We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wyndham Garden Tallahassee Capitol
Ranked #42 of 55 Hotels in Tallahassee
Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

We were hesitant about booking a room at this hotel because it had not gotten very good reviews. But on the contrary, it was quite nice. Our room was nicely decorated and very clean. The staff was exceptionally nice. We even met the general manager in the elevator, and she talked with us at great length about what they were going to do to update the hotel. The complementary breakfast in the morning was very good and the woman working kept it clean and picked up and wiped up so it never got messy looking. The only downside we could see was the bathroom, it was not overly large and the bathroom door opened Inward so it made it difficult to navigate. It would also help if they added a vanity somewhere else in the room, since the room was large enough to accommodate that. All in all, a good stay.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Peggy8842
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (522)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

391 - 397 of 523 reviews

Reviewed June 28, 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
Thank Carla J G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A TripAdvisor Member
Ft. Pierce, FL
2
Reviewed May 18, 2014 via mobile

The pictures on the internet made it look like a fancy place but once inside it wasn't any different than the last hotel we stayed in that was $15.00 per night cheaper. They did have a better breakfast, that included waffles that you make yourself and bacon, eggs and grits. The woman working the breakfast area was very friendly and helpful. We were only here one night on a road trip . The rooms were inside hall entry with elevator. Nothing special about this place but no complaints either .

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2014

We stayed for one night and we are leaving to go to another hotel. Once we walked in the whole room smelled of bleach. There was hair in the bathroom from previous quests or housekeeping and also on the sheets. We even found our tv remote tucked under the fitted mattress set. At least the front desk was nice but besides that, We defiantly will not be coming back.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vals89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

PAID $260 for this room and it was terrible. The place is in dire need of remodling, but the real issue is the heavy smell of mold. Don't book a room here unless you are desperate. I SPOKE to an individual at the front desk and was told they'd check into it...follow future reviews to see if they have.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Tessie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

Booked hotel in September for FSU graduation. The Holiday Inn became marriott in the meantime. This place is in dire need of a remodel. Our room smelled dank and the carpet felt very dirty. Make sure to wear flip flops at all times,even in the shower. The sink would not drain. The towel rack in the bathroom was very rusty. My son found a spider in his bed. We came back one day and our room keys would not work. Went to the front desk and was told not to put them next to metal or it would make them not work. Really? Funny mine or my husband's keys were not next to metal or magnets. Neither were the people in line behind us that were also locked out of their room. If you have issues with your card keys don't try to pass it off on the guests. A simple apology would suffice. I vote this place shut down for a total renovation.

Stayed: May 2014
Thank vs2131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

When we arrived we had hope - lobby was reasonable and there was an Applebee's attached. We spent three nights here for a conference, and I would not return.

The rooms were dark and dingy. They were far from clean, and there were problems with theft while we were there (not us, but we locked everything up, every day). We were cold at night since there was only a sheet on the bed. When we went to the front desk to ask for blankets (there were none in the room), we were told they didn't have any, and that they were sold out so they couldn't take them from another room. I've worked in hotels before, and I have trouble believing they don't own spare blankets in their laundry room.

We stayed on the ground floor, and there were some VERY loud guests that would return at night and talk in the hallway until at least midnight. Not once did the front desk ask them to call it a night or leave the hall, and every time I had to walk out there in my PJs and ask them to take their conversations elsewhere.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SarahJane0488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tallahassee hotels
1.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Tallahassee Central
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#17 of 55 in Tallahassee
206 reviews
1.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Tallahassee Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Tallahassee Downtown
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites-Capital District
4.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Tallahassee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Garden Tallahassee Capitol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Garden Tallahassee Capitol

Address: 1355 Apalachee Pkwy, Tallahassee, FL 32301-3001 (Formerly Ramada Plaza Tallahassee Capitol)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Tallahassee
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 55 Hotels in Tallahassee
Price Range: $81 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Garden Tallahassee Capitol 3*
Number of rooms: 148
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Wyndham Garden Tallahassee Capitol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Tallahassee Capitol Hotel Tallahassee
Tallahassee Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing