We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent, affordable and overall enjoyable.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wyndham Garden Tallahassee Capitol
Ranked #41 of 58 Hotels in Tallahassee
1 review
“Decent, affordable and overall enjoyable.”
Reviewed December 15, 2011

I stayed for a few days in early December while visiting family. The rooms weren't perfect but they were decent and comfortable. The afternoon staff was very helpful and friendly. Breakfast was great and Applebees was conveniently located right in the hotel! I would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    86
    117
    106
    89
See reviews for
196
54
35
136
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2011

My daughter stayed here and left some school work behind. The desk clerk said they found it in the room and would send it to us. I gave him name and credit card number. Not only have we NOT recieved it but no one at the the hotel will or can tell us where it is. either the first clerk lied about finding it or the next eprson to handle it lost it or threw it away and won't tell us. It will take weeks for my daughter to redo all the work. I can handle a room that isn't 4 star but I refuse to stay where the service is good or honest.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Djinkster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2011

We stayed here over Thanksgiving visiting a family member. The first room we found that when the toilet was flushed, raw sewage came out around the bottom. There was also obvious evidence of a roof leak (4th floor). The staff switched our room without a problem and we found the second one much better. The room furnishings were old and in need of renovation. The breakfast was excellent and kept fully stocked and clean. This was a points stay but found that the motel had mysteriously billed my credit card for 26 bucks a night. I called them and they reversed the charges without incident.

Room Tip: Choose a lower floor if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric34328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax Station, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2011

If you like bed bugs, this is the place to stay! We stayed here on a Florida State Football weekend. When we woke up the next morning, both my husband and I had hundreds of bites. We pulled the sheets and blankets from the bed and told the front desk. Then we left for the game. Upon returning, we found our dirty sheets still on the floor. No one came to clean our room all day. We called the desk three times. No manager. No help. On the third call, the desk hung up on me. (Of course, if there were available hotels, we would have left... but it was football weekend). Finally, we were moved to another room. Also... carpet stained through out hotel. No lights in the parking lot. Even my husband felt that it was unsafe. NEVER STAY HERE!!!!

Room Tip: Don't choose a room here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Faith386
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HICapitolCenter, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Tallahassee Capitol, responded to this review, December 13, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with valuable information about your recent stay. I want to first apologize for all inconveniences you experienced while visiting our hotel. After your review, we immediately researched your reservation and had the room inspected by a professional exterminator. Our hotel takes the issue of bed bug very seriously, and all of our managers on duty are trained to respond to any bed bug issues appropriately. If any complaints are made actions are taken right away. Records are carefully kept on file for any of incidents we have on property. Our exterminators follow a specific treatment plan to address and solve the problem using multiple tactics, such as preventive measures, sanitation, and chemicals applied to targeted sites. In regards to the outside lights in the parking lot, all lights are currently working and we rechecked the control timers to verify proper time settings. We do sincerely appreciate your helpful comments and we want to thank you again for taking the time to let us know about your stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2011

This hotel is okay. I stayed here for a game weekend and got a decent price for it on Hotwire. For the standard rates this place (and those around it) charge on game weekends and other exploitative times like graduation, FSU orientation, etc., this place would certainly leave you expecting more. The 1993 model Zenith televisions with basic cable programming are a joke. The furnishings could use some updating in general, but the throwback TV is really what comes off as a bit insulting. There was no refrigerator in the room. It's FSU; people around here drink beer and want to keep it cold. The staff was friendly and everything else was fine. For a place that is obviously has a decent revenue stream, they need to throw a little bit more back into the place.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fisheatsushi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2011

I got the last room in town during a big game weekend (even though I booked well in advance).

First thing I noticed was the building is old and is in dire need of repair. We were greeted by a nice front desk clerk and check in was quick. The interior of the hotel, from the lobby to the rooms needs to be updated. When we got off the elevator on the 2nd floor, the musty smell about knocked us over. We proceeded to our room and it smelled like a cigarette. We turned around and went back down and I asked for a room on another floor. The clerk was apologetic and gave me another room on the 3rd floor. There was an old style wall a/c unit outside the elevator, so no musty smell....until we got in the room.

The only good things I can say is that the beds were comfortable and we had hot showers. Other than that, nothing else good to report. Rust on the vent in the bathroom, toilet had grayish black stains going down from under the rim into the bowl. The carpets were stained and the room was MUSTY. We ran our wall a/c unit non-stop. It also seemed very humid in the room. Running the a/c helped that eventually. The TV was old with a converter box next to it. The lamp was broken and crooked. There was dust beside bed between the nightstand and bed. There was also rust on the metal conduit that ran down the wall.

We came in late one of the two nights and the parking lot was a bit sketchy. Also had huge pot holes in it.

Will not stay there again. Would rather stay outside Tallahassee if this hotel has the only room in town.

What a disappointment from Holiday Inn!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank floridatourguide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HICapitolCenter, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Tallahassee Capitol, responded to this review, November 10, 2011
Thank you for your review, we really appreciate you taking the time to let us know how you felt about your stay.
Because of your review and reviews like it we have began to identify the areas in which we need improvement and have been working hard to get everything back in order and win back your trust in our hotel.
I really want to apologize that you found your stay unsatisfactory and I hope that you will let us try again in the future to prove that we can do better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
68 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2011

This location is old and poorly maintained. The rooms seemed unclean and the overall property was undesirable. The trash room was overflowing and the smell was in the elevator. The dumpsters in the parking lot were overflowing and an old mattress was laying in the parking lot next to the dumpster. There were stains on the wall in the room. I perceived a possible safety concern - there was a ledge outside the window that provided access to the room next door. There is nothing preventing a person to climb onto the ledge and look into or have access to the window of the room next door. The complimentary breakfast was unappealing and we opted to buy breakfast elsewhere. The check in experience took to long as the front desk clerk and housekeeping manager could not get their act together and I stood there 10 minutes as they tried to figure out what rooms were clean. The location is convenient to the Capitol and FSU campus plus there are many restaurants nearby.

Room Tip: the fourth floor has the rooms reserved for Priority Club memebers
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TexasNolefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tallahassee hotels
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#21 of 58 in Tallahassee
180 reviews
0.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites-Capital District
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Tallahassee Capital
Courtyard Tallahassee Capital
#18 of 58 in Tallahassee
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Tallahassee North Hotel
1.6 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Tallahassee Downtown
1.8 mi away
Residence Inn Tallahassee Universities at the Capitol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Garden Tallahassee Capitol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Garden Tallahassee Capitol

Property: Wyndham Garden Tallahassee Capitol
Address: 1355 Apalachee Pkwy, Tallahassee, FL 32301-3001 (Formerly Ramada Plaza Tallahassee Capitol)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Tallahassee
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 58 Hotels in Tallahassee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Garden Tallahassee Capitol 3*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham Garden Tallahassee Capitol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Tallahassee Capitol Hotel Tallahassee
Tallahassee Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing