We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old hotel with friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wyndham Garden Tallahassee Capitol
Ranked #43 of 55 Hotels in Tallahassee
Reviewed August 11, 2011

You can tell this hotel is rather old. It's very rough looking from the outside. The lobby seems to have been updated somewhat, but the rooms have not. Furniture in the rooms are old and still have the old box style tv's. Housekeeping just does service cleaning, there were crumbs between the night stand and bed and dog hair all over the carpet. The bed was actually somewhat comfortable and the pillows weren't bad. Parking is tight on a busy night. They have grits, eggs, ham, cereal, etc for breakfast. There is an applebees attached to the hotel, so that was nice. All of the staff we encountered was pleasant. Overall, the hotel is ok, but would definitely not pay regular price to stay here. I got a deal on priceline.

Room Tip: Hotel is smoke free, if that's important to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ms_C1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (562)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

519 - 525 of 562 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2011

Hotel is old and has a musty smell. Location makes the hotel difficult to access and requires the use of a service road. Saw one accident involving a car trying to leave the hotel. Breakfast was a joke and plates appeared dirty. Coffee had been spilled on the styrofoam cups next to the coffee dispensers and no one removed the soiled cups. Had only one clean bath towel for two people. Would never stay at this facilty again and strongly advise you to avoid this hotel. I have never stayed at such a deplorable Holiday Inn.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dinosaur45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

The first room was horrible, with a complete lack of maintenance and house keeping. If my children had been with me I would have walked out and found a new hotel. Window was off the frame (is one that opens to the outside when now screwed shut), Toilet was half clean, as they do not seem to ever clean under the brim, some other very NASTY cleaning issues which I will not go into detail on. To say the least we found proof of the "kinky" night someone before us had. GROSS! The maintenance man they sent up did not seem to understand the problem when we pointed out the bathroom light switch was falling in and was not screwed into place. We were given a new room, which was slightly better. Smelled better and felt safe enough to sleep in for 1 night at least. The outside of the hotel shows sign of age, without repair as there is huge stucco pieces falling or fallen off. Front desk employees was super nice and helpful, but that is about the only nice thing I can say. I would never stay here again or recommend it. I am shocked Holiday Inn has not yanked their flag off his hotel yet.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fosasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2011

From the minute I walked in the door Amber was again friendly beyond belief. The room was clean, the breakfast great and though we were gone all day when we returned it was comfortable. Caleb at front desk was also very helpful. With my son going to school here we look forward to returning again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MiamiJoe55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2011

Only stayed one night in town. Hotel was easy to find, had an Applebees attached that also handled room service (which I unfortunately didn't use) and across from a nice mall. Staff was very nice. Room was good sized, although could have used a small fridge, but for one night was ok to do without. Property and rooms were clean. Only complaint would be there is only one ice maker per floor and it is quite a haul from one end of the floor to the other. But again, for one night, a minor issue. Had I needed to stay multiple nights it probably would have frustrated me along with not having a small fridge. Free WiFi was nice for the iPhone too. TVs were older, but again, for one night it was doable. Overall, if back in the area, would stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flgal65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2011

Upon arrival I was greeted by Amber who after 3 interactions had the best attitude I have ever seen behind a hotel front desk. She is extremely friendly and is a credit to Holiday Inns everywhere. The rest of front office staff was also great as was the maintenance staff. The breakfast on 1st day was well maintained and the man in charge very friendly with good food. The second day he was off and the man replacing him had no clue on how to make grits as they could have been used to plug a dike. The convenience of having Applebees on site was great and the closeness of hotel to Florida State University was a big plus. Many great restaurants and shops are nearby. All in all a very satisfactory stay, we already booked a return stay in June.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MiamiJoe55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2011

I stayed two nights and was pleasently surprised. Staff was very friendly, room clean, and there's an Applebee's restaurant attached.
Internet service was a problem the first night, but i had gotten in late and the next day it was fine.
It's about 3 or 4 miles off the interstate.
I've read a couple of the bad reviews but i had no problem at all.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AMISPLACEDTEXAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tallahassee hotels
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Tallahassee Downtown
4.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Tallahassee East
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites-Capital District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Tallahassee North Hotel
1.6 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Tallahassee Downtown
4.6 mi away
Extended Stay America - Tallahassee - Killearn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Garden Tallahassee Capitol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Garden Tallahassee Capitol

Address: 1355 Apalachee Pkwy, Tallahassee, FL 32301-3001 (Formerly Ramada Plaza Tallahassee Capitol)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Tallahassee
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 55 Hotels in Tallahassee
Price Range: $76 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Garden Tallahassee Capitol 3*
Number of rooms: 148
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelPower, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham Garden Tallahassee Capitol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Tallahassee Capitol Hotel Tallahassee
Tallahassee Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing