unjustified. The manager proceeded to tell him about the freshly painted door and the concern that he would mess up the paint.
The hotel advertises free wifi. The wifi in our room did not work. I called the desk and the man on duty told me that it was working just fine in the office. I shared that I was not in the office. He said he just worked the desk and would have to call the owner and call me back. He never did.
My friends paid for 2 queen size beds and received double beds. It appeared we were the only ones at the hotel, so there is no reason why they could not be given the type of room they paid for.
This hotel has the worst customer service I've ever encounter. However, if freshly painted doors is what you are looking for, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gale T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHTallahassee, Guest Relations Manager at The Regency Inn, responded to this review, March 28, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience during your stay. Your voice is a lot important to us. We sincerely apologize for all the inconveniences that you have experienced. We do not expect this to happen and this case will be taken seriously. At the moment, we are conducting meetings to all the staffs who failed to perform a good customer service. We will be giving probable sanctions to whoever failed. We are also conducting additional trainings to all our employees to improve our customer service and to serve you in the best way we could. Hopefully, you are still going to stay with us on your next vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2011

You will not get any sleep in this sorry excuse for a hotel. There are a ton of foreignors that live here, and we were so lucky to get put in a room right in the middle of them. The front desk is mostly ran by americans, but it is owned by foreignors. They party ALL night long and it VERY annoying. But who do you complain to when it is the owners' family. The a/c unit does not come even close to cooling the room. It would come on for about 5 minutes and shut off, and no matter what you put it on, it will not come back on for about an hour. The front desk guy said it was becuase they were "energy efficient" units. That's BS. It was broke and they don't want to fix it. Don't get lured in from expedia claiming it's a 2.5 star hotel on their unpublished rate. There's a reason this one is unpublished.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ms_C1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHTallahassee, Guest Relations Manager at The Regency Inn, responded to this review, March 23, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. Our main goal is to value our customers by providing comfortable accommodations as well as the best services possible. We apologize for this unexpected incident. We are currently working on improving our facilities in order for us to cater to our guests the services that you deserve. This feedback was noted and served as a constructive criticism for us to identify the areas for us to improve. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2011

When the person who took the reservation refused to give us her name, we should have seen that as a Harbinger for things to come. We asked in advance and received permission to check out at noon on Sunday (we were out of the room by 11:45). But on Sunday the manager said he would never allow that and charged us an additional day. Minutes later a belligerent housekeeper pounded on the door unleashing a vicious verbal assault upon my wife. The room itself was a little musty and a toad hopped across my wife’s bare foot as she prepared to lie down. After I cornered the toad and released it outside, she was able to calm down… eventually. I liked the location but the rest…. Major unaccountability issues. Stay away.

Room Tip: go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Buck42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHTallahassee, Guest Relations Manager at The Regency Inn, responded to this review, March 23, 2012
We sincerely apologize for all the inconveniences that you had during your stay. No one expected this to happen and this is a real challenge. At this point in time, we are currently discussing these issues and accountabilities to those staff members who failed to display the customer service values that we always expect from them. We are also working hard to improve our services so that no other customers will experience that same thing you did. Despite this incident, we still hope to see you again in the near future and we appreciate your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tallahassee
0.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites Tallahassee
Candlewood Suites Tallahassee
#15 of 58 in Tallahassee
259 reviews
0.3 mi away
Econo Lodge North
Econo Lodge North
#36 of 58 in Tallahassee
36 reviews
0.1 mi away
Howard Johnson Express Inn - Tallahassee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Country Inn and Suites By Carlson Midway Florida
0.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn Tallahassee
Red Roof Inn Tallahassee
#19 of 58 in Tallahassee
660 reviews
1.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn Tallahassee North/I-10
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Regency Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Regency Inn

Property: The Regency Inn
Address: 2735 N Monroe St, Tallahassee, FL 32303-4029 (Formerly GuestHouse Inn Tallahassee)
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Tallahassee
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 58 Hotels in Tallahassee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Regency Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Regency Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guesthouse Inn Tallahassee Hotel Tallahassee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing