We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the midst of remodeling.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Wyndham Garden Tallahassee Capitol
Ranked #43 of 55 Hotels in Tallahassee
Reviewed July 30, 2014

The hotel is the of remodel. Loud banging till late about 5. The friendly people working there are apologetic. Our floor had not been remodeled yet & it was about 10 years past its life. Rooms ending in an odd number face a loud, busy road. The gentleman that works the breakfast area is the nicest employee there. The food was basic. The business center printer was out of order & the front desk only had blue paper to print on. If I had known when we booked that this place was a construction zone I would have skipped it. The location is very convenient.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Florida B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (556)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

420 - 426 of 557 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

This hotel was by far the worst I have stayed in. Was woken up at 8 in the morning by house keeping being loud with banging and whatever else they may have been doing. Pool area is dirty. Sofa in room was so wore out.... best thing to do with that is to set it on fire. The chairs were stained. The water in the shower had no pressure at all. Complained about the noise and the front desk said they will send someone up to talk to them. Which did NO good, if they even sent anyone up. I will NEVER GO BACK TO THIS PLACE AGAIN. DON'T BELIEVE THE PICTURES! YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED!

Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Mary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
Thank Charles Henry B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 9, 2014

Remember that old adage? "You never get a second chance at a first impression."

This was our first stay at a Ramada, which I need to disclose is actually a former Holiday Inn recently acquired and in the midst of a renovation. Even so, the rooms and practices were quite less than expected for a moniker that portends to be a notch or two above a Motel 6...and ended up below.

Front to back, here's how it went:

Wife and I were traveling on the fly - no reservation. The location was easily accessible from the road and convenient to the capitol. The reservationist was very polite and offered a room at a standard, internet-advertised rate. (We looked beforehand). I negotiated for a slightly better rate, the manager stepped forward from the back office and offered their AAA rate of $71, so we took it. Check in was quick, friendly, and overall satisfactory. But then...

Okay, I need to say that we had put several hundred miles on the odometer that day and were too tired to argue for a new room or a refund. "Whatever...it's not worth the hassle." In hindsight, maybe so.

We were evidently given one of the old rooms. The bed was worn, the linens aged and a washed but visibly stained (small, but noticed), the mattress' springs were detectible, pillows deformed and poor quality (old). Paint cracks, bubbling and a little mold appeared on the ceiling above the shower. The sink wasn't exactly spotless and its counter visibly worn. The toilet seat was also loose. Another annoyance was our 10-minute adventure for ice, only to discover (after inquiry with a passing porter) that there wasn't a machine on our entire floor! We could have overlooked all of this, but the most egregious offense was that the air conditioner, no matter what setting, constantly cycled on and off (once desired temp reached) every five minutes. We didn't sleep well, regardless of our exhaustion. Yes, we should have complained...

Saving graces? The free breakfast buffet was quite decent, and the checkout process, fast.

Then the shock... Okay, this might not upset some of you, but it makes me stabby: This establishment reserves an extra $50 on your credit/debit card as a provisional fee. We were not informed at check-in of this practice, and it doesn't appear on the checkout receipt. You WILL see it as added pending to your bank's processing queue, however. What happens is that your available balance will be $50 poorer until the charge actually clears, THEN your $50 availability returns. Again, this might not bother some of you because in the end, you aren't charged. I just don't like anyone taking more than agreed for any length of time to supplement their bank float. It's a devious, unacceptable practice.

I would have instructed any prospective guest to wait until the remodel is complete. Or, if they had to stay there, make sure they bought a remodeled room on the 2nd or 3rd floor away from the street noise. (Passing motorcycles are loud). Since their billing practice is to temporarily play with your bank account - for ANY amount - I give this Ramada a big thumb's down.

Room Tip: Wait until AFTER remodel, take room ABOVE first floor away from main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Max M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2014

I came here for business. Though my first experience was somewhat poor (they had gotten my name wrong on the reservation and it took 10-15 minutes to correct and get me my key), overall it was a pleasant stay. One other negative is that the back hallway for the room I was staying in smelled of cigarettes, but the room was nice and clean (though lacking in shower soap of some kind) and the internet was surprisingly not slow (it ran as normal internet should). The breakfast the next day was a good spread (hot eggs, bacon, cereal, waffles, etc.). I'd stay here again if the price is right.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank guate6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

We were hesitant about booking a room at this hotel because it had not gotten very good reviews. But on the contrary, it was quite nice. Our room was nicely decorated and very clean. The staff was exceptionally nice. We even met the general manager in the elevator, and she talked with us at great length about what they were going to do to update the hotel. The complementary breakfast in the morning was very good and the woman working kept it clean and picked up and wiped up so it never got messy looking. The only downside we could see was the bathroom, it was not overly large and the bathroom door opened Inward so it made it difficult to navigate. It would also help if they added a vanity somewhere else in the room, since the room was large enough to accommodate that. All in all, a good stay.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Peggy8842
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
Thank Carla J G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tallahassee hotels
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Tallahassee Downtown
4.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Tallahassee East
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites-Capital District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Tallahassee North Hotel
1.6 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Tallahassee Downtown
4.6 mi away
Extended Stay America - Tallahassee - Killearn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Garden Tallahassee Capitol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Garden Tallahassee Capitol

Address: 1355 Apalachee Pkwy, Tallahassee, FL 32301-3001 (Formerly Ramada Plaza Tallahassee Capitol)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Tallahassee
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 55 Hotels in Tallahassee
Price Range: $78 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Garden Tallahassee Capitol 3*
Number of rooms: 148
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelPower, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham Garden Tallahassee Capitol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Tallahassee Capitol Hotel Tallahassee
Tallahassee Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing